State labor legislation

enacted in 1989

Major laws were enacted on a variety
of subjects, including minimum wage,
parental leave, drug and AIDS testing,
and door-to-door sales by children

Richard R. Nelson

legislation introduced and enacted by the States oc-

curred in 1989.! In addition, several legislatures
dealt with and enacted laws pertaining to difficult and some-
times controversial issues that have emerged in recent years,
including parental leave, employee drug and AIDs testing,
door-to-door sales by children, the effect of employment on
school performance, genetic screening, and workplace
smoking.

Attention was also given to minimum-wage protection
and other traditional subjects. including bans on employ-
ment discrimination, collection of unpaid wages, and
worker safety and health.?

ﬁ sizable increase in the volume of labor standards

Wages. Again this year, minimum wage was a major sub-
ject of legislative activity. A first-time law was enacted in
Towa, and new actions increased rates in Arkansas, New
Hampshire, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, and
Wisconsin, and in Puerto Rico for employees of the restau-
rant, bar, and soda fountain industry. Rates also increased as
the result of prior action in six other jurisdictions (Maine,
Minnesota, Pennsylvania, Vermont, the Virgin Islands, and
Washington [1988 ballot initiative]). Measures linking State
rates to future Federal rate increases were adopted in Dela-
ware, [llinois, Montana (up to $4.00 an hour), and Nevada.
In Missouri, a State without a minimum-wage law, a bill
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that would have enacted a law with a rate linked to the
Federal rate was vetoed.

Under a new law signed by the President on November
17, 1989, the Federal minimum wage will increase to $3.80
on April 1, 1990, with a further increase to $4.25 scheduled
for April 1, 1991. Beginning April 1, 1990, employers will
be permitted, under certain conditions, to pay workers under
20 years of age a subminimum training wage of not less than
$3.35 an hour for up to 90 days. Beginning April 1, 1991,
this sum will change to not less than the greater of $3.350r
85 percent of the minimum wage. Payment of the training
wage is permitted for an additional 90 days with any other
employer where the youths are in approved on-the-job train-
ing programs. Among other changes, new amendments ex-
empt enterprises with annual gross volume of sales of less
than $500,000 and increase the maximum allowable tip
credit from 40 percent of the applicable minimum-wage rate
to 45 percent on April 1, 1990, and to 50 percent after
March 31, 1991. (A bill which would have raised the Fed-
eral rate in three annual steps to $4.55 by October 1, 1991,
and included a temporary training wage for up to 60 days
cumulative for all employers was vetoed on June 13, 1989.)

Measures adopted in Delaware (for minors under age 18),
Jowa, Montana, North Dakota, and Wisconsin provide for
subminimum training rates, also.

By April 1, 1990, rates for ten States and three other
jurisdictions® will exceed the $3.80 Federal rate for some or
all employees. Vermont will exceed $3.80 on July 2, 1990,
and New Hampshire on January 1, 1991. California, Con-
necticut, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Washington now have
rates of $4.25 an hour. The District of Columbia and the
Virgin Islands exceed $4.25 for some or all workers, and
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future increases scheduled in Oregon (January 1, 1991) and
Iowa (January 1, 1992) will raise rates to $4.75 and $4.65,
respectively.

Among other significant minimum-wage and overtime
actions, coverage of the Oregon law was extended to per-
sons regulated under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act,
most agricultural workers, industrial homeworkers, and
private household employees working on a noncasual basis.
In North Carolina, persons employed in enterprises with
fewer than three employees will no longer be exempt from
minimum-wage, overtime, and recordkeeping provisions.
In Arkansas, the minimum-wage law was expanded to cover
employers of four or more, rather than five or more,
employees.

A comprehensive payday law enacted in Texas specifies
employer wage payment duties, restricts permissible wage
deductions, and establishes wage claim procedures and an
administrative penalty for violation. In Oregon, the Wage
Security Fund used to pay claims of employees whose em-
ployers have ceased doing business and do not have suffi-
cient assets to pay wage claims was extended for 3 years. In
Idaho, Connecticut, and Montana, additional wage collec-
tion authority was granted to labor commissioners or direc-
tors. Idaho and Virginia will now subject employers in
violation of wage payment requirements to civil penalties.
The Utah Industrial Commission may now impose a penalty
on employers of 5 percent of the unpaid wages, to be as-
sessed daily until paid, for up to 20 days. In Montana, a
board was established under the Montana payment-of-wages
law to hear appeals of decisions by the Department of Labor
and Industry.

Legislation in North Dakota and Oregon addressed the
issue of equal pay for jobs of comparable value in the State
service. North Dakota established a pay equity implementa-
tion fund to be used to establish equitable nondiscriminatory
compensation among all positions and classes within the
State’s classification plan. In Oregon, the legislative as-
sembly is to provide ongoing oversight to ensure that
State service compensation and classification meet legal
requirements.

There was little prevailing wage legislation in 1989. Re-
peal efforts failed in six States and efforts to enact laws
failed in three.* Thirty-two States currently have prevailing
wage laws.> Changes in the Illinois law included coverage
of projects financed with bonds issued under certain acts and
the addition of new penalties for violation. In New York, the
commissioner of labor was directed to assess a civil penalty
against any person demanding or receiving kickbacks of
employee wages. The California law was amended to add
debarment as a penalty for violation, to extend coverage to
public transportation demonstration projects, and to exempt
certain projects performed by volunteer labor. Local public
agencies were authorized to establish labor compliance pro-
grams for public works projects.

Family issues. Increasing concern in meeting the needs of
the growing numbers of families in which both parents work
and of working mothers with young children who must
reconcile the demands of work and family was reflected in
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new legislation in the emerging areas of parental leave and
child care.

Parental leave for the birth, adoption, or serious illness of
a child was a subject of active interest in 1989. A new law
in Washington requires private-sector and local government
employers of 100 or more, as well as State agencies, to grant
up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave in a 24-month period. Under
this law, an employer may limit or deny family leave to up
to 10 percent of those designated as key personnel. In Con-
necticut, which had previously adopted a law applicable to
State employees, a private-sector law was enacted that re-
quires employers of 250 or more to grant up to 12 weeks of
leave in a 2-year period. Coverage will be extended in steps
to employers of 75 or more and required leave extended to
16 weeks. Under new laws, State employees in North
Dakota are entitled to up to 4 months leave, permanent State
employees of West Virginia and of that State’s county
boards of education may receive up to 12 weeks during any
12-month period, and rules are to be adopted in Oklahoma
which will entitle permanent State employees to family
leave. In each instance, returning employees are guaranteed
reinstatement to the same job or a similar one. Connecticut,
North Dakota, Oklahoma, and West Virginia also allow use
of the leave to care for a seriously ill spouse or parent. North
Dakota, Oklahoma, and West Virginia allow the employee
to continue group health insurance at the employee’s ex-
pense while on leave.

In a related development, a new maternity-leave law in
Vermont requires employers of 10 or more to grant upto 12
weeks of unpaid leave to female employees during preg-
nancy and following childbirth. Reinstatement and continu-
ation of benefits are also provided.

A pilot program to establish child care centers for children
of State employees is to be implemented by the Oklahoma
Office of Personnel Management; and in Arizona, employ-
ers who subsidize child care through a licensed day care
center or other specified facilities will not be held liable for
damages if certain conditions are met.

Child labor. In the area of child labor, there is a tension
between the need by employers for workers in a shrinking
labor pool and a concern for the impact that working during
the school year has on the education of those who are
employed.

Reflecting growing concern for the negative effect that
employment of minors may have on academic performance,
the New Hampshire Youth Employment Law was amended
to require satisfactory academic performance in order for a
student to be issued a work certificate, with revocation if
performance slips.

The law now also limits the maximum hours of work of
16- and 17-year-old students. Also in New Hampshire, the
life of a study committee examining illiteracy and dropout
prevention, including the relationship between the number
of hours per week that a student works or participates in
sports and the student’s academic achievement, was ex-
tended, and a questionnaire is to be distributed to determine
levels of participation of secondary students in school-
related activities and after-school employment, and to eval-




uate potential causes of student dropout. The Maine
compulsory school attendance law was amended to prohibit
the employment of any student who is habitually truant,
unless a release is obtained from the supervisory superin-
tendent of schools. In Nebraska and Tennessee, resolutions
were adopted requesting studies of the effect of job-holding
on students.

Alaska adopted a new regulation, and Missouri and
Washington passed significant new pieces of legislation re-
stricting the employment of children in door-to-door sales.
Under a new Alaska regulation, door-to-door sales were
determined to be dangerous and were prohibited for minors
under age 18. A Missouri child labor law amendment pro-
vides that children under age 16 may not be employed in any
street occupation connected with peddling, door-to-door
selling, or a similar activity, unless the employer has
received written permission from the director of the Divi-
sion of Labor Standards. A new Washington law prohibits
such work for children under age 16, unless the Department
of Labor and Industries grants a variance under certain cri-
teria. California law now prohibits the employment of
minors under age 16 in door-to-door sales more than 50
miles from their homes.

Rhode Island dropped maximum-hours restrictions for
minors between the ages of 16 and 18 employed during
school vacations. In New Jersey, 14- and 15-year-olds may
now work until 9 p.m. in more occupations than previously
during summer vacation. In California, a permit to work up
to 2 hours a day and 4 hours a week may now be issued to
a 13-year-old potential school dropout who meets specified
requirements.

New restrictions were enacted in Maryland on the em-
ployment of minors under age 18 in transporting cash, and
Missouri added a prohibition on working in any occupation
involving exposure to toxic or hazardous chemicals.

The labor commissioner in New Hampshire was author-
ized to assess civil money penalties for violation; and in
South Carolina, criminal penalties for violation were elimi-
nated and replaced with a warning for a first offense and a
fine determined by the commissioner of labor for each sub-
sequent offense.

The Virginia compulsory school attendance law was
amended to require attendance to age 18 rather than 17.

Equal employment opportunity. Nearly one-half of the
States enacted legislation addressing one or more forms of
employment discrimination, with discrimination based on
age, sex, or handicap being the most common. Among
these, mandatory retirement will no longer be required for
members of the Connecticut Municipal Employee’s Retire-
ment System, except for police and firefighters. Similar
legislation applies to tenured faculty of institutions of higher
education in Texas, and the Texas Human Rights Act was
amended to prohibit discrimination against persons over the
age of 40, instead of only those between 40 and 70. In
Kansas, the Commission on Civil Rights was authorized to
adopt rules and regulations to carry out the provisions of the
State Age Discrimination in Employment Act.
Discrimination in employment on the basis of pregnancy.

childbirth, or pregnancy-related conditions is now prohib-
ited under the Utah Anti-Discrimination Act. In Oregon, it
is now unlawful to refuse to permit a pregnant employee to
transfer temporarily to less strenuous or hazardous work
whenever reasonable.

In North Dakota, employers must make reasonable ac-
commodations for an otherwise qualified person with a
physical or mental disability and for a person’s religion.
Newer disability issues were the subject of laws in Texas,
where the ban on discrimination based on disability was
amended to specifically exclude persons with a currently
communicable disease or infection, including AIDS, under
certain conditions; and in Nebraska, a disability was rede-
fined under the Fair Employment Practices Act to exclude
addiction to alcohol, controlled substances, or gambling.

Massachusetts enacted a law banning discrimination on
the basis of sexual orientation in employment, housing,
credit, insurance, and public accommodations.

Also, new Massachusetts civil rights provisions ban all
discrimination based on sex, race, color, creed, or national
origin. In Iowa, a proposed Equal Rights Amendment to the
State constitution was adopted, subject to passage by two
consecutive legislatures and approval in a general election.

Employee testing.  Testing of employees, either for drug
or alcohol abuse or for the presence of AIDS virus (HIV)
antibodies, which has emerged as an important and contro-
versial issue in recent years, continued to be the subject of
proposed legislation in several jurisdictions. Comprehen-
sive new drug-testing legislation was enacted in Florida and
Maine. The Maine law, applicable to both private- and
public-sector employers, and the Florida law, applicable to
agencies of the State government, permit drug testing of
applicants offered employment and current employees for
probable cause or while undergoing rehabilitation or treat-
ment in a substance abuse rehabilitation program. Maine
permits random or arbitrary testing if provided for in collec-
tive bargaining agreements and for employees in positions
possibly affecting the health or safety of the public or
coworkers; Florida permits testing as part of a routinely
scheduled medical examination. Testing procedures, em-
ployee protections, and required notifications are specified
in both laws. Laws applying to schoolbus drivers and to the
Regional Transportation Authority were enacted in Illinois.
while in Iowa, a new law applied to operators of excursion
gambling boats. The Rhode Island law prohibiting testing of
private- and public-sector employees except for probable
cause was amended to permit testing in the public utility
mass transportation industry if required by Federal law or
regulation as a condition of receiving Federal funds.

New Mexico employers may not require individuals to
disclose the results of an AIDs-related test as a condition of
hiring, promotion, or continued employment, unless ab-
sence of the virus infection is a bona fide occupational
qualification for the job. In North Carolina, employers may
not require or use an AIDS test to determine suitability for
continued employment, nor may they discriminate against
an employee with AIDS or HIV infection. They may, how
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ever, (1) require an AIDS test for job applicants, (2) deny
employment to an applicant who tests positive, (3) include
an AIDS test in annual medical exams required of all em-
ployees, and (4) take actions, including termination, against
an employee who has AIDS and would pose a significant
health risk to others or who is unable to perform normal job
duties.

Ohio employers of persons with AIDs were granted immu-
nity from liability for damages arising out of the transmis-
sion of the HIV virus to another person and for damage
arising from a stress-related illness or injury that results
from an employee being required to work with a person who
has tested positive for the HIv virus or who has AIDS or a
related condition.

Private employment agencies. Among new laws in nine
States® pertaining to the regulation of private employment
agencies and related businesses is a law in California under
which licensing of such agencies, as well as of employment
counseling and job listing services, is no longer required.
Under the law, practices such as false, misleading, or decep-
tive advertising are prohibited. The Bureau of Personnel
Services, which administered the former law, is to be
phased out.

New registration requirements were enacted in Indiana
for certain nursing registries, in Ohio for job listing sub-
scription services, in South Carolina for job listing services
and employment information centers, and in Texas for talent
agencies engaged in obtaining employment for actors, musi-
cians, writers, models, and other artists. The Connecticut
law was amended to exempt agencies whose fees are paid by
employers, and the North Carolina law was amended to
exempt certain employer-fee-paid consulting services or
temporary help services.

Occupational safety and health. ~ One or more laws dealing
with various aspects of worker safety and health were en-
acted in 32 States. Two noteworthy laws were enacted in
Maine. One specified that a person having direct control of
any employment, place of employment, or employee will be
guilty of manslaughter if he or she intentionally or know-
ingly violates any Federal or State occupational safety or
health standard and such violation results in an employee’s
death. The other requires employers using 25 or more video
display terminals at one location within the State to establish
education and training programs for operators of the termi-
nals. In Connecticut, public works contracts are not to be
awarded to bidders cited for specified violations of any
occupational safety and health act.

The largest clusters of safety legislation involved laws
enacted to fulfill State obligations under the Federal Emer-
gency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of
1986; new laws or amendments related to the control of
asbestos and the training and accreditation or certification of
persons engaged in asbestos abatement work; and laws reg-
ulating smoking in the workplace, usually by requiring em-
ployers to implement policies prohibiting or restricting such
smoking. New sections were added to the Washington
Worker and Community Right-to-Know Act regulating the
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storage and use of agricultural pesticides.

In Florida, the qualifications for employment as a fire-
fighter were amended to require that any person initially
employed as a firefighter must not have used tobacco for at
least 1 year prior to application. On the other hand, in
Virginia, with the exception of firefighters and police
officers, no employee or applicant for public employment is
to be required, as a condition of employment, to smoke on
the job, or to abstain from smoking off the job.

In Oregon, it is now unlawful to require an employee or
applicant to refrain from using lawful tobacco products dur-
ing nonworking hours as a condition of employment.

Other enactments included new laws or amendments per-
taining to safety standards in mines, underground oil and gas
operations, trench excavation, boiler and pressure vessels,
and amusement ride and elevator operation.

As required by Proposition 97, approved by the voters in
November 1988, the California Occupational Safety and
Health Administration (CAL/OSHA) program in the private
sector was restored, and the State Division of Occupational
Safety and Health resumed nearly full enforcement of
private-sector job safety and health rules in the State.

Meal periods. New meal period requirements were en-
acted in Minnesota, where employees who work 8 or more
consecutive hours must be given a meal break, and in Con-
necticut, where, with certain exceptions, employers of five
or more on a shift at a single place of business must grant at
least a 30-minute meal period to an employee working 74 or
more consecutive hours. Under new amendments expanding
coverage of the Oregon minimum-wage law, existing meal
and rest period requirements will be extended to newly
covered workers.

Other legislation. Six States’ enacted or modified
“whistleblower” laws designed to protect employees from
employer retaliation for reporting violations to a public
body, or for participating in an investigation, hearing, or
court action. Other States passed legislation pertaining to
carrying out duties and responsibilities pursuant to the Fed-
eral Job Training Partnership Act. Several States passed
laws requiring clearance checks of prospective employees in
occupations involving supervision of children. In Texas, the
Department of Labor and Standards became the Department
of Licensing and Regulation, with most labor functions
transferred to the Texas Employment Commission; and in
West Virginia and Wyoming, the labor departments and
other agencies were incorporated into new consolidated de-
partments. Laws to encourage the formation of employee-
owned enterprises were enacted in Montana and Pennsylvania.

Among amendments to the Wisconsin law requiring ad-
vance notice of a business closing or mass layoff, coverage
was extended to employers of 50 or more rather than 100 or
more and changes were made in penalty provisions.

Other laws of interest include establishment in California
of guidelines for voluntary health insurance coverage for
employees. In Vermont, a new law requires that the same
group health insurance benefits be offered to part-time em-
ployees as to other employees. In Missouri, employees




called for jury duty are now protected from discharge or

other adverse action.

The New York apparel registration law was extended to
cover manufacturers and contractors of men’s apparel.

Alaska

Child labor. By regulation, occupa-
tions involved in canvassing, peddling, so-
licitation of door-to-door contributions, or
acting as outside salespersons from house
to house were determined to be dangerous
and prohibited to minors under age 18.

Worker privacy. Employers must per-
mit current and former employees to in-
spect and make copies of their personnel
files and other personnel information con-
cerning them, under reasonable rules, dur-
ing regular business hours.

Whistleblower. A Protection for Whis-
tleblowers law was enacted prohibiting any
public employer from discharging, threat-
ening, or otherwise discriminating against
an employee because he or she has reported
a matter of public concern to a public body,
including a violation of law, danger to pub-
lic health or safety, or gross mismanage-
ment, or has participated in a court action,
investigation, hearing, or inquiry held by a
public body on a matter of public concern.
Also prohibited is disqualifying a public
employee or other person from bidding on
contracts or receiving other rights, privi-
leges, or benefits because of such actions.
To be protected, a person must report the
information in good faith and meet other
requirements.

Other laws. Employers are prohibited
from penalizing or threatening to penalize
an employee because the employee has
been the victim of a crime and has been
subpoenaed or requested by the prosecuting
attorney to attend a court proceeding in
order to testify.

Arizona

Whistleblower.  State employees against
whom adverse personnel action is taken as
a result of their disclosure of information to
a public body relating to violations of law,
mismanagment, gross waste of monies, or
abuse of authority may now recover back-
pay, costs, attorney fees, and general and
special damages, and may be reinstated. A
procedure was established for appeal to the
State Personnel Board of a personne! action
that an employee or former employee be-
lieves to have occurred as a result of the
disclosure of information to a public body.
An employee who knowingly commits
such a prohibited personnel practice or who
knowingly makes a false accusation is sub-

Oregon made it unlawful to subject an employee or appli-

cant to a genetic screening or brain-wave test.

ject to a civil penalty of up to $25,000 and
dismissal from employment.

Other laws. Employers who subsidize
employee child care on a nondiscrimina-
tory basis through a licensed day care cen-
ter or other specified facilities are not liable
for damages as a result of an act or omis-
sion of the day care center or provider,
unless the employer is guilty of gross negli-
gence in recommending the center or
provider, or is acting as the owner, or has
an interest in or operates the day care center
or facility.

Arkansas

Wages. Beginning September 1, 1989,
the minimum wage was increased from
$3.30 to $3.35 per hour, and coverage of
the law was expanded to include employers
of four or more rather than five or more.

Equal employment opportunity. All
State-supported colleges and universities
must now regularly prepare 5-year affirma-
tive action plans for the recruitment of
blacks and other minorities for faculty and
staff positions and as students.

Labor relations. Picketing or demon-
strating before a private residence is pro-
hibited, even if the residence is also a place
of employment.

Other laws. An amendment requires
that the director of the Department of Labor
be a person who, on account of his or her
previous vocation, employment, or affilia-
tion, can be classed as a representative of
employees.

The State Labor Board, the Employment
Agency Advisory Council, and the Coal
Mine Examining Board were abolished and
their functions transferred to the Depart-
ment of Labor. The Merit System Board
was also abolished.

Civil penalties of from $250 to $500 re-
placed criminal penalties for contractors
who list or use unlicensed subcontractors
on public works contracts.

Employers must schedule the work hours
of employees on election days in such a
way as to assure that each employee will
have an opportunity to vote.

California

Wages. Employees or their legal rep-
resentatives may bring court action for a
temporary restraining order to prevent an
employer from doing business in the State

The following is a summary, by jurisdiction, of labor
legislation enacted during 1989.

who has twice within 10 years been con-
victed of a violation of the wage payment
law or who has failed to satisfy a wage
claim judgment, until the employer posts a
bond payable to the labor commissioner.
The bond must be the greater of $25,000 or
25 percent of the weekly gross payroll.

The labor commissioner is to publicize
annually the existence of the Industrial Re-
lations Unpaid Wage Fund, including an
address and telephone number where any
worker may inquire as to unpaid wages and
benefits.

Contractors and subcontractors in willful
violation of the prevailing wage law may be
barred from bidding on or receiving any
public works contract for a period of from
1 to 3 years. With certain exceptions, the
permitted ratio of apprentices to journey
men will now be based on the number of
hours worked by each rather than on the
numbers of individuals employed. Work
performed entirely by volunteer labor on
projects for private nonprofit community
organizations and approved by the director
of industrial relations is exempt from
wage laws. Local public agencies may es
tablish labor compliance programs for pub
lic works projects and retain fines and
penalties assessed for violations. The direc
tor may establish rules and regulations con-
cerning the responsibilities and duties of
these awarding bodies and hear appeals of
their enforcement actions. Where such a
labor compliance program is in effect, the
threshold dollar amount for coverage of
public works projects will be $25,000 for
new construction and $15,000 for alter-
ation, demolition, repair, or maintenance
work. Otherwise, a $1,000 amount i~
applicable.

For purposes of payment of prevailing
wages, overtime pay, recordkeeping, and
the employment of apprentices, the defini-
tion of public works was extended to in-
clude public transportation demonstration
projects.

Child labor. Minors under the age of
16 may not be employed in door-to-door
selling of newspapers, magazine subscrip-
tions, candy, or other merchandise more
than 50 miles from their homes. (The min-
imum age for employment in door-to-door
sales remains at 12.) The prohibition
against the employment of minors in ob-
scene, indecent, or immoral activities was
extended to include 16- and 17-year-olds.
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instead of only those under the age of 16.
The provision under which sanctions may
be imposed for violations of the child labor
law was amended to extend the labor com-
missioner’s jurisdiction to the employ-
ment of minors under age 18 who are not
required to attend school solely because
they are not State residents. Previously, the
jurisdiction included only those under 18
who are required to attend school.

For purposes of regulating permitted
hours of employment, “schoolday” in the
child labor law was defined as being a day
that a minor is enrolled in any class being
taught in summer school, in year-round
school, or during the regular school year.

A permit to work up to 2 hours a day and
4 hours a week may now be issued to a
13-year-old who has completed the sixth
grade, has been identified as a potential
school dropout, and is participating in a
school-district-sponsored employment pro-
gram, provided the program fosters the stu-
dent’s appreciation of the importance of
education. Work permits are otherwise
issued to minors aged 14 to 18.

Agriculture. A section was added to
the farm labor contractor licensing law
prohibiting making false, fraudulent, or
misleading representations that a person’s
employment in the growing or producing of
farm products or an employee benefit will
be jeopardized unless he or she pays for
transportation to or from the employer’s
business or worksite. Violation will be a
misdemeanor punishable by a fine of from
$500 to $5,000, imprisonment for up to 30
days, or both. An aggrieved individual may
bring civil action for injunctive relief, dam-
ages, or both. Any other party may also
seek injunctive relief.

Garment industry. Registered garment
manufacturers must display, at the front en-
trance of the business premises, the name
of the registrant and the address and gar-
ment manufacturing registration number of
the business.

Private employment agencies. The
Employment Agency Act was repealed,
and a new Employment Agency, Employ-
ment Counseling and Job Listing Services
Act was approved. Under the new law, li-
censing is no longer required. Each agency
or service continues to be required to post a
surety bond. Specified requirements are
mandated, including written contracts with
those seeking employment and the mainte-
nance of certain records. Various practices
are prohibited, such as false, misleading,
or deceptive advertising and the acceptance
of confessions of judgment, promissory
notes, or assignment of wages to cover the
agency’s fees. The Bureau of Personnel
Services in the Department of Consumer
Affairs, which administered the former
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law, is to be phased out. Enforcement of
the new law is through the attorney general,
district attorney, or city attorney. A private
right of action is provided to recover up to
triple damages. The department is to sub-
mit reports to the legislature, including a
final report by June 30, 1991, on the imple-
mentation of the act.

Occupational safety and health. The
California Division of Occupational Safety
and Health resumed nearly full responsibil-
ity for enforcement of private-sector job
safety and health rules in the State in early
October 1989. Formerly, the responsibil-
ity was shared with the Federal Occupa-
tional Safety and Health Administration.
Proposition 97, approved by the voters in
November 1988, required restoration of the
California Occupational Safety and Health
Administration (CAL/OSHA) program in the
private sector, eliminated in the Governor’s
1987-88 budget by use of line-item veto
authority. The State had continued to pro-
vide public-sector enforcement.

Among changes to the occupational
safety and health law, all employers are to
establish and maintain an effective, written
injury prevention program, including iden-
tification and evaluation of workplace
hazards, methods and procedures for cor-
recting unsafe or unhealthy conditions, and
an employee training program. Employers
are prohibited from discharging or other-
wise discriminating against an employee
because of the employee’s participation in
an occupational safety and health commit-
tee established as part of a prevention pro-
gram. The Director of Industrial Relations
is to establish a list of the 100 highest haz-
ard industries in the State, such list to be
used in allocating resources for the schedul-
ing of safety and health inspections.

Other laws. The “Tucker Health Care
Coverage Act of 1989 established guide-
lines for voluntary health insurance cover-
age for employees, including minimum
standards relating to employer payment of
partial cost, employee coverage, and health
care benefits. The Governor is to designate
a State agency, department, or advisory
board to research, report, and make recom-
mendations on potential cost savings and
the feasibility of enacting a voluntary
health insurance program. The report is to
be submitted to the Governor and the legis-
lature by March 1, 1990, and the guidelines
will become operative on January 1, 1992,
based upon the findings of the report.

Employers are prohibited from discharg-
ing or otherwise discriminating against an
employee for taking time off to perform
emergency duty as a volunteer firefighter.
Aggrieved employees are entitled to rein-
statement and reimbursement for lost
wages and benefits.

Colorado

Hours. A new provision applicable to
underground mines, underground work-
ings, and smelters permits work in excess
of 8 hours a day, provided that the operator
establishes a work plan setting forth terms
and conditions for work beyond these
hours, and at least one week’s notice is
given to employees except in emergencies.

Equal employment opportunity. Be-
ginning July 1, 1992, the prohibition
against employment discrimination based
upon handicap will apply to mental as well
as physical impairments. It is now an un-
fair employment practice to discriminate
against any person because he or she has
opposed a discriminatory practice, filed a
charge with the Civil Rights Commission,
or testified, assisted, or participated in an
investigation, proceeding, or hearing.

It is now an unfair employment or dis-
criminatory practice for an employer to
discharge an employee or refuse to hire a
person solely because the individual is mar-
ried to or plans to marry another employee
of the employer, except where one spouse
would have supervisory or disciplinary
powers over the other, would audit or be
entrusted with monies received or handled
by the other, or would have access to the
employer’s confidential information, in-
cluding payroll and personnel records.

Labor relations.  Police or sheriff’s of-
ficers may now be temporarily assigned to
areas where there is a labor dispute if the
situation or incident for which such tempo-
rary assignment has been requested is not
the direct result of the dispute and does not
involve individuals participating in the
dispute or, upon authorization by the Gov-
ernor, if such assignment is deemed neces-
sary as the direct result of a labor dispute.

Employment and training. The Colo-
rado Existing Industry Training Program
was created to train or retrain workers for
companies affected by major technological
change or for situations where training is
deemed crucial for the company and for
worker retention.

Preference. A July 1, 1989, repeal
date was eliminated for the resident bidder
preference on State contracts awarded for
commodities and services.

Other laws. Among changes to the
Uniform Jury Selection and Service Act,
employers are prohibited from willfully ha-
rassing employed jurors or interfering with
the effective performance of a juror, in ad-
dition to firing, threatening, or coercing as
previously prohibited. In the event of viola-
tion of the act, a juror may bring civil ac-
tion for damages, or injunctive relief, or
both. Courts may now award treble dam-
ages and attorney fees upon a finding of
willful misconduct against the employer.




Connecticut

Wages. The commissioner of labor
may now collect the full amount of unpaid
minimum and overtime wages due em-
ployees, without individual assignments of
wages, as well as interest from the date the
wages should have been paid. The commis-
sioner may bring any legal action necessary
to recover twice the amount of unpaid
wages. An employee bringing civil action
may also now recover twice the wages due.
The commissioner may collect the full amount
of any unpaid wages, payments due an em-
ployee welfare fund, or an arbitration award,
due under the wage payment law, plus interest
from the date payment should have been
made. The commissioner may bring legal ac-
tion to recover twice the amount due.

An employer may not request or require
reimbursement from an employee for any
loss or shortage incurred in the course of
the employer’s business as a result of any
wrongdoing on the part of a customer.

Overtime pay requirements were
amended to exempt beer delivery truck-
drivers employed by licensed distributors,
except those paid on an hourly basis, and to
clarify the exemption for certain inside
salespersons.

The required minimum wage for sup-
ported work, education, and training pro-
grams will now be the State minimum rate,
rather than the Federal.

Hours. With certain exceptions, after
July 1, 1990, no person who works for an
employer employing five or more em-
ployees on a shift at a single place of busi-
ness is to be required to work for 7% or more
consecutive hours without a meal period of
at least 30 consecutive minutes, given be-
tween the first 2 and last 2 hours of work.
The law does not apply to public
schoolteachers.

Parental leave. Beginning July 1,
1990, private-sector employers of 250 or
more must grant up to 12 weeks of unpaid
family or medical leave in a 2-year period
to employees with at least 12 months’ serv-
ice. On July 1, 1991, the maximum
required leave increases to 16 weeks. Cov-
erage will be extended to employers of 100
or more and 75 or more in steps, and after
July 1, 1993, all such employers will be
subject to the 16-week requirement. Family
leave is for the birth, adoption, or serious
illness of a child, or the serious illness of a
spouse or parent, while medical leave is for
a serious employee illness. Upon return
from leave, employees are entitled to rein-
statement, with all benefits accumulated at
the commencement of the leave. Employ-
ers are prohibited from discharging or
discriminating against employees for exer-
cising their rights under this act. Adminis-

tration is vested in the Department of
Labor.

Equal employment opportunity. Re-
tirement at age 70 is no longer mandatory
for members of the Municipal Employee’s
Retirement System, except for police and
firefighters, who must retire at 65 unless
they receive annual approval to continue
working from the municipal legislative
body. The prohibition against the manda-
tory retirement, at age 70, of tenured em-
ployees at independent institutions of
higher education, scheduled to go into ef-
fect on January 1, 1994, will now be effec-
tive after July 1, 1993.

The prohibition against any teacher who
has reached 61 years of age from becoming
a member of the Connecticut Teachers Re-
tirement System for the first time was
repealed.

Among changes made in the Human
Rights Act, the Commission on Human
Rights and Opportunities is to be organized
into a Division of Affirmative Action
Monitoring and Contract Compliance, a
Division of Discriminatory Practice Com-
plaints, and other divisions or units as
deemed necessary. An executive director
position was created, and procedural
changes were made to the process of re-
solving complaints of discriminatory
practices.

On July 1, 1990, the Division of Reha-
bilitation Services of the State Board of
Education will become the Bureau of Reha-
bilitation Services in the Department of
Human Resources. The Commissioner of
Human Resources is to develop and main-
tain a program of public education and in-
formation concerning the Bureau’s services
to persons with disabilities.

Private employment agencies. Private
employment agencies whose fees are paid
by employers are no longer required to reg-
ister with the labor commissioner.

Occupational safety and health. No
public work contract is to be awarded by
the State or any political subdivision to any
bidder who has been cited for three or more
willful or serious and unabated violations
of any occupational safety and health act
during the 3-year period preceding the bid,
or who has received one or more criminal
convictions related to the injury or death of
any employee in the 3-year period preced-
ing the bid. Any person who knowingly
provides false information concerning the
information required by this law will be
assessed a civil money penalty and will be
disqualified from bidding on or participat-
ing in a contract with the State or any polit-
ical subdivision for 5 years.

Among amendments to the Emergency
Planning and Community-Right-to-Know
Act, reports on the presence of extremely

hazardous substances must now be made to
the State Emergency Response Commis-
sion and the local emergency planning
committee. Reports on the release of ex-
tremely hazardous substances and material
safety data sheets for hazardous chemicals
must be submitted to the commission, the
local emergency planning committee, and
the fire department.

Employment and training. An Em-
ployment and Training Commission was
created within the Department of Labor to
carry out the duties and responsibilities ofa
State job training and coordinating council
pursuant to the Federal Job Training Part-
nership Act. The commission replaces the
Job Training Coordinating Council in the
Office of Policy and Management.

Preference. Residency requirements
are prohibited as a condition of employ-
ment for municipal employees whose posi-
tions are subject to terms of collective
bargaining agreements.

Other laws. An employer who makes
deductions from an employee’s wages for
group hospital or medical insurance and
who fails to purchase such coverage will be
liable for benefits that would have been
provided if coverage had been procured. In
the case of a corporation, any officer re-
sponsible for procuring such coverage who
willfully fails to do so will be personally
liable for benefits not received if the
amount owed cannot be collected from the
corporation itself.

Delaware

Wages. The minimum wage, previ-
ously set by statute at $3.35 per hour, will
automatically increase to match any in-
crease in the Federal rate. Employers may
pay less than the minimum, but not less
than $3.35 per hour, to employees age 18
or younger who have been employed by the
employer for a period of 90 days or less

Florida

Equal employment opportunity. State
executive agencies must now submit an an-
nual affirmative action plan to the Depart-
ment of Administration describing goals
for ensuring full utilization of underrepre-
sented groups. All supervisors must receive
training in the principles of equal employ-
ment opportunity and affirmative action
Each State attorney and public defende:
must now also develop and implement af
firmative action plans.

Employee testing. A Drug-Free Work-
place Act was approved, applicable to
agencies of State Government. Job appli
cants may be denied employment upon
refusal to be tested or upon a positive con

Monthly Labor Review January 1990 41




State Labor Legislation, 1989

firmed test result. Employees may be re-
quired to undergo a test upon reasonable
suspicion of drug usage, as part of a rou-
tinely scheduled fitness-for-duty medical
examination, or as a follow-up to an em-
ployee assistance program for drug- or
alcohol-related problems. Employees have
the right to explain positive test results.
With certain exceptions, employees may
not be discharged, disciplined, or discrimi-
nated against solely on the basis of a first
positive confirmed drug test, unless they
have refused to participate in an employee
assistance program or alcohol and drug re-
habilitation program or failed to complete
such a program. Testing procedures and
various employee protections and required
notifications are specified in the law.

The law prohibiting employers from re-
quiring AIDS testing as a condition of hir-
ing, promotion, or continued employment,
or from discriminating on the basis of test
results, was amended to prohibit such dis-
crimination on the basis of knowledge or
belief that an AIDS test was taken or on the
perceived results of the test. All health care
workers are now protected against employ-
ment discrimination that occurs because of
their treatment or care of patients infected
with HIV. Employers providing or adminis-
tering health or life insurance benefits to
employees must develop and implement
procedures to maintain the confidentiality
of all records relating to the medical condi-
tion or status of any persons covered by
such benefits.

Worker privacy. It will not be unlaw-
ful for any person to provide a financial
institution with employment information
about an employee’s or former employee’s
known or suspected involvement in a viola-
tion of any law, rule, or regulation which
has been reported to State or Federal
authorities.

Occupational safety and health. Oper-
ators of permanent or temporary amuse-
ment devices or attractions must obtain a
permit from the Department of Agriculture
and Consumer Services. Inspection must
be conducted before a permit is issued and
at least annually thereafter. Devices or at-
tractions that fail to pass an inspection may
not be operated.

Any person initially employed as a fire-
fighter must be a nonuser of tobacco or
tobacco products for at least 1 year preced-
ing application.

Georgia

Employment and training. A Gover-
nor-appointed Employment and Training
Council was created pursuant to the Federal
Job Training Partnership Act. The council
is to assist the commissioner of labor in
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adopting rules and regulations concerning
the construction, use, or safety of eleva-
tors, dumbwaiters, escalators, manlifts,
and moving walks; boilers and pressure
vessels; amusement rides; and carnival
rides. The council will also assist in estab-
lishing training standards and preparing the
hazardous chemical list required under the
Public Employee Hazardous Chemical Pro-
tection and Right to Know Act. Separate
advisory councils in each of these areas
were eliminated.

Hawaii

Wages. Four separate resolutions were
adopted expressing opposition to the final
rule of the U.S. Department of Housing
and Urban Development preempting State-
determined prevailing wage rates which
exceed federally determined rates, for
workers on public and Indian housing
projects, and urging the Department to re-
consider the ruling.

Parental leave. Resolutions were
adopted requesting the Governor to con-
vene an interim task force to examine a
1989 Legislative Reference Bureau study
and to propose legislation to implement a
statewide family leave policy. The task
force is to include representatives from the
Department of Labor and Industrial Rela-
tions, the University of Hawaii Industrial
Relations Center, the State Commission on
the Status of Women, and several other
organizations.

Child labor. Any employer who em-
ploys a child who is excused from school
attendance by a school superintendent or
family court on the basis of being at least 15
years old and suitably employed is to notify
the child’s school within 3 days of termina-
tion of the child’s employment.

Equal employment opportunity. A law
was enacted implementing the transfer of
employment discrimination enforcement
and administration from the Department of
Labor and Industrial Relations to the Civil
Rights Commission, as provided in 1988
legislation.

Worker privacy. The Uniform Infor-
mation Practices Act was amended to
provide for the disclosure, to exclusive rep-
resentatives under the public-sector collec-
tive bargaining law, of information related
to the administration of authorized payroll
deductions.

Idaho

Wages. Among changes to the wage
payment and collection law, the director of
the Department of Labor and Industrial
Services may now accept wage claims of
up to $2,000 instead of $1,000. The direc-
tor is also authorized to issue orders for

administrative remedies and to levy civil
penalties of up to $500 per pay period
against employers engaging in a consistent
pattern of untimely wage payments. Em-
ployers are prohibited from discharging or
retaliating against an employee for filing a
complaint or participating in an investiga-
tion conducted by the department. Changes
were also made in the time frames for pay-
ment of wages upon layoff or termination
of employment, and in the maximum pe-
riod permitted between the end of a pay
period and the payday. In case of a dispute
as to the amount of wages due, employers
are to pay the wages conceded to be due.
Employers are also to maintain employ-
ment records for at least 2 years, to notify
employees at the time of hiring of the rate
of pay and usual day of payment, to notify
them of any reduction in wages, and, upon
a written request, to furnish the department
with the information it is authorized to ac-
quire for enforcement purposes.

Iinois

Wages. Hereafter, the State minimum-
wage rate may not be less than the Federal
rate, and wages paid to employees under
age 18 may not be more than 50 cents
below the adult minimum wage. Also, the
Department of Labor may now make as-
signments of claims for minimum-wage
underpayments in trust for assigning em-
ployees and bring legal action to collect
them. Employers will be required to pay
the costs incurred in collecting such claims
and will be liable to the department for 20
percent of the amount of underpayment.

Employees of not-for-profit educational
or residential child care institutions who are
directly involved daily in educating or car-
ing for children residing at the facility who
are orphans, foster children, abused, ne-
glected, abandoned, or otherwise homeless
are exempt from overtime pay require-
ments. The exemption is contingent upon
receipt of specified minimum annual
salaries.

For purposes of coverage under the pre-
vailing wage law, the definition of “public
works” now includes projects financed in
whole or part with bonds issued under the
Illinois Municipal Code, the Industrial
Building Revenue Bond Act, or the Devel-
opment Finance Authority Act, or with
bonds issued or loans made available pur-
suant to the Build Illinois Bond Act. Public
works contract bid specifications are to list
prevailing rates in the locality for each re-
quired craft or type of worker or mechanic.
Department of Labor rate revisions will ap-
ply to such a contract, and the public body
will be responsible for notifying the con-
tractor and subcontractors. Contractors or




subcontractors who have paid workers less
than required will be liable to the depart-
ment for 20 percent of the underpayments
and will also be liable to the workers for
punitive damages. The department will
have a right of action on behalf of any un-
derpaid employees.

Provisions of the Illinois Purchasing
Act, requiring that prospective bidders be
prequalified to determine their responsibil-
ity, were amended to require that an appli-
cant for prequalification list all public
works contracts performed within the last 2
years, or the 4 most recent such contracts,
whichever is fewer, and indicate whether
the State prevailing wage law has been
complied with.

Employee testing. Persons desiring a
schoolbus driver permit will now be re-
quired to submit to tests for drug and alco-
hol use.

The Regional Transportation Authority
and all of the service boards subject to the
Authority, including the Chicago Transit
Authority, are to establish, maintain, ad-
minister, and enforce a comprehensive
drug-testing program that conforms to Fed-
eral statutes and regulations.

Labor relations. Backpay awards for
unfair labor practice violations under the
Public Labor Relations Act and the Illinois
Educational Labor Relations Act will now
include 7 percent annual interest. Among
other amendments, firefighters employed
by State universities will be covered by the
Public Labor Relations Act, not by the Ed-
ucational Labor Relations Act, and changes
were made in impasse resolution proce-
dures pertaining to security employee,
peace officer, and firefighter disputes.

Occupational safety and health. The
Department of Mines and Minerals was au-
thorized to adopt rules, conduct inspec-
tions, and require compliance with health
and safety standards for the protection of
workers in underground oil and gas opera-
tions. The rules may include minimum
qualifications of personnel, minimum
standards for equipment operation and
maintenance, and safety procedures and
precautions.

Under the Toxic Substances Disclosure
to Employees Act, employers now will not
have to provide an employee education and
training program if no employees are ex-
posed to toxic substances.

Employment and training. The De-
partment of Commerce and Community
Affairs will now facilitate and fund (1) the
training of employees of companies that
seek to develop new overseas markets, (2)
the customized training of employees of
companies in enterprise zones, and (3) the
self-employment training of the unem-
ployed and underemployed. The depart-

ment is to assist and encourage an employer
in reemploying persons previously em-
ployed at the facility if the employer is
reopening a facility closed within the pre-
ceding 2 years and a substantial number of
the workers previously employed there re-
main unemployed.

Indiana

Wages. The wage payment law now
permits employee wages to be paid by elec-
tronic transfer to a financial institution des-
ignated by the employee.

Agriculture. The State Board of
Health may now issue permits limited to
one or more specific living areas of an agri-
cultural work camp, and more than one per-
mit may be issued to a camp operator. The
board is authorized to designate an agent
empowered to conduct inspections and may
issue an order of compliance and impose
civil penalties for violations. Agricultural
labor camp owners and operators may im-
pose a penalty on an agricultural worker
who knowingly or intentionally damages
property in the camp.

Equal employment opportunity. A sex-
ual harassment task force was created and
assigned various duties, including educat-
ing the public and employers about ways to
reduce sexual harassment and developing
and presenting training programs concern-
ing its prevention.

Employee testing. Employers who es-
tablish or maintain a drug and alcohol
abuse prevention program for employees
are now entitled to a tax credit based upon
the amount invested in such a program.
To qualify, the program must provide
counseling, advice, employee education, a
treatment referral service, and an opportu-
nity for employees to participate in the
program.

Private employment agencies. Nurs-
ing registries that employ or refer nurses,
nurse aides, or medical technicians, for a
fee, to act on a temporary basis for a health
care provider must now obtain a certificate
of registration from the State Board of
Health. The new law also establishes
recordkeeping, malpractice liability in-
surance, and employee identification card
requirements.

Occupational safety and health. The
Bureau of Mines and Mining Safety is to
(1) provide mine operators with safety con-
sultation services and mine safety and
health education information, (2) provide
safety and health training, as required by
the Federal Mine Safety and Health Admin-
istration, to mine operators and workers
who do not otherwise have training avail-
able, and (3) investigate all mining fatali-
ties for data collection purposes.

Iowa

Wages. A first-time minimum-wage
law was enacted, with rates to match the
current Federal rate or the State schedule of
rates, whichever is greater. Under the State
law, a rate of $3.35 an hour took effect July
1, 1989, increasing to $3.85 on January 1,
1990. Further increases are to $4.25,
scheduled for January 1, 1991, and to
$4.65, for January 1, 1992. For the first 90
calendar days with an employer, em-
ployees are to receive an hourly minimum
of $3.35 during 1990, increasing to $3.85
January 1, 1991, and to $4.25 January 1,
1992. A tip credit of up to 40 percent is
permitted for tipped employees of restau-
rants, hotels, motels, inns, or cabins. Cov-
erage and exemptions were adopted from
the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act by
reference, except that fewer retail and serv-
ice establishments are exempt under the
State law because the gross volume of sales
under which such establishments are ex-
empt is less than 60 percent of that under
the Federal act. The law is administered by
the labor commissioner, and is enforced
pursuant to the State’s existing wage pay-
ment/collection law.

Equal employment opportunity. A pro-
posed Equal Rights Amendment to the
State constitution was adopted, subject to
passage by two consecutive legislatures
and approval in a general election. A simi-
lar proposed amendment was defeated in
the 1980 general election.

Employee testing. ~ As part of new leg-
islation permitting the operation of excur-
sion gambling boats, periodic drug testing
will be required of persons employed as
captains, pilots, or physical operators of
these boats.

Occupational safety and health. A
Governor-appointed emergency response
commission was established to carry out
the functions and duties specified in State
law and those required of the State under
the Federal Emergency Planning and Com-
munity Right-to-Know Act. Provision was
made for allocation of duties to the De-
partment of Employment Services, the
Department of Natural Resources, and the
Department of Public Defense. The com-
mission may take civil action against facil-
ity owners or operators who violate specific
Federal requirements.

Employment and training.  An employ-
ment retraining fund, administered by the
Department of Economic Development, 15
to be established to remedy structural im-
balances in the job market by funding
agreements with participating businesses
for retraining workers to provide them with
marketable skills in demand by State
employers.
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Whistleblower. An amendment to the
State’s “whistleblower” law now allows
aggrieved employees relief by enforcement
through civil action, including reinstate-
ment with or without backpay, in addition
to criminal penalties as previously pro-
vided. Also, employees may now disclose
information described in the law to any
public official, law enforcement agency, or
employees of the general assembly.

Other laws. The labor commissioner
was authorized to adopt rules, pursuant to
the Administrative Procedure Act, for the
purpose of administering all chapters under
his or her jurisdiction.

Kansas

Equal employment opportunity. A new
law authorizes the Commission on Civil
Rights to adopt rules and regulations to
carry out the provisions of the State Age
Discrimination in Employment Act.

The advisory committee on employment
of the handicapped, within the Department
of Human Resources, was abolished and
replaced by a commission on disability
concerns, with responsibility to carry on a
program to promote a higher quality of life
for people with disabilities.

Labor relations. The standing Agri-
cultural Labor Relations Board was abol-
ished, and will be activated only when a
complaint is filed with the Secretary of the
State Board of Agriculture alleging the
existence of a controversy under the Em-
ployer and Employee Relations Act. Provi-
sions for mediation of disputes and fact
finding were repealed, but the board retains
authority to aid the parties in effecting a
voluntary resolution, and to conduct a hear-
ing and render a final, binding order subject
to judicial review.

Louisiana

Child labor. Restrictions on the em-
ployment of minors under age 16 will not
apply to minors who, with a written permit
issued by the Department of Labor, partici-
pate in any commercial motion picture,
film, theatrical performance, or video pro-
duced or filmed in the State. Procedures
were established for applications and con-
ditions for permits and for revocation if the
Louisiana secretary of labor finds that con-
ditions of employment are detrimental to
the health, morals, or safety of the minor.
Hour limitations were repealed, and a pro-
vision was added for the Secretary to adopt
rules setting forth time limits.

A bank, savings and loan association, or
credit union may provide any other such
financial institution with a written em-
ployment reference which may include
information reported to Federal banking
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regulators regarding theft, embezzlement,
or other misappropriation of funds. If the
employee is sent a copy of the reference,
the financial institution will not be liable
for furnishing such a reference, unless the
information is false and is provided with
knowledge and malice.

Private employment agencies. The
Private Employment Service Advisory
Council, an advisory group to the assistant
secretary of the Office of Labor, was
abolished.

Other laws. The name of the Depart-
ment of Labor was changed to the Depart-
ment of Employment and Training.

Maine

Wages. By prior law, the minimum
hourly wage rate was increased from $3.75
to $3.85 effective January 1, 1990.

Child labor.  The provision of the child
labor law prohibiting the employment of
minors under age 16 in certain places, in-
cluding hotels and rooming houses, was
amended to permit minors who are 15 years
of age or older to be employed in kitchens,
dining rooms, lobbies, and offices of public
accommodations for lodging from June 15
to Labor Day.

The compulsory school attendance law
which requires attendance up to age 17 with
certain exceptions was amended to prohibit
the employment, without a release from the
student’s supervisory superintendent of
schools, of any student who is habitually
truant. An employer in violation will be
subject to a fine of from $100 to $500.

Equal employment opportunity. A
Blue Ribbon Task Force to Promote Equity
of Opportunity for Women in the Public
School System was created to study the
representation and underrepresentation of
women in the system. A report was to be
submitted to the Governor and the legisla-
ture by December 1, 1989.

Employee testing. Under a new law,
Jjob applicants may be required or requested
to submit to a test for substance abuse if
offered employment or a position on a ros-
ter of eligibility from which selections are
made. Employees may be required or re-
quested to submit to a test for probable
cause or while undergoing treatment in a
substance abuse rehabilitation program.
Random or arbitrary testing is permitted if
provided for in collective bargaining agree-
ments and for employment in positions that
could affect the health or safety of the pub-
lic or coworkers. Specific provisions in-
clude procedures for sample collection and
handling of samples, criteria for positive
tests, use of qualified laboratories, em-
ployee rights to appeal and contest
confirmed positive test results, and the re-

quirement of an employee assistance pro-
gram for employers of 20 or more. The
requirements are enforced by the Depart-
ment of Labor.

An amendment continued a 1987 law
prohibiting health care facilities from
requiring that any employee or applicant
for employment submit to an HIV test or
reveal whether he or she has obtained such
a test as a condition of employment, except
when based on a bona fide occupational
qualification.

Labor relations. By amendment, no
restraining order or injunctive relief may be
granted to any complainant in a labor dis-
pute who has failed to comply with any
legal obligation involved in the dispute or
who has failed to make a reasonable effort
to settle the dispute by negotiation or
through mediation or voluntary arbitration.
Also, officers or members of any associa-
tion or organization or such entities partici-
pating or interested in a labor dispute may
not be held responsible in State court for
the unlawful acts of individual officers,
members, or agents, except upon proof of
participation in or authorization of the acts.

The Municipal Public Employees Labor
Relations Law was amended to provide for
the merger of bargaining units represented
by a single bargaining agent if approved in
special elections within each unit. Mergers
of units of supervisors with other units or of
teachers and nonprofessional employees
will not be permitted.

Occupational safety and health. A
person having direct and personal manage-
ment or control of any employment, place
of employment, or other employee who in-
tentionally or knowingly violates any Fed-
eral or State occupational safety or health
standard, with such violation resulting in an
employee’s death, will now be guilty of
manslaughter.

The State Emergency Response Com-
mission is to oversee a comprehensive pro-
gram of planning and training for effective
emergency response to releases of haz-
ardous materials. Local emergency plan-
ning committees were established for each
emergency planning district, pursuant to
the Federal Emergency Planning and Com-
munity Right-to-Know Act. Operators of
facilities that store quantities of extremely
hazardous substances must prepare written
plans to protect public health and safety,
and include in such plans a description of
employee training and testing programs.

Employers using 25 or more video dis-
play terminals at one location within the
State are now required to establish educa-
tion and training programs for operators of
such terminals. Education and training are
to include information on methods of main-
taining proper posture, the proper use of




terminals, and protective measures that the
operator may take to avoid or mini-
mize symptoms or conditions that may
result from extended or improper use of
terminals.

Employment and training. Standards
were established for all State and Federal
education and training programs adminis-
tered by the Department of Labor. Now
required for on-the-job training contracts
are that (1) the occupation be one that tradi-
tionally requires specific occupational
training, (2) the establishment not be in-
volved in a strike, lockout, or other labor
dispute, (3) trainees receive the same
wages, benefits, and working conditions as
other equivalent employees, (4) employers
offer trainees continued employment upon
completion of the training contract, except
for good cause, and (5) trainees not dis-
place current employees. Also, the depart-
ment must determine whether placements
in apprenticeships are in accordance with a
list of eligible occupations provided by the
State Apprenticeship and Training Council.

Other laws. An employee who is tem-
porarily laid off from work for over 6
weeks, and who is placed on a recall list by
the employer, is now to have 7 days from
receiving notice of a recall to work in
which to respond without discrimination on
subsequent recalls by the employer. Em-
ployers will not be required to hold a posi-
tion for an employee not responding within
the 7 days.

Maryland

Wages. The Secretary of Personnel
was authorized to promulgate regulations,
consistent with the Fair Labor Standards
Act, to provide for compensatory time off
in lieu of monetary payment for overtime
work by State employees. The comlpensa-
tory time received must be at least 13 hours
for each hour of overtime worked, and em-
ployees have the right to choose in advance
whether to receive compensatory time in-
stead of overtime pay.

Child Labor. The child labor law was
amended to prohibit the employment of mi-
nors under age 18 in transporting, to or
from a business establishment, any cash,
checks, or negotiable instruments between
8:00 p.m. and 8:00 a.m., or in an amount
over $100 between 8:00 a.m. and 8:00
p.m. This prohibition will not apply to a
child of the owner, operator, or manager of
the establishment or to a minor transporting
these funds received as payment for mer-
chandise or services he or she delivers.

Employee testing. Employers requir-
ing drug or alcohol testing must provide
those tested, in cases of confirmed positive
tests, with a copy of the test indicating the

results, a copy of the employer’s written
policy on drug or alcohol abuse, written
notice of any intended disciplinary action,
and a statement of the person’s right to
request independent testing for verification
of the results. Laboratories, doctors, and
others may not disclose a person’s use ofa
legal nonprescription drug or of a medically
prescribed drug to the employer.

Worker privacy. Employees of the Di-
vision of Correction assigned to the Special
Internal Investigative Unit expressly au-
thorized by the commissioner of correction
may now be required to take a lie detector
test as a condition of employment.

Occupational safety and health. The
commissioner of labor and industry was au-
thorized to assess civil penalties of up to
$5,000 for each violation of the Boiler and
Pressure Vessel Safety Act. In assessing
penalties, the commissioner is to give due
consideration to the nature or gravity of the
violation and the person’s or firm’s good
faith and history of previous violations.

Employment and training. A Partner-
ship for Workforce Quality Program was
established within the Department of Eco-
nomic and Employment Development. As-
sisted by an advisory board, the program is
to (1) provide training services to improve
the competitiveness and productivity of the
State’s work force and business commu-
nity; (2) upgrade employee skills for new
technologies or production processes; and
(3) assist State businesses in promoting em-
ployment stability.

Massachusetts

Maternity leave. The law entitling fe-
male employees to unpaid maternity leave
of up to 8 weeks for the birth or adoption of
a child was amended to raise the age of the
adopted child to which the entitlement ap-
plies from under 3 years to under 18 years,
or under the age of 23 if the child is men-
tally or physically disabled.

Equal employment opportunity. In re-
sponse to a recent U.S. Supreme Court rul-
ing that Section 1981 of the Federal Civil
Rights Act of 1866 does not apply to racial
harassment in employment (Patterson V.
McLean Credit Union), additional civil
rights provisions were enacted banning all
discrimination based on sex, race, color,
creed, or national origin. Persons whose
rights have been violated may bring civil
action for injunctive and other relief, in-
cluding compensatory and exemplary dam-
ages. The law also specifies that proof of
violation is established on the basis of “the
totality of circumstances.”

A new law bans discrimination on the
basis of sexual orientation in employment,
housing, credit, insurance, and public
accommodations.

Employment and training. A MASS-
JOBS council was created to establish poli-
cies for and coordinate all employment,
training, and employment-related educa-
tion programs within the Commonwealth.

Other laws. An employer may not dis-
charge or otherwise penalize an employee
who, as a crime victim or witness, takes
part in a criminal proceeding in response to
a subpoena to appear as a witness, provided
that notice is given prior to the day of
attendance.

Under a new law relating to corporate
takeovers, an employee with at least 3
years of service whose employment is ter-
minated after transfer of control of a busi-
ness that employs 50 or more workers is
entitled to 2 weeks’ severance pay for each
year of service. Also, a merger, consolida-
tion, sale, lease, or other disposition of a
business will not result in the termination or
impairment of a collective bargaining
agreement.

Michigan

Equal employment opportunity. Hos-
pitals licensed under the Public Health
Code may not discriminate because of race,
religion, color, national origin, age, Or sex
in the operation of the hospital, including
employment, patient admission and care,
and selection and training programs.

Minnesota

Wages. By prior law, the minimum
hourly wage rate was increased for employ-
ers covered by the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act from $3.55 to $3.85 on Jan-
uary 1, 1989, and to $3.95 on January 1,
1990. The rate for employers not covered
by the Federal act increased from $3.50 to
$3.65 on January 1, 1989, and to $3.80 on
January 1, 1990.

Unless prohibited by Federal law, a rail-
road letting a contract for rehabilitation
work or rail service improvement under a
State assistance program for such work
must require the contractor to recruit any
new workers from the area where the work
is to be done and to pay workers at least the
wages the railroad pays its own workers.
but not less than twice the State minimum
wage applicable to employers covered by
the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.

Hours. Employers must now allow
employees who work 8 or more consecu-
tive hours sufficient time to eat a meal.
Employers are not required to pay em-
ployees for the meal time. Different re-
quirements may be established in collective
bargaining agreements.

Equal employment opportunity. A pro-
vision was added to the Human Rights Act
placing the burden on the employer to
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prove that it was reasonable to conclude
that a disabled person, with reasonable ac-
commodation, could not have met the job
requirements or that the person selected
was demonstrably better able to perform
the job. Also, employers are now prohib-
ited from obtaining, for purposes of making
a job decision, information from any source
that pertains to a person’s race, color,
creed, religion, national origin, sex, mari-
tal status, public assistance status, disabil-
ity, or age. Job applicants and employees
must be notified of any health care records
or medical information that adversely af-
fects any hiring, firing, or promotional de-
cisions within 10 days of the decision.

The results of job evaluation systems for
employees of the State and political subdi-
visions, used in conjunction with compara-
bility adjustments, and related reports may
be used by the commissioner of human
rights and the State courts in any proceed-
ing or action alleging discrimination.

Public employees who harass another
public employee because of disability,
race, creed, color, or national origin will be
subject to discipline, including discharge.

Worker privacy. Private-sector em-
ployers of 20 or more must provide em-
ployees an opportunity to review their
personnel records at least twice a year upon
receipt of a written request. If an employee
disputes information in the record, the em-
ployer must provide a copy of the disputed
information, and if an agreement cannot be
reached to remove or revise the informa-
tion, the employee may submit a written
statement explaining the employee’s posi-
tion which must be included in the person-
nel record and must be provided to any
other person who receives a copy of the
information. An employer may not retaliate
against employees who assert their rights or
remedies under this act. Employees may
bring civil action to compel compliance and
for damages, backpay, reinstatement, and
other relief.

Labor relations.  No licensed business,
in the course of providing protective agent
services, may provide armed protective
personnel to labor disputes or strike loca-
tions. This prohibition does not apply to
armed security personnel services used in
the usual course of business for the protec-
tion of persons, property, and payroll.

Occupational safety and health. An
€METgency response commission was es-
tablished to comply with and administer the
Federal Emergency Planning and Commu-
nity Right-to-Know Act. Notification to a
State emergency response center of the re-
lease of a reportable quantity of hazardous
substances is required.

The commissioner of the Department of
Labor and Industry was given authority to
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administer the law regulating the operation
of elevators. The commissioner will be re-
sponsible for inspection of elevators and
granting operating permits, and may estab-
lish criteria for the qualifications of eleva-
tor inspectors and contractors and issue
contractor licenses. In addition to other
penalties for violation of the law, the com-
missioner was authorized to impose a
penalty of up to $1,000 for any violation.

Employment and training. A Conser-
vation Corps was established under the su-
pervision of the commissioner of natural
resources. The Corps is to provide summer
and year-round employment for unem-
ployed or underemployed State residents
between 15 and 26 years of age, in projects
that will (1) provide long-term benefits to
the public, (2) provide productive work and
public service experience to Corp mem-
bers, and (3) be primarily labor intensive.
Preference will be given to youths who are
economically, socially, physically, or edu-
cationally disadvantaged and youths resid-
ing in areas of substantial unemployment.
Work of Corps members is not to result in
the displacement of currently employed
workers or laid-off workers.

Mississippi

Equal employment opportunity.  Serv-
ices provided by the Rehabilitation Agency
for the Blind now include supported em-
ployment, rehabilitation engineering, and
independent living services.

Employee testing. A special joint leg-
islative committee was created to examine
the nature and extent of the drug abuse
problem in the State, including drug-testing
programs in the workplace.

Employment and training. The De-
partment of Economic and Community
Development was created as part of a re-
structuring of the executive branch of the
State government. It will be responsible for
assisting existing State business and indus-
try and for promoting new businesses. All
powers and duties of the former Division of
Job Development and Training are trans-
ferred to the new department.

A Seed Capital Corporation and Seed
Capital Fund Limited Partnership were cre-
ated to stimulate business growth and new
jobs. Job tax credits were established for
each new full-time job created. Employers
providing child care for children of em-
ployees during working hours are now enti-
tled to an income tax credit.

Missouri

Wages. A bill to enact a State mini-
mum-wage law adopting the Federal hourly

rate by reference was vetoed, and the veto
was sustained. The Governor’s veto mes-
sage stated that the bill was vetoed because
of “serious drafting errors that would frus-
trate its purpose and have effects beyond
those intended by the general assembly.”

Child labor. Among several changes
in the child labor law, children under age
16 may not be employed in any street occu-
pation connected with peddling, begging,
door-to-door selling, or similar activity,
unless the employer has received written
permission from the director of the Divi-
sion of Labor Standards; amendments were
made to several of the regulations pertain-
ing to prohibited occupations for minors
under age 16, and a prohibition was added
on working in any occupation involving ex-
posure to any toxic or hazardous chemicals
(a prohibition on work in or about any pool-
room, billiard hall, or bowling alley was
removed); and a provision was added re-
quiring every person, firm, or corporation
employing minors to comply with the un-
lawful employment practice provisions of
the Human Rights Act.

Occupational safety and health. An
Emergency Response Commission was
created which, in conjunction with the De-
partment of Natural Resources, is to imple-
ment the State’s responsibilities under the
Federal Emergency Planning and Commu-
nity Right-to-Know Act, including desig-
nating local emergency planning districts
and providing assistance and training to
local emergency planning committees.

Other laws. Employers are prohibited
from terminating, disciplining, threaten-
ing, or taking adverse action against an em-
ployee because of the employee’s receipt of
or response to a jury summons. Enforce-
ment of the law is through civil action.

Montana

Wages. Beginning January 1, 1990,
the minimum wage will be established by
rule adopted by the commissioner of labor
and industry, rather than by statute. The
rate must be the same provided under the
Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, up to
a maximum of $4 per hour. Employers
may pay newly hired employees a wage of
at least $3.35 an hour for 120 calendar
days, but without displacement of another
employee.

Employers who fire an employee for
theft of the employer’s funds or property
may apply to the courts for an order tempo-
rarily delaying the payment of unpaid
wages due the employee, if criminal
charges have been filed by the county attor-
ney. If the employee is found guilty, the
court may order the wages due to be offset
against the amount stolen; if the employee




is not guilty, the employer may be ordered
to pay the wages due, including interest.

A Board of Personnel Appeals was es-
tablished under the payment-of-wages law
to hear appeals of decisions by Department
of Labor and Industry hearing officers.
Board decisions will be final, unless an ag-
grieved party requests a rehearing or ini-
tiates judicial review. The commissioner of
labor and industry was authorized to main-
tain an action, on behalf of all underpaid
workers, for recovery of public works con-
struction prevailing wages due.

Equal employment opportunity. For
purposes of vocational rehabilitation pro-
grams, the definition of “individual with
handicaps” as contained in the Federal Re-
habilitation Act of 1973 was adopted by
reference. The Department of Social and
Rehabilitation Services is to adopt rules for
administering vocational rehabilitation pro-
grams for persons with employment handi-
caps and those with blindness or low
vision. The department is to provide coun-
seling, diagnostic evaluation, and place-
ment at no cost to those eligible.

Plant closings. An Employee Owner-
ship Opportunity Act was enacted to en-
courage the formation of employee-owned
enterprises. Business assistance services
are to be extended to these enterprises, and
the Department of Commerce is to provide
research, education, technical assistance,
and counseling.

Employment and training. A program
was established to implement the pro-
visions of the Federal Job Training Part-
nership Act. The State Job Training
Coordinating Council will review plans of
all government agencies offering employ-
ment and training services and provide
comments and recommendations to the
Governor, legislature, and State and Fed-
eral agencies regarding the relevancy and
effectiveness of such programs in the State.
Private-industry councils were established
to prepare job training plans in each service
delivery area in the State and to formulate
measurable performance standards.

Nebraska

Wages. The provision establishing a
$2.01 minimum cash wage for tipped em-
ployees was amended to delete the require-
ment that such employees be compensated
primarily by way of tips in order for em-
ployers to recieve a credit for tips against
the statutory $3.35 minimum wage.

Coverage under the wage payment and
collection law was extended to commis-
sioned salespeople. Wages were defined to
include commissions on all orders deliv-
ered or on file at the time of termination of
employment, less orders returned or can-
celed at the time a suit is filed. Employees

filing suit may now recover twice the
amount of unpaid wages if nonpayment is
found to be willful.

Child labor. A resolution requested an
interim study of high school age and
younger students working for the increas-
ing number of businesses that are open 24
hours a day and also attending school to
determine what changes, if any, are needed
in existing labor laws to facilitate the aca-
demic success of these students. A report
of findings and recommendations is to
be made to the legislative council or
legislature.

Agriculture. A study of the feasibility
of the 1987 Farm Labor Contractors Act is
to be conducted by the Business and Labor
Committee of the legislature. A report
of findings and recommendations is to
be made to the legislative council or
legislature.

Equal employment opportunity.  Under
the Fair Employment Practices Act, which
prohibits discrimination because of disabil-
ity, the term “disability” was redefined to
exclude a current addiction to alcohol, con-
trolled substances, or gambling.

Employment and training. Two train-
ing funds were created. A Technical Com-
munity College Aid Cash Fund was created
to fund grants to community colleges for
faculty training, purchase of equipment,
employee assessment and training pro-
grams, and dislocated worker programs. A
cash fund created under the direction of the
Department of Economic Development
will be used to provide reimbursement for
job training activities related to helping in-
dustry and business locate or expand in the
State or to enable the existing work force to
adjust to new technology or changing
product lines.

Nevada

Wages. The labor commissioner is
now directed to prescribe increases in the
State minimum wage in accordance with
increases in the Federal rate, except where
the commissioner determines that such in-
creases are contrary to the public interest.
Previously, the commissioner was author-
ized to set the rate up to $3.35 per hour,
which is the current State rate.

Equal employment opportunity. Em-
ployers of 15 or more employees who grant
leave with or without pay or without loss of
seniority to employees for sickness or dis-
ability because of a medical condition must
extend the same benefits to any employee
who is pregnant. The employee must be
allowed to use the leave before and after
childbirth, miscarriage, or another natural
resolution of the pregnancy.

Worker privacy. Private-sector em-
ployers are prohibited from requiring or re-

questing an employee Of prospective
employee to submit to a lie detector test,
from using the results of such a test, and
from discharging, disciplining, or denying
employment to anyone refusing to take a
test. Retaliation against anyone filing a
complaint, testifying in a proceeding, or
exercising rights under the act is also pro-
hibited. The labor commissioner can im-
pose a civil penalty of up to $9,000 for each
violation and bring court action for a re-
straining order or injunction. Employers in
violation may be liable for hiring prospec-
tive employees and for reinstating, promot-
ing, or paying lost wages and benefits of
employees. Lie detector tests arc permitted
under specified conditions for employees
during the course of an ongoing investiga-
tion involving economic loss, including
theft and embezzlement, and for prospec-
tive employees involved in security work or
access to controlled substances.

Occupational safety and health. The
administrator of the Division of Occupa-
tional Safety and Health of the Department
of Industrial Relations may now issue an
emergency order to restrain any conditions
or practices which are imminently in dan-
ger of causing death or serious injury. The
division is not to notify employers of any
randomly scheduled or customary regula-
tory inspection. The division must maintain
detailed records of all complaints alleging
safety and health violations. Such records
are available for public inspection, except
for the name of the employee filing the
complaint.

Preference. The contractor preference
law was amended to provide that, in the
award of a contract for public work, a 5-
percent preference will be given to contrac-
tors who have paid Nevada State and local
taxes for 5 successive years before submit-
ting the bid, unless the practice would pre-
clude or reduce the amount of Federal
assistance for the work.

Other laws. It is unlawful for an em-
ployer to terminate, or threaten to termi-
nate, the employment of a worker who, as
the parent, guardian, or custodian of a
child, either appears at a conference re-
quested by an administrator of the child’s
school or is notified at work by a school
employee of an emergency regarding the
child, or who appears with or on behalf of
such child in any court. A person unlaw-
fully discharged may take civil action
against the employer and obtain lost wages,
reinstatement, damages, and attomey’s
fees.

New Hampshire

Wages. OnJanuary 1, 1990, the mini-
mum wage increased from $3.65 to $3.75

Monthly Labor Review January I 990 47




State Labor Legislation, 1989

per hour, with additional increases to $3.85
and $3.95 scheduled for January 1, 1991,
and January 1, 1992. The maximum deduc-
tion that may be made from the minimum
wage for employer-furnished meals and
lodging was also increased.

Child labor. Under an amendment to
the Youth Employment Law, (1) the labor
commissioner was authorized to assess
civil money penalties for violation; (2) a
parent’s signature and a determination of
the student’s satisfactory level of academic
performance were added to the prerequi-
sites for issuing a work certificate, with
revocation if this level is not maintained;
and (3) the maximum hours of work of 16-
and 17-year-olds enrolled in school were
limited to 6 consecutive days a week year
round, 48 hours a week during school vaca-
tions, and 30 hours during a school week.
Under a separate law, inoperative provi-
sions restricting maximum hours and night-
work of females were eliminated.

School attendance. A legislative study
committee created in 1988 to examine illit-
eracy and dropout prevention, including
the relationship between the number of
hours per week that a student works or par-
ticipates in sports and the student’s aca-
demic achievement, was extended until
June 30, 1990.

The Division of Instructional Services of
the Department of Education is to develop
and distribute a questionnaire to ascertain
levels of participation of secondary
students in school-related activities and
after-school employment, and to evaluate
potential causes of voluntary student with-
drawal from school.

Employment and training. A program
was established within the Division of Vo-
cational Rehabilitation to train eligible
handicapped individuals by providing ap-
propriate support services directly related
to maintaining employment.

New Jersey

Child labor. A provision was added to
the child labor law specifying that minors
under age 16 employed outside of school
hours during a school week may not exceed
the weekly maximum hours of work per-
mitted under the Federal Fair Labor Stand-
ards Act. Also, the provision permitting
14- and 15-year-olds to work during sum-
mer vacation until 9 p.m. in supermarkets
or other retail establishments, with written
parental permission, now applies also to
restaurants and other occupations not
prohibited by the child labor law or
regulations.

Industrial homework. Criminal pen-
alties for violation of the industrial home-
work law were made more severe. For a
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first offense, a violation may now result in
a fine of up to $1,000. Employers or per-
sons knowingly violating the law or com-
mitting a second or multiple violation are
subject to a fine of up to $7,500 and impris-
onment for up to 18 months.

Employment and training. The com-
missioner of the Department of Labor is to
establish a program to provide job replace-
ment and relocation assistance and job re-
training to any person who suffers a loss of
employment as a direct result of implemen-
tation of the law prohibiting direct dis-
charge of industrial waste into ocean waters
of the State.

New Mexico

Child labor. The director of the Labor
and Industrial Division of the Department
of Labor may now issue labor permit cer-
tificates under the child labor law. The
director of the Department of Labor is to
report child labor law violations to the dis-
trict attorney of the district in which such
violations occur.

Employee testing. Employers may not
require individuals to disclose the results of
an AlDs-related test as a condition of hiring,
promotion, or continued employment, un-
less absence of the AIDS virus infection is a
bona fide occupational qualification of the
job.

Preference. The law giving resident
businesses preference in the awarding of
State contracts was amended to exempt
bids greater than 5 million dollars. Also,
now included among resident businesses
are companies that have staffed an office
and paid applicable State taxes for 2 years
prior to the awarding of a bid, and compa-
nies that are affiliates of businesses that are
already resident businesses.

New York

Wages. Amounts withheld from a con-
tractor for unpaid wages and supplements
due on a public works contract must be
used for the sole benefit of the affected
workers and for any civil penalty that may
be assessed, except under court order.

The commissioner of labor was directed
to assess a civil penalty of up to $5,000
against any person demanding or receiving
kickbacks of employee wages, supple-
ments, or other things of value and to
require reimbursement of any illegal kick-
back payments plus interest and such other
relief as may be appropriate. The law was
made explicitly applicable to kickbacks of
prevailing wages or supplements.

In other prevailing wage legislation, ap-
prenticeship training was added to the list
of supplements on public works contracts
that are to be provided to laborers, work-

men, or mechanics in accordance with the
prevailing practices in the locality; an
amendment provides that orders of the
commissioner of labor to pay unpaid pre-
vailing wages and related payments found
to be due are to be docketed as judgments
and subject to the same mechanisms used to
enforce other judgments; and debarment
provisions now apply to successor business
entities of contractors and subcontractors
with prior violations.

Parental leave. The law requiring an
employer to grant to an adoptive parent of
a child below school age the same leave of
absence as is given to a natural parent upon
the birth of a child was amended to provide
that an adoptive parent of a hard-to-place or
handicapped child under the age of 18 is
now entitled to the same leave as is granted
to a natural parent upon the birth of a child.

Apparel industry. Manufacturers and
contractors of men’s apparel were made
subject to the annual registration require-
ment and inspection provisions of a 1986
law originally applicable in the women’s,
children’s, and infants’ apparel industries.
A waiver may be granted by the commis-
sioner of labor to manufacturers or contrac-
tors solely of men’s apparel which were in
business on or before April 1, 1987, and
which have not violated State labor or tax
laws for the preceding 2 years.

Labor relations. Under the Labor Re-
lations Act, an employer engaged in the
performing arts who enters into an agree-
ment with a labor organization representing
performing artists will not be engaged in an
unfair labor practice because the majority
status of the labor organization has not been
established or because such agreement re-
quires, as a condition of employment,
membership in the labor organization after
employment.

Under a comprehensive new law pro-
hibiting smoking in public places, employ-
ers will be required to provide nonsmoking
employees in indoor areas open to the pub-
lic with a smoke-free work area, and smok-
ing in any work area will be permitted only
with the consent of all employees in that
area. Smoking in common areas such as
rest rooms, hallways, classrooms, and pho-
tocopy locations will also be prohibited.
Employers may designate separate en-
closed rooms not open to the public as
smoking areas.

Beginning October 1, 1990, the owner or
operator of certain amusement rides must
have available, at the time of the initial and
annual inspection, the manufacturer’s rec-
ommended maintenance and safety sched-
ules or requirements and documentation
that such maintenance and testing have
been performed.

Plant closings. A Worker Adjustment




Act was adopted to provide dislocated
workers with occupational training, job
placement assistance, employability coun-
seling, and support services, to assist them
in obtaining new private-sector jobs. Provi-
sion was also made for a rapid response
unit to aid workers in the event of plant
closings or substantial layoffs. The law will
be administered by the Department of
Labor.

Other laws. Any private-sector em-
ployee terminated from employment is to
receive, within 5 days after termination,
written notice of the exact date of termina-
tion and the exact date of cancellation of
employee benefits connected with such ter-
mination. Employers who refuse to give
such notice or remit premiums on behalf of
former employees exercising their rights to
continuation of coverage will be liable for
medical expenses not covered as a result of
such failure, as well as civil penalties.

Employees may not be required to pay
the cost of any medical examination or of
furnishing any health certificate as a condi-
tion of continuing employment if the em-
ployee is not covered by health insurance,
or the health insurance does not cover such
costs, or the employer does not provide
qualified medical personnel to conduct the
examination at no cost to the employee,
and such examination or certificate is not
required by law.

North Carolina

Wages. Several significant changes
were made in the Wage and Hour Act. Per-
sons employed in enterprises having fewer
than three employees will no longer be ex-
empt from minimum-wage, overtime, and
recordkeeping provisions; the exemption of
employment regulated under the Federal
Fair Labor Standards Act will no longer
apply to employees from whom the ap-
plicable Federal minimum wage is less
than the State’s; employers who violate
minimum-wage, overtime, or wage pay-
ment provisions are now liable for interest
on unpaid amounts due; if the amount of
wages is in dispute, employers are to make
timely payment of the undisputed portion.
The labor commissioner is now empowered
to enter into reciprocal agreements with the
labor department or corresponding agency
of any other State that extends comity to
North Carolina, for the collection of wage
claims and judgments. The commissioner
is authorized to assess civil money pen-
alties for violation of recordkeeping re-
quirements under the entire act.

Agriculture.  The Migrant Housing Act
of North Carolina was passed, consolidat-
ing the regulation of migrant housing
within the Department of Labor. A preoc-
cupancy inspection is required, and mi-

grant housing may not be occupied until it
is certified to be in compliance with all
standards. Federal standards were adopted
by reference.

Employee testing. Employers are pro-
hibited from requiring or using an AIDS test
to determine suitability for continued em-
ployment or from discriminating against an
employee having AIDS or HIV infection in
determining such suitability. However,
employers may require an AIDS test for job
applicants in a preemployment physical;
may deny employment to an applicant with
a confirmed positive AIDS test; may include
an AIDS test in an annual medical exam
routinely required of all employees; and
may take appropriate employment action,
including reassignment and termination,
against an employee who has AIDS virus or
HIV infection and who would pose a signif-
icant health risk to others or is unable to
perform normal job duties.

Private employment agencies. The law
regulating private personnel services was
amended to exempt employer-fee-paid con-
sulting services or temporary help services
that offer temporary to permanent place-
ment if the service operates on a 100-
percent employer-fee-paid basis, requires
no applicant placement contract, and may
not charge job applicants a fee under any
circumstances. Such services must submit
an annual certification that they meet these
requirements for exemption. The required
surety bond for private personnel services
was increased from $5,000 to $10,000.

Employment and training. An amend-
ment to the North Carolina Employment
and Training Act of 1985 charges the State
with removing barriers to employment and
designing programs responsive to the spe-
cial needs of offenders, the handicapped,
recipients of public assistance, school drop-
outs, single parents, women 35 years of age or
older, and other appropriate groups.

Whistleblower.  State employees, pub-
lic school employees, and community col-
lege employees are not to be discharged,
threatened, or otherwise discriminated
against regarding compensation, terms,
conditions, location, or privileges of em-
ployment because they refuse to carry out a
directive that is illegal or that poses a sub-
stantial and specific danger to the public
health and safety or because they report, or
are about to report, any violation of State or
Federal law, rule, or regulation, fraud, mis-
appropriation of State resources, or sub-
stantial and specific danger to the public
health and safety, unless they know or have
reason to believe that the report is
inaccurate.

North Dakota

Wages. A new consolidated minimum-

wage order effective August 14, 1989, es-
tablished a $3.40-per-hour minimum wage
for all nonexempt employment, except
public housekeeping, where a rate of $3.25
per hour plus tips is required. A training
wage of $2.72 ($2.60 in public housekeep-
ing) is permitted for a maximum of 240
hours or 60 days, whichever comes first.
Previously, the hourly minimums were
$3.10 for professional, technical and cleri-
cal, and mercantile occupations; $2.95 for
manufacturing occupations; and $2.80 for
public housekeeping occupations.

Employees who provide companionship
to elderly or disabled individuals who are
unable to care for themselves are exempt
from any minimum wage and hour stand-
ards to the extent that services are provided
from 10 p.m. to 9am., up to a total of &
hours. During this time, the employee 1s
available to care for the aged or disabled
person, but is also free to sleep and other-
wise engage in normal private pursuits in
the patient’s home. These employees are
not entitled to premium overtime pay. Rel-
atives of elderly or disabled persons who
provide family home care are also exempt
from any standards prescribed under the
law.

The wage collection law was amended to
change the amount of interest due on un-
paid wages from 6 percent per annum to a
rate determined by the State banking
commissioner.

A pay equity implementation fund was
established to be used by the Office of
Management and Budget for the purpose of
establishing equitable nondiscriminatory
compensation relationships among all posi-
tions and classes within the State’s classifi-
cation plan.

Parental leave. State employees are
now entitled to 4 months of unpaid family
leave for the birth or adoption of a child or
to care for a seriously ill child, spouse. or
parent. They also are entitled to reinstate-
ment in their former or an equivalent posi-
tion. During such a period of leave.
employees may continue their group health
insurance or health care plan at their own
expense.

Equal employment opportunity. Em-
ployers are now required to make reason-
able accommodations for an otherwise
qualified person with a physical or mental
disability and for a person’s religion. Fail-
ure to do so will be deemed a discriming-
tory practice.

Occupational safety and health. Ex-
cept under certain circumstances. no rule
adopted by the State Department of Health
and Consolidated Laboratories for the pur-
pose of administering certain specified
Federal acts, including the Emergency
Planning and Community Right-to-Know
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Act of 1986, may be more stringent than
corresponding Federal regulations which
address the same circumstances.

Included among requirements of a new
law regulating amusement ride operation
are inspection and insurance, a minimum
age of 16 to operate such rides, and attend-
ance of an operator at all times that a ride is
in operation.

Ohio

Employee testing. Employers of per-
sons with AIDS are now immune from
liability for damages arising out of the
transmission of the HIV virus to another per-
son, except as a result of the employer’s
reckless conduct. Employers are also ex-
empt from claims for damages arising from
a stress-related illness or injury resulting
from an employee’s being required to work
with a person who has tested positive for
the HIV virus or who has AIDS or a related
condition.

Private employment agencies. All
contracts between personnel placement
services and applicants for employment
must now provide that if an applicant does
not report for work, there will be no fee
charged by the placement service. Job-
listing subscription services must now reg-
ister with the Department of Commerce and
post a $10,000 bond. Such services are
subject to regulation by the department, are
prohibited from engaging in certain prac-
tices, and are limited to charging only an
annual subscription fee. The director of
commerce may now issue cease-and-desist
orders to, and impose civil penalties on,
unlicensed personnel placement services
and unregistered job-listing subscription
services.

Occupational safety and health. A law
enacted in December 1988 provides for the
creation of an Emergency Response Com-
mission to adopt rules in accordance with
the Federal Emergency Planning and Com-
munity Right-to-Know Act of 1986 cover-
ing such items as identification and listing
of hazardous substances or chemicals and
establishing procedures for giving notice of
releases, as well as procedures for review-
ing the chemical emergency response and
preparedness plans of local emergency
planning committees.

Oklahoma

Parental leave. The administrator of
the Office of Personnel Management is to
promulgate rules entitling permanent State
employees with over 6 months of continu-
ous service to family leave. According to
these rules, employees may obtain family
leave for childbirth, adoption, or the care of
a terminally or critically ill child or depend-
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ent adult; must be reinstated in the original
Jjob upon returning from family leave; and
are eligible to continue group health and
life insurance at their own expense during
such leave. Employees must provide the
employer with reasonable notice of leave,
if possible.

Other laws. A pilot program to estab-
lish child care centers for children of State
employees is to be implemented by the Of-
fice of Personnel Management.

Oregon

Wages. The State minimum-wage rate
was increased from $3.35 per hour to $3.85
on September 1, 1989, and to $4.25 on
January 1, 1990, with a further increase to
$4.75 scheduled for January 1, 1991.
Among other amendments, coverage of the
law was extended to persons regulated
under the Federal Fair Labor Standards
Act, most agricultural workers, industrial
homeworkers, and private household em-
ployees working on a noncasual basis. An
exemption was added for individuals per-
forming child care services in their or the
children’s homes, and, by rule, the State
exempted from its overtime pay require-
ment the overtime pay exemptions under
Federal law. Existing meal and rest period
requirements will be extended to the newly
covered workers.

Provisions prescribing maximum work
hours and overtime pay in certain indus-
tries, including mills, factories, and manu-
facturing establishments, were amended to
add civil money penalties for violation, as-
sessable by the labor commissioner. Ex-
empt are employees covered by collective
bargaining agreements that cover these
subjects.

If, upon complaint by an employee, and
after investigation, it appears to the com-
missioner of the Bureau of Labor and In-
dustries that an employer is failing to pay
wages within 5 days of a scheduled payday,
the commissioner may require the em-
ployer to give a bond or its equivalent suffi-
cient to assure timely payment of wages
due for such time as the commissioner con-
siders appropriate. A circuit court may en-
join an employer from doing business in the
State until the requirement is met.

The Wage Security Fund, established for
a 3-year period beginning July 1, 1986,
was extended to July 1, 1993. The fund,
financed by employer payments of a per-
cent of wages, is used to pay valid wage
claims up to $2,000 each to an employee
whose employer has ceased doing business
and does not have sufficient assets to pay
the claim.

The prevailing wage law was amended to
specify that public works do not include the
reconstruction or renovation of privately

owned property that is leased by a public
agency.

An addition to the prevailing wage law
requires contractors or subcontractors
working on covered public work projects
who provide for or contribute to employee
health and welfare plans or pension plans to
post, in a conspicuous and accessible place
in or about the project, notice describing
such plans and containing information on
how and where to make claims and where
to obtain further information.

The legislative assembly is to provide
continuing oversight to ensure that com-
pensation and classification in the State
service meet the requirements of the policy
on comparability of value of work, com-
pensation and classification, and other
applicable provisions of State law. The as-
sembly will recommend appropriate ac-
tions to remedy any inequities in the plan.

Agriculture. Farm labor contractors
must now pass a qualifying examination
prior to licensing. The surety bond or cash
deposit which must be posted to assure pay-
ment of wages and other obligations of con-
tractors was increased from $5,000 to
$10,000. At the time of hiring, and before
beginning work, the contractor must exe-
cute a written contract with each worker
containing specified information, including
terms and conditions of employment and
housing to be provided. Contractors must
comply with field sanitation and housing,
health, safety, and habitability require-
ments. The commissioner of the Bureau of
Labor and Industries may now assess a civil
penalty of up to $2,000 against persons
using unlicensed contractors.

All farmworker camp operators must
register with the Bureau of Labor and In-
dustries, and each proposed camp is subject
to preoccupancy inspection. Farm labor
contractors operating a farmworker camp
must obtain an endorsement from the bu-
reau commissioner and post a $15,000
bond. Camp operators must comply with
applicable building, safety, and health
laws. Operators are prohibited from requir-
ing camp occupants to give up any part of
their compensation and from preventing
any person who wishes to leave the camp
from doing so. Retaliation against persons
filing a claim or participating in a proceed-
ing under the act is prohibited. Representa-
tives of religious organizations and other
providers of services for farmworkers must
be provided access to farmworker housing,
and such housing must now have a reason-
ably accessible operating telephone.

Equal employment opportunity. Where
such requests can be reasonably accommo-
dated, it is now an unlawful practice for an
employer of 25 or more to refuse to allow
a female employee affected by pregnancy,




childbirth, or a related medical condition to
transfer temporarily to less strenuous or
hazardous work, or to take a reasonable
paid or unpaid leave of absence, and to
return to the former or an equivalent job
without loss of seniority, vacation, sick
leave, or service credits. Employees are en-
titled to use any accrued vacation, sick, or
other compensatory leave during the leave
of absence. These provisions are enforced
by the Bureau of Labor and Industries. Un-
paid parental leave had previously been
mandated for the birth or adoption of a
child.

Worker privacy. It was made an un-
lawful employment practice for an
employer to subject an employee or pro-
spective employee to a genetic screening or
brain-wave test, or to require, as a condi-
tion of employment, that an employee or
prospective employee refrain from using
lawful tobacco products during nonwork-
ing hours, except when the restriction
relates to a bona fide occupational require-
ment or where an applicable collective bar-
gaining agreement prohibits off-duty use of
tobacco products.

Plant closings. The Job Training Part-
nership Act section in the Business
Resources Division of the Economic De-
velopment Department was designated as
the State agency to be notified when em-
ployer notice of a plant closing or mass
layoff is required under the Federal Worker
Adjustment and Retraining Notification
Act. The Economic Development Depart-
ment is to prepare, for the Governor and
legislature, an annual report concerning
plant closings and mass layoffs in the State.

Employment and training. A Work
Force Development Fund administered by
the Economic Development Department
was created to support programs that de-
velop skills for employment in “family
wage jobs” or that provide access to train-
ing for women, minorities, and the eco-
nomically disadvantaged.

Any firm benefiting from State lottery-
funded programs is to undertake a good-
faith effort to hire and retain low-income
individuals who have received job training
assistance from publicly funded providers.

Whistleblower. Public employers may
not prohibit employees from discussing the
activities of a public agency with members
of the legislature or their staff, or from dis-
closing information reasonably believed to
be evidence of violations of law or misman-
agement, gross waste of funds, danger to
public health and safety, or abuse of au-
thority. Besides initiating an administrative
appeal, employees alleging a violation of
these provisions may bring civil action for
injunctive relief and damages.

Other laws. Public- and private-sector

employers must grant an unpaid leave of
absence to employees who are members of
the organized State militia and are called
into active service. Such employees are en-
titled to reinstatement in the same or an
equivalent position without loss of senior-
ity or other credits, benefits, or rights
earned at the time of the leave of absence.
Enforcement is vested in the Bureau of
Labor and Industries, and any violation is
an unlawful employment practice.

Pennsylvania

Wages. The hourly State minimum-
wage rate was increased from $3.35 to
$3.70 effective February 1, 1989, as the
result of a late-1988 enactment. Coverage
was extended to FLsA-covered employees
and to students employed by nonprofit
educational institutions in which they are
enrolled. The tip credit allowance against
the minimum wage was increased from 40
to 45 percent. If the Federal rate is in-
creased above $3.35, the State rate will
match the Federal rate, and the State mini-
mum-rate provisions will be suspended to
the extent that they differ from the Federal
provisions.

The minimum-wage rate for migrant
workers increased to $3.70 per hour as the
result of a provision in a Seasonal Farm
Laborer law adopting the State rate by ref-
erence. (The minimum wage act excludes
agricultural employment.)

Occupational safety and health. As
part of a Clean Indoor Air act passed in late
1988, employers are to develop, post, and
implement policies to regulate smoking in
the workplace.

Plant closings. The Employee-Owner-
ship Assistance Program Act was amended
to authorize the granting of assistance to
new firms seeking to structure a business as
an employee-owned enterprise. For a firm
not interested in converting to employee
ownership, assistance is available to pre-
pare a prefeasibility study to determine
whether an employee ownership structure
can succeed, in anticipation of the creation
of a new firm.

Puerto Rico

Wages. A mandatory decree revision,
issued by the Commonwealth Minimum
Wage Board, increased minimum rates in
the restaurant, bar, and soda fountain in-
dustry to $3.45 an hour effective April 26,
1989, with a further increase to $3.70
scheduled for April 26, 1990. Both rates
are without a tip credit. Previously, the
minimums were $2.95 or $2.25 for waiters
and tipped countermen and bartenders and
$3.35 or $2.75 for others, the higher of the

rates applicable to enterprises with annual
gross income of $362,500 or more.

Rhode Island

Wages. The State minimum-wage rate
was increased from $4.00 to $4.25 per
hour, effective August 1, 1989.

Overtime pay provisions of the mini-
mum-wage law will not apply to any sales-
person, partsman, or mechanic engaged
primarily in the sale or servicing of auto-
mobiles, trucks, or farm implements who
receives pay in excess of an amount equal
to the contracted hourly rate plus overtime
for hours worked in excess of 40 a week,
and who is employed by a nonmanufactur-
ing employer engaged primarily in the re-
tail sale of such vehicles, to the extent the
employer is exempt under the Federal
Wage-Hour Act.

Employer records of employee hours
worked and wages paid each pay period
must now be kept on file for 3 years, rather
than 1 year.

Child labor. A minor between the ages
of 16 and 18 may now be employed during
school vacations for an unlimited number
of hours in a given week or calendar day,
provided that the provisions of all other
applicable Federal and State laws and regu-
lations are complied with. Such minors
could previously work no more than 48
hours a week or 9 hours a day.

The misdemeanor penalty section of the
child labor law, providing for a fine of up
to $500 for violation, was amended to pro-
vide that if a child employed in violation of
the law is injured or killed in the course of
such employment, the fine may be in-
creased to an amount up to $5,000.

Equal employment opportunity. It will
not be unlawful for employers covered by
the Fair Employment Practices act to fail or
refuse to hire, or to discharge because of
age, a firefighter or law enforcement offi
cer who has attained the age of hiring or
retirement in effect under any State statute
city or town ordinance, collective bargain
ing agreement, or pension plan in effect on
March 3, 1983.

Employee testing.  The law prohibiting
employee drug testing, except if an em
ployer has reasonable grounds to believe
that an employee’s use of controlled sub
stances is impairing job performance, was
amended to permit testing in the public util
ity mass transportation industry if such test-
ing is required by Federal law or regulation
as a condition of receiving Federal funds

Labor relations.  The law providing for
municipal employee collective bargaining
was amended to exclude confidential. a-
well as casual and seasonal. employees an:
to cover part-time employees. except thos -
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working for certain authorities.

A law was enacted granting full-time su-
pervisors, assistant supervisors, and tele-
communicators of the 911 statewide
uniform emergency telephone system the
right to select an exclusive representative
and to bargain collectively with the State
over wages, rates of pay, hours, working
conditions, and all other terms and condi-
tions of employment. Any work stoppage,
slowdown, or strike is prohibited, with un-
resolved negotiation disputes to be submit-
ted to binding arbitration.

The Fire Fighters® Arbitration law was
amended to provide that if a majority of the
firefighters in any city or town select a suc-
cessor or a new labor organization as the
exclusive bargaining agent for all members
of the city or town fire department, the
existing bargaining agreement will be bind-
ing on both the successor or new bargaining
agent and the corporate authority.

Employment and training. The De-
partment of Employment Security was
abolished, and the Department of Employ-
ment and Training was created to be the
principal executive department responsible
for administering employment and training
programs in the State. The new department
also will continue the functions of the abol-
ished department. The department will
work with the Workforce 2000 Council,
which is responsible for establishing
statewide policies, goals, and guidelines
for the coordination of all employment and
training programs and related services and
employment-related educational programs.

Other laws. Except where employers
have adopted a policy prohibiting the hold-
ing of elected office as a condition of em-
ployment, or where the holding of public
office would be a violation of law, employ-
ers of part-time elected officials will be re-
quired to provide such employees with
flexible work schedules to accommodate
attendance at necessary sessions, wherever
practical within the reasonable operation of
the employer’s business. Employers are
also prohibited from exerting undue influ-
ence or pressure related to the officials’
decisions and any legislation they may con-
sider or introduce.

South Carolina

Child labor. An employer who vio-
lates any child labor law regulation is now
to receive a written warning for the first
offense and a fine of from 10 to 50 dollars
for each subsequent offense, as determined
by the commissioner of labor. The criminal
penalty provision for such violations was
eliminated.

Private employment agencies. Cover-
age of the licensing and regulatory law for
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private personnel placement services was
expanded to include the provision of infor-
mation on employment opportunities, and
specifically to include job listing services
and employment information centers. No
license will be issued to any applicant,
owner, or manager who has been
previously denied a license in the United
States or its possessions or territories.

South Dakota

Labor relations. Statutory prohibi-
tions against mass picketing, picketing by
nonemployees, and picketing when no
labor dispute exists were repealed. Instead,
a provision was added that permits a court,
after notice and hearing, to place reason-
able restrictions on the number and location
of pickets or other persons at any location,
and to establish penalties for repeated vio-
lations involving unlawful use of force, vi-
olence, or intimidation.

Other laws. Employers must grant a
temporary leave of absence, without loss of
job status or seniority, to any employee
performing official duty as a member of the
State legislature. Payment for the leave is at
the discretion of the employer.

Tennessee

Child labor. A resolution was adopted
directing the State Board of Education and
the State Department of Education to study
the effect of job-holding and working long
hours on the education of students. Sug-
gested legislation or regulatory changes
were to be submitted to the Education
Oversight Committee for review by De-
cember 1, 1989.

Equal employment opportunity. A spe-
cial joint legislative committee was estab-
lished to conduct a review of the State’s fair
employment practice laws.

Labor relations. Any member or au-
thorized agent of an employee association
meeting requirements permitting payroll
deduction for membership fees is to have
access to State employees during, before,
and after regular working hours in specified
areas in all State offices, facilities, and
grounds, provided there is no workplace
interruption. Members or agents may dis-
tribute literature in nonwork areas and post
literature on bulletin boards.

Private employment agencies. A reso-
lution called for appointment of a leg-
islative committee to study employment
agencies for temporary services and con-
tract employers, including the benefits,
other than salary, which they offer to their
employees, and the impact of the tempo-
rary work force on the overall economy of
the State. A report is to be made to the 1990
general assembly.

Occupational safety and health. Laws
pertaining to elevator, dumbwaiter, escala-
tor, and aerial tramway safety and to boiler
inspection, erection, and repair will now be
administered by the Department of Labor,
rather than the Department of Commerce
and Insurance.

Plant closing. A 1988 law requiring
employers who notify affected employees
of plant closings and major layoffs to notify
specified State officials was amended to
limit application to employers of from 50 to
99 employees, instead of 50 or more. (A
subsequent Federal law requires employers
of 100 or more to provide 60 days’ advance
notice of plant closings and layoffs.) Notice
of the circumstances of the closure or layoff
and numbers of employees involved are
now to be given to the commissioner of the
Department of Labor, rather than the exec-
utive director of the Economic Cabinet
Council. Upon receipt of advance written
notification of a plant closing or mass lay-
off pursuant to the Federal Worker Adjust-
ment and Retraining Notification Act, the
commissioner will advise other specified
State agencies.

Texas

Wages. A new private-sector payday
law spells out employer wage payment du-
ties; prohibits wage deductions unless court
ordered, authorized by State or Federal
law, or authorized in writing by the em-
ployee; establishes wage claim filing, hear-
ing, and collection procedures; establishes
an administrative penalty of up to $1,000
for violation; and provides that a final ad-
ministrative order against an employer
owing penalties or wages becomes a lien on
all the employer’s property.

Equal employment opportunity. Cover-
age of the Human Rights Act’s prohibition
against age discrimination was extended to
persons over the age of 40, instead of only
those between 40 and 70. The ban on dis-
crimination based on disability specifically
excludes persons with a currently commu-
nicable disecase or infection, including
AIDs, that constitutes a direct threat to the
health or safety of other persons or that
makes the affected person unable to per-
form job duties. Discrimination because of
disability or age between 40 and 56 years is
now banned in apprenticeship, on-the-job,
or other training programs.

Mandatory retirement based upon age
may no longer be imposed upon tenured
faculty of institutions of higher education.

Sexual harassment by public employees
is now prohibited under the State’s penal
code.

Labor relations. The Public Utility
Commission may not interfere with em-




ployee wages and benefits, working condi-
tions, or other terms or conditions of
employment that are the product of a col-
lective bargaining agreement recognized
under Federal law.

Private employment agencies. Under a
new law, talent agencies engaged in obtain-
ing employment for actors, musicians,
writers, models, and other artists must ob-
tain a certificate of registration from the
Department of Licensing and Regulation.
Agencies must post a $10,000 surety bond,
provide a copy of a completed contract to
any artist using its services, and maintain
specified records, and are prohibited from
charging registration or advance fees. The
department is authorized to deny, suspend,
revoke, or reinstate certificates of registra-
tion, and to institute action for injunctive
relief to restrain continuing violations.

Occupational safety and health. Con-
tracts for public works construction involv-
ing trench excavation exceeding a depth of
5 feet must contain a reference to the Occu-
pational Safety and Health Administra-
tion’s standards for trench safety, a copy of
any special shoring requirements, and other
specified information related to trench
safety.

Other laws. As part of a reorganiza-
tion and functional realignment effective
September 1, 1989, the Department of
Labor and Standards became the Depart-
ment of Licensing and Regulation. It will
be governed by a Governor-appointed six-
member public commission that will ap-
point an executive director who will serve
as commissioner. The former department
had encompassed both labor program func-
tions and certain business regulatory and
business/occupational licensing functions.
The latter will remain with the new depart-
ment, whereas the labor functions relating
to child labor, minimum wage, and the
payday law were transferred to the Texas
Employment Commission.

Employers are now prohibited from
discharging, disciplining, or otherwise
penalizing an employee who complies with
a valid subpoena to appear in a civil, crim-
inal, legislative, or administrative pro-
ceeding. Employees injured because of
violations of the prohibition may recover
damages of up to 6 months’ pay and
attorney’s fees. If discharged, they are
entitled to reinstatement to the same
employment.

Utah

Wages. It was made unlawful for an
employer to withhold or divert part of an
employee’s wages, unless required to do so
by court order or law, or authorized by the
employee in writing. Nor may the em-

ployee be required to rebate, refund, or re-
turn any wages. Employers were prohibited
from discharging or threatening to dis-
charge an employee who has or is about to
file a complaint or testify in any proceeding
under the law. The Industrial Commission
may now assess employers who fail to
make required wage payments a penalty of
5 percent of the unpaid wages assessed
daily until paid, for up to 20 days.

Equal employment opportunity. Dis-
crimination in employment on the basis of
pregnancy, childbirth, or pregnancy-
related conditions is now prohibited under
the Utah Anti-Discrimination Act.

Occupational safety and health. The
Occupational Safety and Health Review
Commission was abolished and its func-

tions assumed by the Industrial
Commission.
Whistleblower. The law protecting

public employees from adverse personnel
action if they report waste of public funds,
property, or manpower, or a violation of
law, or participate in an investigation,
hearing, court proceeding, or other inquiry
was amended to protect employees who
refuse to carry out a directive that they
believe violates a law, rule, or regulation.
Public employers are also now prohibited
from implementing rules or policies that
unreasonably restrict an employee’s ability
to document waste of public funds,
property, or manpower, Or a violation of
law.

Other laws. A new Employee Inven-
tions Act makes unenforceable any em-
ployment agreement between an employee
and employer that requires the employee to
assign to the employer the right to any in-
vention created by the employee entirely on
his or her own time and which is not an
employment invention related to the indus-
try or trade of the employer or developed
with the aid of the employer’s property,
equipment, facilities, trade secrets, tech-
nology, or other resources.

A Governor-appointed Privatization Pol-
icy Board was created to review whether
certain services performed by existing State
agencies could be performed privately at
less cost. The Board will review particular
requests for privatization of services and
recommend privatization when demonstra-
bly more efficient and cost effective.

Vermont

Wages. Under prior law, the State
minimum hourly wage rose from $3.65 to
$3.75 on July 2, 1989, with further in-
creases to $3.85 and $3.95 scheduled for
July 2, 1990, and July 2, 1991.

Maternity leave. Employers of 10 or
more must grant female employees up to 12

weeks of unpaid leave during pregnancy
and following childbirth. Employees may
use up to 6 weeks of accrued sick or vaca-
tion leave during this period. Employment
benefits must continue, but the employee
may be asked to pay for the cost. Upon
return from such leave, employees are enti-
tled to reinstatement in the same or a com-
parable job, with the same pay, benefits,
seniority, and other conditions of employ-
ment. An employee who does not return,
except by reason of serious illness, must
repay the value of compensation received,
other than for accrued leave used.

Employment and training. Employers
participating in an employment training
program under contract with the Secretary
of Development and Community Affairs
are now to promise to employ persons,
upon completion of their training, at twice
the prevailing State or Federal minimum
wage, whichever is greater, reduced by the
value of any health benefit packages. In
areas of high unemployment, the pay rate
must be at least one and one-half times the
minimum wage.

Other laws. Insurers, nonprofit hospi-
tal and medical service corporations, and
health maintenance organizations are to of-
fer the same group health insurance bene-
fits to part-time employees working at least
17} hours a week as to other employees.
The insurer must offer to include the part-
time employees as part of the employer’s
employee group, at the full rate to be paid
by the employer, at a rate prorated between
the employer and the employee, or at the
employee’s expense.

Virginia

Wages. Any employer who knowingly
fails to pay wages whenever required by
law will now be subject to a civil penalty,
assessed by the labor commissioner, of up
to $1,000 for each violation, in addition to
criminal penalties previously provided. An
employer in violation will also be liable for
payment of all wages due, plus interest ac-
cruing from the date the wages were due.

Child labor. Licensed State lottery
agents may now employ persons age 16 or
older to sell tickets at the agent’s place of
business, so long as the employee is super-
vised by the manager or supervisor in
charge at the location where the tickets are
being sold.

School attendance. The compulsory
school attendance law was amended to re-
quire attendance to age 18 (rather than 17)
effective July 1, 1990. Required attendance
will not apply to any child who has
obtained a high school diploma or its equiv-
alent, or has otherwise complied with com-
pulsory school attendance requirements.
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Equal employment opportunity. Con-
stitutional officers are prohibited from dis-
criminating in employment because of
race, color, religion, sex, or national
origin, except where sex or national origin
is a bona fide occupational qualification.
Prior to hiring, the position must be adver-
tised. The law is to be administered by the
Council on Human Rights.

Employee testing. The Secretary of
Administration was requested to examine
and revise the employment policy of the
Commonweaith related to infection with
HIV and AIDS, in order to correct inequities
and avoid creating false public perceptions
concerning transmission of infection. (Cur-
rent policy permits workers to seek trans-
fers to avoid contact with persons infected
with HIV.)

Worker privacy. A licensed polygraph
operator may not, during a polygraph ex-
amination required as a condition of em-
ployment, ask any question concerning the
sexual activities of the person being exam-
ined if the question violates State or Federal
law.

Occupational safety and health. A
new provision specifies that private em-
ployers have the sole authority for designat-
ing smoking and/or nonsmoking areas
within the place of business, unless such
designation is the subject of a written
agreement between the employer and em-
ployees. Also, all institutions of higher ed-
ucation and all licensed hospitals have sole
authority for designating smoking and/or
nonsmoking areas. The provision will ex-
pire July 1, 1990.

Except for firefighters and police offi-
cers, no employee of or applicant for em-
ployment with the Commonwealth or any
of its political subdivisions is to be re-
quired, as a condition of employment, to
smoke on the job, or to abstain from smok-
ing off the job.

Other laws. The Secretary of Eco-
nomic Development was requested to
conduct a study of the use of part-time,
temporary, and contract workers by busi-
nesses and nonprofit organizations and the
impact of this contingent work force on
equal opportunity and wages and benefits.
A report is to be made to the Governor and
the 1990 legislature.

Virgin Islands

Wages. By prior law, the minimum-
wage rate rose from $3.85 an hour to $4.25
on January 1, 1989, and to $4.65 on Janu-
ary 1, 1990. Beginning January 1, 1991,
and each January 1 thereafter, an indexed
rate will take effect equal to 50 percent of
the average private, nonsupervisory, non-
agricultural hourly wage, as determined by
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the Virgin Islands Wage Board for the pre-
vious November, rounded to the nearest
multiple of 5 cents. The rate for minors
under age 18, full-time high school stu-
dents, and employees of businesses with
gross annual receipts of less than $150,000
increased from $3.50 per hour to $3.90 on
January 1, 1989, and to $4.30 on January
1, 1990. After January 1, 1991, the mini-
mum rate for these workers will be 35 cents
an hour below the basic minimum rate.
Tipped employees in the tourist service and
restaurant industries are subject to a sepa-
rate law.

Washington

Wages. By prior initiative, the mini-
mum hourly wage rate was increased from
$3.85 to $4.25, effective January 1, 1990.
This initiative also required the director of
the Department of Labor and Industries to
establish rates for minors under age 18. An
administrative order issued April 24 and
effective June 1, 1989, provides for a min-
imum wage for 16- and 17-year-olds equal
to the adult wage rate and a rate for minors
under age 16 of 85 percent of the adult rate
($3.27 per hour, increased to $3.61 on Jan-
uary 1, 1990).

Truckdrivers or busdrivers who are sub-
ject to the Federal Motor Carrier Act are
now exempt from the overtime pay require-
ment in the State wage-hour law if their
compensation system includes overtime
pay reasonably equivalent to the State pro-
vision for time and one-half the employee’s
regular rate for work after 40 hours a week.

Hours. In filling all school positions,
school and educational service districts are
to consider applications from two individu-
als wishing to share a job and are to include
a statement to this effect in all announce-
ments of job openings.

Parental leave. Private-sector and
local government employers of 100 or
more, as well as State agencies, must grant
up to 12 weeks of unpaid family leave in a
24-month period to care for a newborn
child, an adopted child under the age of 6,
or a child under the age of 18 with a termi-
nal health condition. Such leave is in addi-
tion to leave for sickness or temporary
disability because of pregnancy or child-
birth. Upon return, employees are entitled
to reinstatement in the same or an equiva-
lent position. Discharge or discrimination
against a person opposing any practices for-
bidden by the law or filing a complaint,
testifying, or assisting in a proceeding is
prohibited. Employers must grant leave to
an adoptive parent, at the time of birth or
initial placement of a child under the age of
6, under the same terms as granted to bio-
logical parents, and under the same terms

for men as for women. An employer may
limit or deny family leave to up to 10 per-
cent of the work force, designating them
key personnel. Administration of the re-
quirements is vested in the Department of
Labor and Industries.

Child labor. A new law was enacted
regulating employment of minors in house-
to-house sales. Under the law, no child
under age 16 may be employed in such
work unless the Department of Labor and
Industies grants a variance. Employers of
16- and 17-year-olds in such work must
(1) obtain a registration certificate, (2) pro-
vide each such employee with an appropri-
ate identification card, (3) ensure adequate
supervision by a person age 21 or over dur-
ing all working hours, and (4) obtain
parental permission if transport to another
State is required. Such minors may not be
employed after 9 p.m. The law also regu-
lates advertising to employ persons under
age 21 in this work. Excluded from the law
are donated services performed for various
nonprofit organizations and services per-
formed by a newspaper vendor or a person
in the employ of his or her parent. The
Department of Labor and Industries is to
adopt rules to implement the act.

The Department of Labor and Industries
is to establish an advisory committee on
agricultural labor to develop recommenda-
tions for rules regarding labor standards for
agricultural employment of minors. Based
on these recommendations, the director of
the department is to adopt rules, by July 1,
1990, addressing the employment of
minors.

Labor relations. The Public Em-
ployees’ Collective Bargaining law was
amended to cover district court employees,
except for personal assistants to district
judges or court commissioners.

Occupational safety and health. New
sections were added to the Worker and
Community Right-to-Know Act regulating
the storage and use of agricultural pesti-
cides. Employers are now to maintain a
workplace pesticide list, by crop, for each
pesticide used, and make newly assigned
employees aware of the list before working
with pesticides. After July 1, 1990, warn-
ing signs are to be posted in fields recently
treated with pesticides.

Other laws. A child care partnership
was established to increase employer
assistance to and involvement in child care
and to foster cooperation between business
and government to improve child care serv-
ices. The partnership is a subcommittee of
the previously established child care coor-
dinating committee, which now includes a
representative of the Department of Labor
and Industries. The partnership will review
and propose statutory and administrative




changes to encourage employer involve-
ment in child care, and study liability in-
surance issues relating to employer-assisted
child care. The office of the child care re-
sources coordinator was established within
the Department of Social and Health Serv-
ices and, among other duties, is to assist in
the creation of local child care resource and
referral agencies and provide technical as-
sistance to employers regarding child care
services.

The Business Assistance Center in the
Department of Commerce and Economic
Development is to prepare and disseminate
information on child care options for
employers, such information also to be in-
cluded as much as possible in routine com-
munications to employers from certain
other State agencies, including the Depart-
ment of Labor and Industries. A fund was
established to guarantee loans for the start
or improvement of child care facilities.
Economic development projects that con-
tain provisions for child care will be given
priority in evaluating applications for a
loan.

West Virginia

Wages. The labor commissioner may
now directly issue a cease-and desist order
requiring a defaulting employer to post a
wage payment bond or cease further opera-
tion in the State. Such orders are issued to
employers engaged in construction work or
the severance, production, or transporta-
tion of minerals in the State for less than 5
years who have not posted the required
wage payment bond. It is now a felony to
threaten any representative of the Depart-
ment of Labor or attempt to prevent any
such representative from performing duties
in connection with the posting of the bond
or the issuance of a cease-and-desist order
in the event of violation.

The prohibition in the Wage Payment
and Collection law against termination of
employees for time lost as volunteer fire-
fighters fighting fires was amended to be
applicable also to time lost due to cleanup
of hazardous or toxic materials and to
emergency medical service personnel for
time lost responding to medical emergen-
cies. Time lost for such activities may be
charged against the employee’s regular
pay.

Parental leave. Under a new Parental
Leave Act, permanent employees of the
State and of county boards of education
who have worked for at least 12 consecu-
tive weeks are entitled to up to 12 weeks of
unpaid family leave during any 12-month
period for the birth or adoption of a child,
or for the serious illness of a child, spouse,
or parent. During such leave, the employer

is to continue group health insurance cover-
age for the employee at the employee’s ex-
pense. Upon return, employees are entitled
to reinstatement in the position they left. A
child is defined as a son or daughter under
age 18, or age 18 or older if incapable of
self-care because of mental or physical dis-
ability. Employers are to post a notice in a
form approved by the Department of Labor
setting forth an employee’s rights under
this article.

Occupational safety and health. The
Community Right-to-Know law was re-
pealed and an Emergency Response and
Community Right-to-Know Act enacted.
The new act enables the State to fulfill its
obligations under the Federal Emergency
Planning and Community Right-to-Know
Act of 1986. The law provides for the
creation of an Emergency Response Com-
mission to supervise the preparation and
implementation of comprehensive emer-
gency response plans for each designated
emergency planning district.

Other laws. Under a reorganization of
the executive branch of State government,
several agencies and boards were trans-
ferred and incorporated into seven newly
established deparments. The Department of
Labor, the Minimum Wage Rate Board, the
Labor Management Relations Board, the
Labor Management Council, the Public
Employees Occupational Safety and Health
Advisory Board, the Board of Coal Mine
Health and Safety, and the Coal Mine
Safety and Technical Review Committee
were among those agencies transferred and
incorporated into a new Department of
Commerce, Labor and Environmental Re-
sources. The Human Rights Commission,
the Office of Workers’ Compensation
Commissioner, the Workers’ Compensa-
tion Appeal Board, and the Department of
Employment Security were transferred and
incorporated into a new Department of
Health and Human Resources.

Wisconsin

Wages. The State basic minimum-
wage rate was increased by administrative
rule from $3.35 to $3.65 per hour effective
July 1, 1989. The rate for minors under age
18 was increased from $3.00 to $3.30, the
rate for tipped employees from $2.01 to
$2.19 (from $1.71 to $1.98 for minors),
and the rate for agricultural workers from
$3.15 to $3.45 (from $2.80 to $3.10 for
minors). A rate of 20 cents less than these
rates (12 cents less for tipped employees)
will be applicable to probationary em-
ployees who have worked for an employer
not more than 120 days within a 3-year
period. The legislative Joint Committee for
Review of Administrative Rules has chal-

lenged the provision for a 120-day proba-
tionary period.

A legislative attempt to increase the min-
imum wage, but without a probationary pe-
riod, was vetoed by the Governor.

Plant closings. The law requiring em-
ployers to provide 60 days’ advance notice
of a business closing or mass layoff to af-
fected employees, collective bargaining
representatives, the Department of Industry
and Human Relations, and the local munic-
ipality, was amended to cover employers of
50 or more instead of 100 or more. The law
applies if 25 or more are affected by a busi-
ness closing, or, in the case of a mass lay-
off, if the greater of 25 percent of the work
force or 25 employees, or at least 500 em-
ployees, are involved. If an employer fails
to give timely notice to an affected em-
ployee, the employee may recover wages
and the value of benefits for a specified
recovery period. Failure to give timely no-
tice to the local municipality will result in a

surcharge of $500 per day.
Wyoming
Wages. A new provision bars any em-

ployer from withholding money from an em-
ployee’s wages for accepting a dishonored
check on behalf of the employer, unless the
employer has provided written instructions as
to procedures for accepting checks and the

were not followed, or the em-
ployer reasonably believes that the employee
has been party to a fraud or other wrongdoing
in taking a dishonored check.

Worker privacy. Employment con-
tracts, working agreements, or other docu-
ments setting forth the terms and conditions
of employment of public officials and
employees are not considered part of a per-
sonnel file and are available for public
inspection.

Preference. The commissioner —of
labor and statistics is to deny or revoke a
resident contractor’s certificate of resi-
dency if it is determined that the contractor
is using the certificate primarily to obtain
public contract bidding preference benefits
for a nonresident.

Other laws. Under a reorganization of
the State government, a new consolidated
Department of Employment was created,
combining several formerly separate agen-
cies and labor programs, including the De-
partment of Labor and Statistics, the Fair
Employment Commission, the Worker’s
Compensation Division, the Occupational
Health and Safety Commission and Admin-
istration, the State Mine Inspector, the Job
Training Administration, and the Employ-
ment Security Commission. A plan for the
organization of the new department is to be
implemented by July 1, 1990. j
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Footnotes

! The legislature did not meet in Kentucky,
and Alabama and the District of Columbia did
not enact significant legislation in the fields cov-
ered by this article. Information on Guam,
Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands was not re-
ceived in time to include in the article.

2 Separate articles on unemployment in-
surance and workers’ compensation, which are
not within the scope of this article, are published
in this issue of the Monthly Labor Review.

3 Alaska, California, Connecticut, the District
of Columbia, Hawaii, lowa, Maine, Minnesota,

Oregon, Puerto Rico (office, supervisory,
and skilled employees in the construction indus-
try), Rhode Island, the Virgin Islands, and
Washington.

4 Prevailing wage repeal efforts failed in [lli-
nois, Maryland, New Mexico, Oklahoma,
Texas, and Wisconsin. Efforts to enact laws
failed in Florida, Iowa, and Kansas.

5 Alaska, Arkansas, California, Connecticut,
Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky,
Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan,

Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Ne-
vada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York,
Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode
Island, Tennessee, Texas, Washington, West
Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Guam and
the Virgin Islands also have such laws.

6 California, Connecticut, Indiana, Louisiana,
North Carolina, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennes-
see, and Texas.

7 Alaska, Arizona, lowa, North Carolina, Or-
egon, and Utah.

‘The fate of a Polish trade unionist’

One easily finds friends when one is successful. But when you are
in trouble, there is suddenly hardly anybody to be seen. But at least
you can know for sure that those who stayed by you are the ones you
can rely on. And this is the kind of friendship you value most even
when you are again surrounded by new allies and sympathizers at-
tracted by your new success.

*kk

Sometimes we feel as if we are swimming chained hand and foot,
trying to summon all our energy just to make it safely to the shore.
And on the shore there is a cheering crowd of people who offer us
their admiration instead of simply throwing a life-belt.

*k

Such is the fate of a Polish trade unionist—he has to launch a pub-
licity campaign for private entrepreneurship. I would not like anyone
to think that I made an about face. Nowadays in Poland the defense of
workers is not based on demanding more money, which in our country
has no real value and for which one cannot buy anything. At present
defending workers means building a normally functioning economy
that would allow increasing production and letting people earn more
money. Such an economy can be only built together with the trade
unions; it cannot be built against them.

* %k

Within the last few months we have achieved more than we could

have hoped for. We have a legally operating free trade union; we are
strongly represented in Parliament and even in the government. All
this has been achieved through our own efforts, but also thanks to an
international solidarity with Poland. Today, when we are threatened by
recession and inflation rather than police repressions, we need this in-
ternational solidarity no less than in the past. Therefore, I am address-
ing my appeal to you, our friends who have proved to be reliable in
the most difficult of times: Help Poland make her way to the shore of
freedom. Help realize this hope that finally has come to our country.
Uphold your solidarity with Solidarity. Let the road of hope—em-
barked upon by millions of Poles on their way to America—be a road
of friendship of two free nations: the Polish and the American.

— LECH WALESA, Polish Solidarity leader,
in an address to the AFL-CIO Convention,
Washington, DC, Nov. 14, 1989.
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