State workers’ compensation:

legislation enacted in 1987

Of 38 States passing legislation last year,
one-third took action to improve

medical care and rehabilitation services;
several States now allow garnishment
Jfor the support of dependent children

LAVERNE C. TINSLEY

As of October 1, 1987, 232 amendments affecting State
workers’ compensation programs had been enacted by 38

States. Significant changes were made in workers’ compen-

sation statutes covering medical care and vocational rehabil-
itation‘in 18 States. Seven States revised occupational dis-
ease statutes; in Oregon, the statue of limitations for filing
claims was reduced from 5 years to 1 year. Other laws were
amended covering insurance, attorney fees, and penalties,
and fines were established to cover violations. ;
Connecticut increased the percentage of the State average
weekly wage upon which benefits are based for disability

and death to 150 percent, formerly 100 percent. But New

Mexico reduced the percentage of the State average weekly

wage used in determmmg compensation for total disability
from 100 percent to 85 percent. The freeze on benefits for
disability and death was extended for an additional month in
Maine. A new freeze was placed on 1987 compensatlon
rates: in Montana. ,

Several States now allow garnishment of compensation

benefits for the support of dependent children of workers’

compensation recipients.

Many study comimittees and commissions were contin-
ued, ‘and new ones established to review and recommend
possible changes that would improve the overall compensa-
tion system. ‘

Alabama

Two self-insured employer groups or more
may now pool their liabilities for obtaining
excess or reinsurance coverage above the
retention levels maintained by individual
employer groups.

Arizona

Handicapped clients enrolled in vocational
training programs offered by nonprofit or-
ganizations may ‘now be covered for work-
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ers’ compensation at the option of the orga-

nization. ,

Lump-sum compensation payments. for
certain -cases. of disability, or for death,
may be received up to a maximum of
$50,000.-after June 30, 1987.

The Director of the Industrial Commis-
sion is required to employ ‘an ombudsman
to provide assistance to workers’ compen-

sation recipients concerning -the State’s

workers’ compensation program and the
rules goveming claims: proceedings and
methods used in determining benefits.

A definition for “loss of use” was added
to the law for ‘purposes of compensating
partxal disabilities.

Another new provision provides for a
penalty of 25 percent based on any previ-
ously awarded benefits for charges of un-

The 1987 legislative changes by State follow.

fair claims processing or bad faith practices
by an employer, insurer, or others who
handle claims, and is in-addition to any
compensation awarded. Payments made by
the State Compensation Fund will be reim-
bursed by the State Compensation Fund.
Arkansas

Coverage is broadened to include certain
volunteer .public safety workers. Group
self-insurance programs which give credits
against renewal premiums based on annual
loss experience have been opened to local
govemments. The filing requirements for
obtammg self-insurance or group self-
insurance’status (includes.posting a surety

bond, posting securities, or obtaining
excess insurance) are no longer applicable.




Colorado

The maximum weekly beneﬁt level for'a
#“schedule” injury was increased from $84-
to $150; and for a nonschedule injury from
$84 to-$120. Total ‘maximum cempensa-
tion payable is $37,560, previously
$26,292. Indemnity payments for total dis-

ability and temporary partial disability will -

cease when the employee reaches maxi-
mum ‘medical improvement; returns to
work, or is-capable of returning to work,

refuses- an offer of rehabilitation, or when -

payments are discontinued-at the discretion
of ‘the Director of the Division of Labor.
Injured employees are newly entitled to
receive unlimited vocational ‘rehabilitation
benefits from the Major Medical Insurance
Fund. The time limit (52 weeks) on receipt
of vocational rehabilitation benefits from
the Fund has been eliminated. -The provi-
sion of furnishing rehabilitation benefits is
no longer an obligation of the employer.
A surcharge will be assessed against all
workers’ compensationinsurance. premi-

ums to cover employers against claims for

personal injuries totheir employees.

Two employers or more in the same or -

similar type of busingss, or who are:mem-
bers of the same bona fide trade or profes-
sional association are: perrmtted to - form
self-insurance pools for wOrkers compen-
sation purposes. - »

-The.title, “hearing. ofﬁcers,” has been
changed to “administra-tive law. judges.”

An independent study of the State s

present workers’ compensatron system may
now be authorized by: the Director of the-
Division of Labor to detemune the sys-
tem’s effectiveness.

C e

Connectmut

The State average. weekly wage, upon
which benefits. are, based for. disability and
death, was raised from 100 to 150 percent.

Doctors must now_furnish' a,medical re-
port to the employer, emplo ee, or the em-
ployee’s attorney within 30 days after com-
pleting an examination of the employee '

A task foreep_was formed to study the
State’s llabllrty as an. employer under the
workers’ compensatlon act, including the
State’s. tranagement structure, budgeting
procedures, and funding ‘methods used to
regulate- such liability. ‘Methods must also
be explored for reducing ‘the human and
" financial costs of such laabllrty

Delaware

Employees of volunteer ambulance compa-
nies and. employees of the University of
Delaware’s Emergency Care Unit have
been given coverage for workers compen-
sation.

Florlda

The maximum compensatron payable to
dependents of nonresident aliens in cases of
death was increased from $1,000 to
$50,000. Injured employees are eligible to
receive lump-sum compensation payments
3 months (formerly 6 months) after reach-
ing maximum medical improvement.

- Authority was given-to the Division: of

‘Workers’ Compensation to assess a civil
; penalty against.any. carrier who -deautho-
. rizes ‘a.health Care provider. approved by an
~employer. ‘A l-year study of deauthoriza

tion complaints by the Division of Work-
ers’ Compensation arid thé Department of
Labor and Employment Security was ap-

proved. to determine whether current law is
-adequate for protecting the interests of in-

jured employees.

Georgia ,

Coverage was broadened to include pub-
licly employed miedical technicians perma-
nently disabled or killed while performing
during an emergency occurring after July 1,
1977. ‘Elected ‘officials of a county-
goveémning authority are now also covered.

Compensation” for death-benefits based -
~on partial dependency will be terminated-at

age 65, or-after payment of 400 weeks-of
benefits, whichever is greater.
‘"The ‘ferms “occupational -disease” and

: “disablement”: have beéen. modified: The
schedule of compensable. occupational dis- -

eases and the statute of limitations provi-

 sions for occupational disease were deleted
~ from' the law. Further; coverage was.

dropped for some cases of psychiatric and

- psychological problems and heart-and vas-
-cular diseases. ‘All disability claims for oc-

cupational -disease must be filed priorto 7

years after last m]unous ‘exposure to . the
- hazard of a disease in thé workplace; and

déath claims must be filed within 1" year
after death if the cause of action was not
barred during the employee’s life: -

A’ Senate ‘workers” compensation. study
committee was created to study ‘the. condi-
tions, needs,. issues-and problems associ-
ated wrth provrdmg rehablhtatlve servrces

for leglslatton must. be made on or before '

December:15, 1988

Hawan

Coverage was extended to” volunteer boat—
ing ‘enforcement officers and to psycholo-
gists under the definition of “physician.”

Reference to “volunteer deputy fish ‘and
game warden” has been changed o

“volunteer conservatlon and resources en-’

forcement officer.”

An amendment prov1ded fora $150,000 7

appropriation for -the organization “and

~-Act” and “workers’
. . throughout the statute.

sponsorship of a conference on the State
Fund which will give business, labor, carri-
ers, government officials, and others an op-
portunity to discuss the:most effective ways

. of implementing the objectives of the Fund.

Idaho

The ‘burial allowance was increased from
$1,500 to $3,000.

Towa

Medical care personnel who provide emer-

: gency services are newly covered for work-
€18’ compensatron

Total maximum compensation was in-

creased.to '$125,000, formerly:$100,000,

for permanent. total disability .and to

* $200,000, from $100,000, for the death of
“a-worker. In cases of temporary total: and

permanent partial disability, the-total maxi-

‘mum compensation that may be recelved is

$100,000, formerly $75,000.

The coverage of wholly dependent chil- -
dren was exténded to include any child who
is less than 23 years of age and" who is not
physically or ‘mentally capable of eaming

~wages in any type of substantial or gainful
. employment, ‘or -any child who is a full—

time . student.
Employees are allowed to select a physr—
cian of their own: choosing ‘without prior

‘approval of the Director-of Workers’ Com-
. pensation (Director); however, liability .of

the employer-is limited to costs of up to
$350.: All preventive ‘medical care and
treatment for exposure. to-hepatitis ‘on the
job is the responsibility of employers. - -

The Director'of Workers” Compensation
is no-longer required ‘to'use information -
based ‘upon medical evidence in determin-
ing the -percentage of an employee’s dis-
ability and the ‘proportion of an award at-
tributable to a preexrstmg physrcal or
méntal impairment.

Attorney fees  for aninitial workers
compensation claim are limited to a reason-
able amount determined by the director, or
25 percent. of any compensatlon recovered
and paid; whrchever is'less::

References to’ “Workmen’s Compensa-’
tion Act” and “workmen’s compensation”
were changed to “Workers’ Compensation
com'pens‘ation”-

Injured - employees-are. now entitled to
vocational - rehabilitation - if ‘the ‘compen-

~"sable injury or disease- prohibits_ the -em-
- ployee from- working for the same em-

ployer with or without -accommodation.
‘The director. is authorized to refer an in-

. jured worker to an:agency for rehabilitation

if the worker is off the job-for-90 days; or
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Other, revisions ".in “the law -include
grounds: and: procedures for discontinuing
payment  of ‘benefits; settlement ‘of dis-
putes, expedition of hearings in cases in-
“volving ‘financial hardship, and a general
admlmstratrve reform : e

Mrssrssrppl

The Commission is empowered to rmpose :

sanctions’ against - parties
frivolous: claims. -
Assessments' maintained by the Second
Injury Fund from death cases may not ex-
ceed $350,000, previously $250,000. =
The ‘Workers™ Compensation Commis-
sion‘is authorized to appoint‘a medical ad-
visory board for-advisory. purposes and for
studying the possibility of. the Commis-
sion’s use of a medical fee schedule.

-who "~ make

An advisory council wasestablished for :

purposes of - informing .and advising the
Commission -on all matters related to the
administration of the act,

Montana'

Numierous revisions were ‘made - in the
workets’ ‘cempensation - statutes. ‘For in-
stance; the law now specifies which em-
ployments are required to come within- the

act, which-may:elect coverage, and: whrch~

employments are excluded. ;
- Cost-of-living - allowances - will now be
paid for cases of permanent total disability.:

The. compensation rates effective in 1987

are frozen for 2 years. The waiting period
for ‘payment -of compensatron for: tempo-
rary total disability is 7 days if the injured
employee-has not returned.to work after

,5 days prevrously it 'was. the day after‘

injury. :

A limited dollar amount w1ll be: used in
determmmg -a--lymp-sum. compensation
payment. Death benefits for a spouse may
be received up:to 10 years.. Previously,
payments for death were for: life. Compen-
sation for. incarcerated. félons is‘no;longer

permrtted ‘and " only - one .. compensation

award is. permitted for: 1mpa1rment of the
same body: part.

Payment -of. claimant attomey fees and
costs are allowed in cases where an insurer
has been unreasonable or where a claimant
has been successful. ;

In cases involving. third- party settle-
ments; the insurer is entitléd to-subrogation
rights. Also,-a provision was enacted which
‘prohibits the firing of an_employee solely
because: the employee filed a: clarm for
~ compensat1on :

" An insurer’s liability for payment of ben-
efits to a certified vocationally handicapped
person is limited to 104 weeks of compen—

. ‘sation:

Garnishment - or attachment may be
placed against workers’ compensation ben-

Sole proprretors and certam corporate ofﬁ-, :
cers ‘are now permitted to be covered for
cworkers compensation. : b
Injunes occurring o employees on'or af- ;
ter July 1, 1987, that result’in a. drsabrlrty
rating for permanent partial disability ex--

: rehabllltatlve services™ Have ‘béen -added’
to the definitions of “accident benefits” and :

efit payments for chlld support in certarn'

cases.
.- The amount of bond requrred for guaran-

tee of benefit payments now begms ata
minimum of $25,000 and extends to:a max-:
‘imum of $200,000; formerly the amounts

were $5,000 and $100,000, respectively.

- Injured workers are:newly entitled ‘to 2

years of preferential hiring’ with the same

employer:-Criminal pénaltiés. will go into

effect against persons who-file fraudulent
claims -or’ obtam benefits by wrongful
means. .

-‘The period wrthm whrch occurrence of

f an, mjury ‘must be reported. to the employer
or insurer was reduced to 30 days from 60 ~

days.

tified vocationally handrcapped person may
not exceed 104 weeks. :

_Insurers have authonty to grve nnmedr-
- ate financial incentives to employers who

institute approved safety programs.

- Additional staff may be employed by the

Drvrsron of Workers” Compensatron as

clarms :

' Nebraska

;Coverage wis broadened to lnclude prison '
_inmates while they are working for the De-

partment of Correctional Services under
certain crrcumstances

Maximum weekly benefits for drsabrlrty ,
and death ‘were raised to $235, formerly -
$225. On July 1, 1988, benefits will in- -
crease to $245.. The mmrmum beneﬁt level?: :

remains at $49,
The  Workers® Compensatron Court is

. now authorized to establish and publish

schedules of maxrmum “fees: for medical,
surgrcal and hosprtal servrees

Nevada

ceeding 25 percet may be compensated in
a’lump sum. -

“The wartrng perrod for temporary totalf

disability compensation i a minimum of §

within a 20-day period.

The " terms - “medical benef' ts” ;and

“compen-sation,’ respectrvely

‘An insurer who pays compensation: for:
subsequent injury is entitled to reimburse-.
ment:from the: Subsequent Injury “Fand'if

‘the employee has misrepresented his or her

original claim for injury:- -

The Subsequent Injury Fund is solely re-

.sponsible for: compensating cases of perma-
‘nent physical impairment resulting in death
or greater disability by the combined ef-
fects of apreexrstmg unparrment and a sub-

sequent injury.

. Cancer cauged by exposure to a known
carcinogen which is reasonablyassociated

with cancer is covered as an occupational

“disease of any person employed as a fire-

fighter for at. least 5 ‘years.: Also,. police
officers and. ﬁneﬁghters are relieved-of the
burden ‘of proving their heart disease is

from exposure to noxious gases, fumes or

smoke, overexertion, - stress, and danger,
unless these employees suffered from such
an ailment during a S-year penod preceding

~ - employmeént.
Compensatron benefrt paymentstoacer— ey ym

X-ray examinations required to detect

lung diseases of police officers and fire-

fighters ‘will now be scheduled more ‘fre-
quently; however, complete lung tests of

“volunteer firefighters are not ‘mandatory. .

:Compensation is'now allowed for expo-
siire to-asbestos resulting in permanent total

o drsabrhty or death.
- needed to ensure the tlmely processmg of =

~-Emiployers”have the option ‘to provide

Loccupatlonal “disease coverage - to -em-

ployees ‘who': were prevrously excluded

New Hampshlre

Workers’ ‘compensation’ awards may now

‘ “be garnished for child support obligations. ..

Benefits for rehabilitation must be pro-

“vided within- 5 ‘workdays after the labor
i comrnrssroner has rendered a decrsron in,

any case. :
A przma facie presumptlon was added to

“the law stating that a disease in a firefighter

is occupatronally related, provided -that
there 'is no-record of reasonable medical
évidence that the employee was free of the
dlsease at the beginning of employment.

New Jersey

Individuals workmg as ‘public employees
under general supervision of the Palisades
Interstate Park Commission.of New. Jersey -
are ‘covered  for workers’ compensation.
New- coverage ~is provided ' for. certain

claimants .whose jinsurance .carriers have

become insolvent. They are now covered
under: the Federal Longshore and Harbor
Worfkers’* ‘Compensation Acti

 New Mexrco i
_consecutive days, ‘or 5. cumulatlve days, :

_ A new Labor Department has been created

and the Workers’ ‘Compensation Division
established within' the Departmmient to. ad-
minister the workers’ compensation law. -
The new: Division has all‘the authority and

- duties for. administration that were previ-
‘ously assigned to the Workers” Compensa-
tion- Administration agency.

Leglslatron was:enacted reduemg maxi- -
mum weekly beneﬁts for: total “disability -
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from 100, percent to 85 percent of the State
average weekly wage, ‘The . weekly com-
pensation ' period for -total “disability .was
raised to. a maximum of 700 weeks, for-

merly 600 weeks; except for cases of total
disability from. primary and- ‘secondary
mental impairment (100 weeks). For-un- -
scheduled permanent partial disability, the -

maximum payment period was increased to
600 weeks from 500 weeks, except for per-
manent partial disability resultmg from.pri-

mary .and ‘ secondary mental 1mpa1rment’

(100 weeks).

The * allowance for funerals was_in-
creased from $1,500 to $3, 000.

- Employers. are required to furnish psy-
chiatric and psychological services to_in-
Jjured employees when necessary. And. for
occupational diseases, they are responsible
for furnishing physrcal therapy and_dental
and optometric services, A.$2,500 Tlimit has
béen established. for vocatronal ‘evaluation
and_counseling ‘ services: The. additional
$3,000 allowable as maintenance for living
expenses, tuition, -and travel during reha-
bilitation training  has been eliminated.

Training must now be completed within 2

years from the date the vocational rehabth—
tation training is determmed as necessary.
‘Other new . and- detarled procedures have
been established concerning vocatronal re-
habilitation services.

‘Attorney fees are payable up to.a maxi-
*mum of $12,500 and additional. fees may

be authorized if the employer has acted in

‘bad faith.
" _An offset of unemployment compensa-
‘tion benefits against total disability benefits
was-added to the law. :

A Joint Interim Legislative “Workers

Compensation Committee”™ was ‘set up-to’

study the State’s workers’ compensation
program. The committee is required to sub-
mit. a report and any recommendations: for

legislation to the Legrslature on or before .

December 15, 1987
New York

Under certain circumstances, benefrts pur- ,

suant to the Longshore and Harbor Work-
ers’ Compensation: Act are now -payable
‘with respect to coverage of employees lo-

cated or resident only in the State of New -

York.
A 2-year statute of limitations ‘is estab-
lished for filing discrimination complaints

against an employer, after the employer’s.

commission of a discriminatory practice.

North Carolma

‘Compulsory coverage under the law is now.

required of employers with. three: regular
employees or more; however, the- excep-

tions established pertaining to. agriculture,

domestic services, and sawmill-and logging
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operations are still applicable. The require-
ment that hernia injury be:accompanied by

_ pain‘ was -eliminated. - Compensation for

hernia-is permrtted if the condition arises

outof and in the course.of émployment and.

is the direct result of a specific traumatic

' -1nc1dent of the assigned work.

~Maximum weekly benefits will ber com-

‘puted by ‘multiplying the State average

weekly wage by :1.10 and by roundmg the
figure to its nearest multiple of $2.
Benefits for serious facial or head d1sﬂg-
urement and for body organ damage were
taised -to " $20,000, - from- $10,000.  Addi-
tionally, ‘maximum benefits ‘for burla] are
$2,000, formerly $1,000. ©
Revisions made in the occupatlonal dis-
¢ase statutes which affect compenisation for
hearing loss, change the statute of limita-
tions for claims in which payments have
been discontinued and- additional ‘comipen-

sation: is claimed, by requiring that such -

claims be made within 2 years after the last
payment date, formerly t year after last
payment.’ g

The fines for’ noncomplrance wrth in-
surance requrrements are ‘increased: to $1

“per employee, formerly 10 cents, but :not
less than $50, formerly $1, nor miore than

$100; formerly -$50, for each day of ‘fion-
comphance

'North Dakota

5 Coverage was broadened to mclude full-
- time ﬁreﬁghters and emergency. medical -
technicians .who- contract infectious-dis-
eases in the line of duty.

In death cases, the total maximum .
~ amount of ‘compensation allowable is
$197,000, formerly $175,000. Supplemen-‘,
tary compensation payments for total " dis-'
. ability have been raised from a minimum-of - .

$143 to $150.

Garnishment of benefits for any child .

support obllgatlon may be ordered by the

“-.court.

Vocatlonal rehabrlrtatron benefrts are

‘ limited to 2 years except in ‘cases of *
catastrophic_injury in which a worker is -

permanently and totally disabled and needs
rehabilitation to return to gainful employ-
ment. Fees to'cover expenses for relocation
and/or remodeling of living and business

facilities are payable up to.an amount not
““exceeding $10,000; previously, the maxr-

mum allowable was $5,000."
The name of the “Workmen’s Compen-
satron Bureau™ has been changed to

“Workers’  Compensation- Bureau”: (Bu-
reau). The Legislative Council is:directed
10 study the functions and-duties of the Bu-
_reau;-in- pamcular, to decide whether cer-
tain functions of the agency should be per-

formed by a single agency.

0klahoma E

By enactment an examrmng physrcran is

required to evaluate deafness or hearing im-
pairment according to the latest “Guides to
the Evaluation, of Permanent Impalrment _
adopted ‘and publrshed by the American

Medical Association. These gurdes are the
exclusrve basis for testimony and conclu-

“sions concerning cases- of hearmg impair-

ment

: Oregon

The Department of Insurance and Fmance

*.is newly: created and.the. Workers’ -Com-

pensation-Department abolished. All statu-
tory: duties, functions; and authority of the
Workers” Compensation Départment have
been-transferred  to-the: Department of In-

‘surance and Finance: -

.. Newspaper delivery persons who are 19
years of ‘age- or-older: are: exempted ‘from
coverage;’ “and amateur’ sports officials:are
no longer required to: carry health in-
surance. g

Injured workers who are requrred to
leave work for a period.of 4 hiours or more
to _receive* medical consultation; examina-
tion, ‘or treatmient with ‘regard to"a com-
pensable injury, are entitled to receive tem-
porary . disability benefits for the period
durinig which the worker is-absent and until

- the ‘worker is determined to be medically

stationary. Injuries -occurring solely as a
result of ariy personal recreational or.social
activities for the employee’s personal plea-

.. sure ‘are not covered as a:compensable in-

jury. The definition of occupatlonal dlsease

- has been generally revised.

- ‘Approval for formation: of self-msured
employer groups is. granted to certain cities,
counties; specral districts, intergovernmen-

“tal ‘agencies,’ general ‘school districts, and

regional council:of -governments.
isi érning death benefits to

: dependentchrldren,and‘other surviving de-

sed employee were

imitations for filing occu-
pational diséase claims was reduced to 1
year, forierly 5 years.

: Employees actively engaged in rehabili-
tation training are entitled to receive tempo-
rary. disability beneﬁts for a period of 16

" ‘months; however,; an éxtension may be au-
"~ thorized by-the Diréctor of the: Workers”

Compensatlon Department when good”
cause-is shown.

Reports of v0cat10nal rehabilitation
agencies or counselors arid all medical re-

_“ports must be made available to the worker

or employer upon request.-Other provisions
of the law pertaining to vocational rehabili-
tation ‘hearings, ‘and seléction of a voca-

‘tional: rehabilitiation provrder, medical



services, claims, and workers’ compensa-
tion ratings and penalnes have all been re-
vised.

The Director of Workers’ Compensation
is authorized to recover fees incurred from
noncomplying emplOyers when the Direc-
tor has prevailed in a suit brought against
such employer for nonmmplxance with the
law:

Rhode Island

Dependency benefits for a child over the
age of 18 years will now continue to be paid
if the person is satisfactorily enrolled as a
full-time student in an accredited educa-
tional institution or facility; however, such
payments will be terminated “at age 23
years.

An employer is requwed to contmue pay-
ment- of health insurance benefits for:2
years, formerly 1 year, after an employee
receives weekly . compensation - benefits
pursuant to a preliminary determination-by
the Department of Workers’ Compensation
or a decision of the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Commission; if the employer files a
memorandum of agreement or notice of di-
rect payment with the: Department for in-
juries occurring on or before February 28;
1986. :

‘The terms “widow” and “widower” have
been changed to “sur-viving spouse.”

A Special Legislative . Commission is
created to review rehabilitation under the

. workers’ compensation act arid make rec-

ommendations for retraining and/or educa-
tion of the disabled worker. The ' Special
Legislative ' Commission - established " to
study ‘the’ feasibility: of creating a State-

controlled workers’ compensation program -

has been reinstated with the same members
and is scheduled to expire on July 3, 1988.

Sooth Carolina

The South Carolina Industrial Commission

has been renamed the South Carolina
Workers Compensatlon Commrssxon

Texas

Although mandatory coverage of famrly
members is no longer applicable under the

employer’s. - workers’ - compensation - in-

surance ‘policy, ‘elective coverage is avail-
able by law. It has been determined that-a
farm or ranch worker who performs work,
or who provides a service forthe benefit of

- the farm or ranch. covered by law, is an
-employee ‘of that -employer unless  the

worker is hired to perform work or provide

a service as an employee of a person acting
as an independent contractor. Peace - offi-
cers are covered as State employees while
making warrantless arrests outsnde of their
jurisdictions.

The Industrial Accxdent Board is ‘re-
quired to establish and maintain guldelmes
for medical fees and charges, necessary
treatment, and an internal program of sys-
tematic monitoring of chargés to ensure
that the guidelines are not exceeded. An
annual report must be submitted to the leg-
islature indicating the degree to which the
fees paid comply with the guidelines.

In’any lifetime benefit case, under cer-

tain conditions in which a dispute arises
over medical benefits, the Industrial Acci-
dent Board may make an award that shall
be appealable in accordance with other ap-
peals, but only to the extent-of the medical
benefits in question. Guidelines for charges
and utilization of medical services must
also be developed by the Board.
* Persons guilty of unethical or fraudulent
conduct during a hearing before the Indus-
trial'Accident Board may be barred from
practicing before the Board.

In compensable cases where disputes ex-
ist between two or more employers as to the
liability for benefits, each employer will be

Table 1. Jurisdictions which increased maximum weekly temporary total disability benefits during 1987
" Jurisdiction ‘ Former maximum Now maximum Jurisdiction Former maximum New maximum
' New Hampshire . ... | $492.00 25.00
Algbama .......... $319,00 $331.00 Jefsepy ........ gm §$(5302.00
Alaska ............ $1,114.00 $1,108.00 New Mexico .. ...... $298.63 $270.97
m ---------- ;‘,Z?’& o g;gg-g North Carolina . ..... $294.00 $308.00
orado .......... E North Dakota ... .... .00, plus $5 for each de-. .00 plus $5 for each de-
Connecticut ........" ﬂm pluts 31(3a fo1r Beaeh mﬁ?joén?lu:d? 01f:r each oc}e- $")::gmmn't)I aggsrsegate not1o ”ﬁm&' agﬁegate not to
a lent under 18 years pel under 18 years r's net
of 536, Up f 50 perosnt o R, uptoso'pargen(tjofbssic exceed worker's net wages exceed worker's net wages
basic benefit, not to exceed benefil, not-to exceed 75 per- Ohio- .....cuii...s $365.00 $376.00
. 75 percent of emplayee's | . cent of amployes's wage Oklahoma ......... $217.00 $231.00
. N ;Wage . ) OIPenegO" . .i.a ........ m %5.04
o nsylvania .. ... .. 7.00 1.00
Delaware ... ... ) 8244.02° $250.53 Rhode-sland $320.00, plus $9 for each de- | .$337.00, plus $9 for each de-
District of Columbia -, . .| $431.70 . $453.94 pendent; aggregate not to pendent aggregate not to.ex-
zl:m ............ g;g gg g?gg exceedr' 80 pemem of peroem of-worker's
aho $269.00.t0 $278.10t0 wwmage 's average weekly averageweeklywage
$373.75, according to-number | $386.25, according fo number of
of dependents, plus 7 per- | dependents, pius 7 percent of - || *South Carolina ... ... . $294.95 $308.24
- cant of State’s average State's average weekly wage 1| South Dakota . .. ... . $262.00 $272.00
. Weekly wage for each child foreach child up to 5 children Tennessee ......... $189.00 $210.00
up t0.5 children Texas ............ $224.00 $231.00
o Utah ............. $329.00, plus $5 for depend- . | $335.00, plus $5 for dependent
llinois . ... .. ] $544.00 . - $548.56 ent spouse and each de- spouse and each dependent
lowa ... | $613.00 $632.00 pendent child up to 4 chil- child up to 4 children, but not
zgg‘sl?:ky . g‘:’ég &332522?8 dren, but not fo exceed 100 tgmexceed 100 percent of
. g reent of State's average te’s average weekly wage
Louisiana .-. gﬁ % %% sl.;ekby wage 9o Noery wes
Maryland 3 : 2 Vermont........... $465.00, plus $10 for each $486.00, plus $10.for each de-
Massachusetts . .. . .. $383.57, plus $6 for each de- | $411.00, plus $6 for each de- nd 1 nde 1
pendent, if wegkly benefits pendent, if weekly benefits are . depe ont under age 2 pendent under age 2
are below $150 below $150 Virgin islands . $185.00
Virginia . ... . 00
Michigan ......... .. | $375.00 . $391.00 Wghington .. %.70
Minnesota ......... $360.00 $376.00 West Virginia $350.83 °
xle?ourlg .......... :222; (1)8 ggggg; Wisconsin ......... $338.00
raska ... ... 2 ing .......... 7
Nevada ........... $341.95 $353.01 , ; Wyoring , so623
Nore:, Most beneﬁt increases are based on the applicable jurisdiction’s average weekly or . Ofthe nine States (Arizona, Califoria, Georgia, Indiana, Mississippi, and New York) and Puerto .
monthly wage. However, nine States (Arizona, Arkansas, California, Georgid, Indiana, Missis- Rico made no changes in the benefit amounts. Benefits were frozen in Maine for a period of 3
sippi, Nebraska, New York; and Tennessee) ang Puerto Rico prescribe statutory amounts. Six years and in Montana for 2 years.
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reqmred t:o paya proporuonate share of the

v EWV January'1988 L3 Workers Compensauon Legtslatwn Enacted in 1987

transferred from: the Mdusmal Commrssmn
-~ tothe. Division ef Finance. S
Leglslatron was enacted thch reqmres

: ,jofthe systemxm employee ,andenipl' 'rsi, " depe

"“and how other States have addressed prob--
lems that ‘Texas now. faces. A. complete re- -

_port, including findings, recommenda-

Legrslature to consrder when €o!
: ,January 1989.° :

surance policy.
Also, criteria for use in schedulmg loca-

tions for workers’ - compensation hearmgs

are now available that apply to claim
and to the Texas Employers Insur nce
sociation. : o

Utah

- The: “State Insurance Fund” wrﬂ now be CAR
known as the “Workers” Compensation ~ th
Fund of Utah;” and responsibility for deter- -
mmmg and settmg premlum fates has been

: fveney' of the funds

tions, and drafts of any legrslatren deemed ,

; becrlrty or insanit

,"Vermoni e

injuries within a 2—year perlod are entftled\
i be remstated w1th semonty to the

New criteria are now in effect concem- i
: mg time requlrements for nonrenewal of a .
- subscriber’s- workers compensatron m—» :

:mjury
Vlrg’lma f

Members of the. State Natronal Gua‘rd and
auxiliary and reserve deputy:sheriffs while -
- on duty are volunteer. employees .and are’
- 4now covered for workers’ compensation.

Schedule injury awards for incarable im~

y: Compensation for schedule

order payment of attomey fees, costs ,
charges-of physicians: and hospitals by an

L ;_\Washmgton

-except those resulting -
aralysis, may not-extend beyond ,
500-week limit for total and partial in-

‘ jury
wxll be pard for a speclﬁed penod in addx- :

“all other compensa

The maximugi; ameu" t,payable fi

employer, employee or insurance carrier in

~contested ‘claims: cases: determmed 10 be
: compensable :

“Self-insurance eemﬁcatlon may be re-
oked within 30 days, previously 60 days
»o" ‘notrﬁcat n;,date to hearmg date :

<AL agrlcultural workers now come- wrthm
+1 COVErage; prevrously workers who €arned
~-'less ‘than: $150 in:a calendar year had no

.coverage. Automitic coverage of - certain
‘corporate: ,ofﬁcers was' removed  from-the

, Wyoming

g"Electwe coverage is. authonzed ﬁor ems -
-.ployees and occupanons not desrgnated as

extra hazardous




