Workers’ Compensation, 1998

Workers’ compensation legislation
enacted in 1998

Activity was very light with no sweeping changes;
several States enacted or strengthened provisions
to protect against fraudulent claims for benefits

Glenn Whittington

during 1998, with no sweeping changes occupf employees who die as a result of a compensable work-related
ring in any State. injury. lowa renamed its Department of Industrial Services to
Fraud provisions were enacted or expanded in Georgtag Division of Workers’ Compensation; in addition, it tripled
Kansas, Missouri, and Rhode Island. Maximum burial apayments to the Second Injury Fund for a compensable injury
lowances were doubled in Maryland and Virginia. Missoutiesulting in death to $12,000 for cases in which the deceased

Workers’ compensation legislation was very lighnd South Dakota established scholarship funds for dependents

has dependents, and to $45,000 for Following is a summary of significant students who receive cash wages or salaries from
cases in which there are no dependentgorkers’ compensation legislation enactegrivate employers while in supervised work ex-

In Kansas, a lump-sum payment will by individual States during 1998. per_ience educatior] _orcoope(ative vocational edu-

paid to the deceased employee’s legal cation, for a transitional period not to exceed 3
o . months.

hellrs Ina lr;o-dependency dlgath_ C'i‘\")'\luska Firefighters employed by private entities are

unless a life insurance policy in the provided workers’ compensation coverage.

amount of at least $18,500 has beeh person employed as a player or coach

provided by the employer. by a professional hockey team is not cov-

For the purposes of workers’ compengred under workers’ compensation if thedColorado

. . . erson is covered under a health care in-
sation, A“Z(_)na_ now Conslders peace Ogurance plan provided by the team. The Director of the Division of Workers’ Com-
ficers and flreflghters, |nJUred or killed pensation may now impose a fine of not more
while traveling to and from work to have than $500 per day in lieu of closing a business
been within the course and scope of thefirizona for not maintaining workers’ compensation cov-

. : erage. When collected, the fines are credited to
employ_m_gnt. SIT”arly' Ohl,f) e)ftended,For the sole purpose of eligibility for work- the Workers’ Compensation Cash Fund.
the definition of “employee” to include ¢y compensation benefits, and provided For claims that have a settlement amount of
off-duty peace officers, firefighters, andthey are not engaged in any criminal activ$75,000 or more, a written notice of the settle-
emergency medical personnel who rety at the time, peace officers or firefightersment agreement will be provided to the employer.
spond to an inherently dangerous situa¥ho are injured or killed while traveling di- ~ The Director of the Division of Worker's Com-
tion that calls for an immediate re_rectly to or from work are con_5|dered W|th|npgnsat|c_)n and admlnlgtrat_lve law judges may per-
t?e course and scope of their employmentmit parties to engage in discovery proceedings at
sponse—regardless of whether or no hearings.
they were within the limits of their juris- Procedural requirements were set forth for the
diction of regular employment or volun-California selection of an independent medical examiner in

i i disputed cases.
tary service when responding. Services provided by physician’s assistants

Glen Whittington is Chief, Branch of Planning .and nurse practitioners now are included

Policy and Standards, Office of Workex@om-  in the schedule of medical fees. Connecticut

pensation Programs, Employment Standards Ad- Educational agencies may elect to pro-
ministration, U.S. Department of Labor. vide workers’ compensation coverage taVhen an injured employee who has been re-
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ceiving disability benefits dies, employers fused or neglected syical treatment for after July 1, 1999. Guidelines are provided to
or insurers are required to notify the an injury was repealed. the Commissioner of Insurance for determin-
employee’s dependents within 30 days from The basis for computing workers’ com- ing and assessing the surcharge. Finally, the
the last payment of disability benefits thatpensation benefits for Georgia National provision was repealed that had based pay-
they may be eligible for death benefits. ~ Guard members was amended to (1) thénents into the Second Injury Fund on the
greater of seven-thirtieths of the monthly Fund’s balance.

. pay and allowances, or (2) if the injured
Florida member worked at the time of injury in any
. - employment, the average weekly wage oKQNSAS
Employers are required, within 14 days of re-yq jngividual in such other employment.
ceiving the bill, to pay the funeral expenses e commissioner of Insurance is autho-An individual who is an owner-operator and
of an employee killed on the job; the employerj; o to contract with private examiners tothe exclusive driver of a motor vehicle that
then must file the appropriate report with thec o qyct examinations of group self-insur-iS l€ased or contracted to a licensed motor

Division of Workers’ Compensation. ance funds. carrier is not considered a contractor or an
“Corporate officer” or “officer of a cor- employee of the licensed motor vehicle car-
poration” is defined as any person who fills rier if the owner-operator is covered by an
an office provided for in the corporate char-Hawadii occupational accident insurance policy, and
ter or articles of incorporation. A “partner” if he or she is not treated as an employee for

is a person who is a member of a partnera claim for mental stress resulting solely the purposes of the Federal Insurance Con-
ship formed by two or more persons to confrom disciplinary action taken in good faith tribution Act, under either the terms of the
duct business as co-owners of the companyyy the employer will not be allowed. lease agreement or the contract with the li-
with the understanding that profits and " |n cases in which the compensability of thecensed motor carrier. A licensed motor car-
losses will be shared proportionally betweenc|aim is not contested by the employer, thefier may, however, by lease agreement or
the partners. A “sole proprietor” is a natural medical provider has 2 years to bill the re-contract, secure workers’ compensation in-
person who owns a form of business insponsible party. Failure to do so will resultinsurance for an owner-operator and then
which that person owns all the assets of thenhe forfeiture of the medical provider’s right charge the owner-operator for the cost of the
business and is solely liable for all of its g payment. The medical provider will not premium for such insurance.

debts. charge the injured employee for treatment. For workers’ compensation purposes, the
Provisions were established under which definition of “worker” does not include in-

employers are exempt from the State Work- dividuals who are self-employed subcon-

ers’ Compensation Act. Idaho tractors. In a no-dependency death case in-
The Division of Workers’ Compensation volving such subcontractors, a lump-sum

is authorized to secure employer compli-During the first 52 weeks of total disability, if payment of $25,000 is made to the
ance with the workers’ compensation cov-the maximum benefit of 90 percent of thesubcontractor’s legal heirs. No such pay-
erage requirements and to conduct investiemployee’s average weekly wage is less thament is required, however, if the employer
gations for the purpose of ensuring em-15 percent of the currently applicable aver-has procured a life insurance policy provid-

ployer compliance. age weekly State wage, the employee mushg coverage of at least $18,500. The Direc-
The Agency for Health Care Administra- receive no less than 15 percent of the currentl{or of Worker’s Compensation will not as-

tion is authorized to adopt rules relating toapplicable average weekly State wage. sess a fine against a self-employed subcon-

workers’ compensation managed-care ar- tractor for not personally securing workers’

rangements. compensation coverage, but the subcontrac-
All investigatory records of the Division lowa tor will be fined for failing to obtain work-

of Workers’ Compensation are deemed con- ers’ compensation coverage for any other

fidential and information can be releasedThe Department of Industrial Services hasperson employed by the subcontractor.

only under certain conditions. been renamed the Division of Workers’ In any proceeding for a change of medi-

Compensation. Payment of workers’ com-cal benefits, all reports, information, state-
pensation benefits will begin on the first dayments, memoranda, proceedings, findings,
Georgia of disability after the injury, instead of on and records will be admissible at the hear-
the date of injury. ing before the administrative law judge on
Criminal penalties are established for Workers’ compensation coverage is pro-the issue of the medical benefits to which an
fraudulent retention of income benefits tovided to students enrolled in a communityemployee is entitled. The penalty for fraud
which an employee is not entitled. college who are participating in a school-to-was increased from $1,000 to $2,000 for
The provision requiring injured em- work program. each act, but the penalty may not exceed
ployees to change physicians within 60 Employer or carrier payments to the Sec-$20,000 in any 1-year period.
days of their first treatment for the injury ond Injury Fund for compensable injury caus-
was repealed. ing death have been increased from $4,000 to
No compensation for death or disabil-$12,000 in cases in which there are deperKentucky
ity is payable to an employee if the causedents, and from $15,000 to $45,000 in those
is due to a subsequent nonwork-relatedn which there are no dependents. To ensuréhe Employers’ Mutual Insurance Author-
injury that breaks the chain of causationthat sufficient funds are available to cover li-ity is recognized as a corporate structure,
between the compensable injury and theabilities of the Second Injury Fund, a sur-which will enable it to be managed in an
employee’s disability. A provision prohib- charge is imposed against employers for eachntrepreneurial and business-like manner in
iting compensation if the employee re- of the next two fiscal years, beginning on oroperating a competitive state fund.
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Workers’ Compensation, 1998

Maine Missouri Nebraska

If an employee suffers a work-related injury For workers’ compensation purposes, a lim- An executive officer of a nonprofit corpo-

that aggravates or combines with the effectsited-liability partnership or company now ration who receives annual compensation of

of a previous work-related injury that oc- is considered an employer. $1,000 or less from the corporation will not

curred prior to January 1, 1993, and for  Contractors in the construction industry be deemed to be an employee unless the

which compensation is still payable under now must submit a certificate of coverage executive officer elects to be covered under

the law that was in effect on the date of the before being issued an occupational or busi-the workers’ compensation provisions.

prior injury, the employee’s rights and ben- ness license.

efits for the portion of the resulting disabil- A person, insurance carrier, or health-

ity that is attributable to the prior injury care provider who commits fraud for the New Jersey

must be determined by the law in effect at second time will be guilty of a class D . .

the time of the prior injury. felony. The definition oemployeen the horse-rac-
Before approving any lump-sum  The Director of the Division of Workers’ iNg industry now includes assistant trainers,

settlement, the Workers’ Compensation Compensation must establish a procedureStable Workers, and any other licensed per-

Board will determine whether the person for reactivating a claim after a settlement SON Who is an employee of an owner or

receiving the settlement is on the list of has been completed. trainer and is engaged in performing ser-

persons owing the Department of Human  The waiting period was changed from the Vices for an owner or a trainer in connec-

Services child support debts that have beertfirst three regularly scheduled work days” tion with the exercising or racing of a horse

liquidated by judicial or administrative to the “first three days during which the N New Jersey.

action. If the person is on the list, the board employer is open for business.”

will notify the Department of the pending Employers will be credited fully for any new York

settlement and inform the person of the unemployment compensation paid for an

notification. employee while the employee was in a Pe-Confidentiality rules were establihsed for

riod of temporary total disability. workers’ compensation records.
The duration of benefits was increased

to 49 weeks (previously, 40) for total occu-
pational deafness in one ear, and to 18

meestic servants and their employers,aeks (previously, 148) for total occupa- o ) ) _
jointly may elect for the employee to be jinnal deafness in both ears. The definition of “employee” now includes

cover_ed un_der_ \_/vorkers’ compensation, With the approval of an administrative off-duty peace officers, off-du@yfirefighters,
even if the individual does not meet the |, judge, legal advisor, or the Workers’ and off-duty emergency medical personnel,
earnings requirement of $750 in a CalendarCompensation Commission, parties maywhen such persons are respondlng to anin-
quarter. _ enter into a compromise lump-sum settle- hergntly dangerous situation that calls for
The maximum amount payable for fu- ment in permanent-total or permanent-par-2" immediate response, (egard_le_ss of
neral expenses increased from $2,500 tq;, disability cases whether the person was within the limits of
$5,000. The maximum death benefit pay- ) . . _thejurisdiction of his or her regular employ-
able for partial dependency increased from _ Employer groups qualified to insure their oy o oluntary service when responding.
$17,500 to $45,000, for any death occurringllablllty are reql_Jlred to utilize a Uniform
on or after October 1. 1998. Experience Rating Plan promulgated by an
Before terminati;\g the payment of approved advigory organizatipn. In addition, Oklahoma

medical benefits, an insurer or self-insurer N0 group self-insurance entity may autho- N
must give the covered employee and the'’2€ total discounts exceeding 25 percent forThe test for determining the dependency of
employee’s treating physician or health- @1y individual member. _achild now will include receiving an edu-
care provider written notice of the date that A Written award will be issued within ~ cation by means other than being enrolled
the benefits are to be terminated. Medica|90 days of the last day of the hearing, andas a full-time student in an accredited edu-
records or reports relied upon in making the hearing must be concluded within 30 cational institution—for example, receiving
the termination must be attached to thedays of the date of its commencement, an education at home.
notice. except in extraordinary circumstances. Employers that qualify as Youth Sports

An application for review or notice of |eagues under the Federal Tax Exemption

appeal can now be filed with the Divi- will be exempt from the Workers’ Compen-
Minnesota sion of Workers’ Compensation by fac- sation Act.

simile, with the original and required  When a medical-care provider submits a
Compensation paid by the special com-number of copies sent by mail on the claim for payment of services to the Work-
pensation fund will no longer be reim- same day. An uninsured employer may ers’ Compensation Court, the prevailing
bursed from general fund appropriations. file an application for review if it is ac- party is entitled to a reasonable attorney’s
Compensation paid will remain a liability companied by a bond for the satisfaction fee.
of the special compensation fund and will of the award in full. Every policy issued to a sole proprietor,
be financed by employer assessments. A “Kids” Chance Scholarship Program partnership, limited-liability company, cor-
Photocopied reports now may be submittedwas established to provide scholarships forporation, or other business entity must dis-
to the Commissioner of Labor and Industry, the children of workers who were seriously close to the potential purchaser in writing
as long as they are clear and suitable forinjured or killed in a work-related accident the option to elect to include as employees,
imaging. or occupational disease. for the purpose of workers’ compensation

Maryland
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coverage, the sole proprietor, any or all of spections and to provide other safety-relatedprovided to representatives of injured em-

the partnership members, any or all of theadvice to the employers they insure. Any ployees, employers, or insurers.

limited-liability company members, or any person offering to provide vocational reha- A business license will not be issued or

or all stockholder-employees. bilitation services to workers’ compensation reissued to any contractor who has not ob-
recipients must register with the Departmenttained or is not maintaining workers’ com-
of Workers’ Compensation and possess ap-ensation coverage for his employees.

Rhode Island propriate qualifications as established by the  The tax for providing funds for com-
Department. pensation benefits awarded against any

If an employee returns to employment at an uninsured or self-insured employer was

average weekly wage equal to the employee’s increased from 0.0025 percent to 0.0050

pre-injury earnings exclusive of overtime, the Virginia percent.

employee will be presumed to have regained

his or her earning capacity. Maximum burial expenses were increased

An employer previously cited for fraud from $5,000 to $10,000, and maximum Washington
for failing to secure workers’ compensation transportation expenses for the deceased
coverage will be guilty of a felony for any were increased from $500 to $1,000. Employers who employ workers in the State
subsequent similar violation, and the re-  When the Workers’ Compensation Com- While not domiciling in the State must se-
sponsible party or parties will be subject to mission issues a written notice, opinion, or- Cure workers’ compensation coverage for
a l-year prison term, a fine not to exceedder, or award regarding a specific case,their employees When the Work.reqw.res that
$10,000, or both. copies must be provided at the same timethe employer register or obtain a license,
The provision that excluded overtime pay to the employee, the employer, the com- although they are not domiciled in the State,
in determining weekly earnings was repealed.pensation carrier, and, if represented, theirt® pre-qualify as a contractor for electrical
counsel. installation.

The time limit for submitting an applica-

tion for review to the Commission was wvomin

) ) changed from within 20 days from the date Y 9
Scholarships are provided for spouses andyf the award to within 20 day
dependent children of employees who die s the notice of the award. definition of “employee” includes all adult
aresult of compensable work-related injuries.  \embers of the Virginia Naval Militia and juvenile prisoners and probationers
Eligible dependents may qualify for a maxi- are considered employees for workers’ com-ynen they are performing work pursuant to
mum of $2,000 per year for up to 5 years, pensation purposes. law or a court order.

payable to accredited post-secondary educa- he recovery method for overpayments Any injured worker who has or is receiv-

South Dakota

s from receipt For workers’ compensation purposes, the

tional institutions in South Dakota. made by employers was changed. Insteadng medical services entirely in Wyoming,
of shortening the period during which com- from a health-care provider based in
Utah pensation payments are made, the amoun{\yoming, is eligible for temporary total

of the weekly payment now may be re- disability payments. Such payments will be
Detailed criteria are provided for classify- duced by as much as 25 percent, with thecalculated at the rate of 70 percent of the

ing employers as “agricultural.” reduced payments continuing until the em- injured worker’s actual monthly earnings at
ployer has recovered the amount that wasthe time of the injury, as long as the amount
overpaid. of the pay-ment does not exceed 103 percent

Vermont Walkers, canes, and crutches were addedf the statewide average wage. An injured

to the list of appliances that employers mustworker receiving out-of-State health care at
The Commissioner of Workers’ Compensa- furnish to injured employees as long as theythe instruction of the Division of Workers’
tion may require workers’ compensation are medically necessary. Compensation may be entitled to the same
carriers to conduct periodic workplace in-  Copies of all medical reports must be benefits. ]
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