Department of Labor Logo United States Department of Labor
Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

BLS Standard for Sector Aggregation Titles for NAICS

  Natural resources and mining
    Sector 11 (Agriculture, forestry, fishing and hunting)
    Sector 21 (Mining)
    Sector 23 (Construction)
    Sector 31-33 (Manufacturing)
  Trade, transportation, and utilities
    Sector 42 (Wholesale trade)
    Sector 44-45 (Retail trade)
    Sector 48-49 (Transportation and warehousing)
    Sector 22 (Utilities)
    Sector 51 (Information)
  Financial activities
    Sector 52 (Finance and insurance)
    Sector 53 (Real estate and rental and leasing)
  Professional and business services
    Sector 54 (Professional, scientific, and technical services)
    Sector 55 (Management of companies and enterprises)
    Sector 56 (Administrative and support and waste management and remediation services)
  Education and health services
    Sector 61 (Education services)
    Sector 62 (Health care and social assistance)
  Leisure and hospitality
    Sector 71 (Arts, entertainment, and recreation)
    Sector 72 (Accommodation and food services)
  Other services
    Sector 81 (Other services, except public administration)
  Public administration
    Sector 92 (Public administration)
    Sector 99 (Unclassified)


Last Modified Date: November 30, 2022