NAICS Supersectors for the CES Program

For purposes of analysis, the US Economic Classification Policy Committee aggregated NAICS sectors into groupings called "Supersectors." The CES program publishes data for the supersectors below that are within the scope of the CES program; excluded are agriculture and private households. CES provides aggregations to Goods-producing and Service-providing, and Durable goods and Nondurable goods aggregations within Manufacturing. CES continues to classify all publically-owned establishments in government.


Natural resources and mining

NAICS 1133—Logging

Sector 21—Mining


Sector 23—Construction


Sectors 31, 32, 33—Manufacturing

       Durable goods (NAICS 321, 327, 331, 332, 333, 334, 335, 336, 337, 339)

       Nondurable goods (NAICS 311, 312, 313, 314, 315, 316, 322, 323, 324, 325, 326)


Trade, transportation, and utilities

        Sector 42—Wholesale trade

        Sectors 44, 45—Retail trade

        Sectors 48, 49—Transportation and warehousing

        Sector 22—Utilities


        Sector 51—Information

Financial activities

        Sector 52—Finance and insurance

        Sector 53—Real estate and rental and leasing

Professional and business services

        Sector 54—Professional, scientific, and technical services

        Sector 55—Management of companies and enterprises

        Sector 56—Administrative and waste services

Education and health services

        Sector 61—Educational services

        Sector 62—Health care and social assistance

Leisure and hospitality

        Sector 71—Arts, entertainment, and recreation

        Sector 72—Accommodations and food services

Other services

        Sector 81—Other services






Last Modified Date: October 27, 2003