State labor legislation
enacted in 1990

Important new labor standards legislation
covered a variety of subjects,

including minimum wage, parental leave, child labor,
employee drug testing, and door-to-door sales by children

Richard R. Nelson

the States during 1990, covering a variety of subjects

in the field of employment standards.' Major laws
enacted concerned traditional issues such as minimurn wage
protection, collection of unpaid wages, bans on employment
discrimination, and regulation of child labor, Also receiving
considerable attention were newer issues such as parental
leave and child care, door-to-door sales by children, employee
testing for drug or alcohol abuse, and employment discrimi-
nation against persons with AIDS.

S significant amount of legislative activity occurred in

Wages. Hourly minimum wage rates rose under Federal law,
and in 24 States and 4 jurisdictions as the result of new laws,
wage orders, administrative actions, or as provided for in prior
legislation. Among the more significant developments, a first-
time law was enacted in Missouri and a new law was enacted
in Utah, replacing one applicable only to women and minors.
New measures also provided for increases in Idaho, Indiana,
Kentucky, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, South
Dakota, and Wisconsin, and for employees in certain occupa-
tions in the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. An amend-
ment provides for an increase in Rhode Island (effective April
1, 1991). Prior legislation resulted in increases in the Federal
rates (on April 1, 1990, with an additional increase April 1,
1991), and also in the rates for Alaska, Delaware, Guam, Illinois,
Iowa, Maryland, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, Oklahoma,
Oregon, Pennsylvania, Vermont, and the Virgin Islands.

Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, and South Dakota adopted
sub-minimum training wages for employees under age 20.
Utah adopted a learner rate and Wisconsin adopted an adult
probationary rate.

Richard R. Nelson is a State standards adviser in the Wage and Hour Division
of the Division of State Standards Programs, Employment Standards
Administration, U.8. Department of Labor. David A. Levy, an adviser in the
same division, contributed to the article.

By April 1, 1991, four States and three other jurisdictions?
will exceed the $4.25 Federal rate for some or all employees.
Subsequent scheduled increases will raise the hourly mini-
mum in lowa to $4.65 on January 1, 1992, and in New Jersey
to $5.05 on April 1, 1992,

A 50-percent tip credit against the minimum wage was
enacted as part of the new Missouri law. Tip credit changes
were adopted in Idaho, Indiana, Maryland, Ohio, South Da-
kota, and Utah.

Minimum wage coverage was extended to public sector
employees in Wisconsin; to employers of two or more (pre-
viously, four or more) in Indiana (which also lowered the
minimum age for coverage from 17 to 16); and to college
students employed by their own institutions in Washington.
The Idaho law was amended to require overtime pay after 40
hours a week.

Kentucky authorized the commissioner of the Department
of Workplace Standards Laws to impose civil penalties of
from $100 to $1,000 for violation of various labor standards
laws, including wage payment, minimum wage, prevailing
wage, rest period, child labor, and wage discrimination
because of sex. In Wisconsin, the secretary of the Department
of Industry, Labor and Human Relations was authorized to enter
into reciprocal agreements with agencies in other States for the
collection of wage claims (20 States now have this authority*).

In contrast to recent years when most prevailing wage
activity was to repeal or reduce coverage of the State laws,*
Hawaii and New Jersey extended coverage to additional types of
publicly funded construction projects. Also, first-time rules and
regulations were adopted under the Ohio prevailing wage law.
and revised rules and regulations were adopted in New Mexico.

Family issues. Comprehensive new parental leave laws were
adopted in the District of Columbia and New Jersey. The
District law will require certain public and private sector em-
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ployers to grant employees up to 16 weeks of unpaid leave
during any 24-month period for the birth, adoption, or foster
care of a child, for the care of a family member with a serious
health condition, or for their own sericus health condition; the
New Jersey act entitles public and private sector employees to
up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave in any 24-month period for the
birth or adoption of a child, serious health condition of a
family member, or serious iliness of the spouse or parent of
the employee or of the employee’s spouse, Both States, with
certain exceptions, guarantee returning employees reinstate-
ment to the same or similar job. Rhode Island amended its Jaw
to permit unpaid parental leave due 1o the serious illness of a
parent, spouse, in-law, or the employee’s own serious illness;
and the Minnesota law was amended to permit employees to
use personal sick leave to care for a sick child, and to require
employers to provide up o 16 hours of unpaid leave each year
for an employee to attend school conferences or classroom activ-
ities that cannot be scheduled during nonwork hours. Certain
employers in California are now required to provide time off for
parents to visit school. Parental leave laws passed the legislatures,
but were vetoed in California and Mlinois.

South Carolina State employees may now use up o 6
weeks of accrued sick leave to care for an adopted child, and
in Vermont, the matemity leave act now explicitly covers the
public sector, as well as the private sector.

Colorado, Iowa, Louisiana, and Utah all passed laws de-
signed to encourage employer-sponsored child care.

Child labor. New legislation and regulations continued to
reflect a growing concemn for the academic performance of
mincrs who are employed during the school year. Indiana’s
restrictions on maximum daily and weekly hours and require-
ments for employment certificates now apply to 17 year-olds.
Nightwork limits were adopted for these minors, and a new
provision authorizes revocation of an employment certificate
issued to any student if there is a significant drop in his or her
grades following issuance of the permit. Ohio and Tennessee
now restrict nightwork for 16 and 17 year-olds during school
weeks, and Washington adopted comprehensive employment
standards rules for minors under age 18 employed in agricul-
ture, Florida and Hawaii will study their child labor laws;
restrictions on nightwork preceding school days for minors
older than age 15, and a prohibition on work during school
hours for students suspended from school are among the items
to be considered in the Hawaii study.

Oregon revised its rules covering daily, weekly, and
nightwork hours of 14 and 15 year-olds to conform with those
under Federal law. Among several amendments to Utah'’s
child labor law, the Industrial Commission was authorized to
commence administrative proceedings and impose a penalty
of up to $300 per violation. Wisconsin and Ohio now restrict
the employment of children in door-to-door sales (an activity
with freguent child labor law violations). Mississippi, New
York, and West Virginia lowered the starting age for compul-
sory school attendance.

Agriculture. 'The most notable changes in laws regulating

farm labor contractors or migrant labor camps occurred in
Wisconsin, where prior limited coverage was expanded to
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include almost all employers of migrant workers; in Florida,
where (beginning July 1, 1991) applicants for farm labor con-
tractor certificates of registration must pass an examination
demonstrating knowledge of farm labor contractor duties and
responsibilities; and in California, where all licensed farm
labor contractors must now register with the agricultural com-
mission of the county or counties in which the licensee has
contracted with a grower.

Washington’s State Board of Health is to develop rules for
labor camps which include, at a minimum, standards for sani-
tation and temporary labor camps.

Equal employment opportunity. Laws banning discrimina-
tion based on age, sex, or handicap were the most common
this year. The age 70 upper limit for protection from age
discrimination or mandatory retirement provisions was elimi-
nated for State and local government employees in Arkansas
(in late 1989} and Ohio. Laws prohibiting discrimination on
the basis of physical handicap were amended in Kentucky to
specifically include persons with AIDS or related conditions,
and in Tennessee, to remove the exception for contagious or
transmittable diseases or conditions.

Nebraska barred discrimination on the basis that an indi-
vidual is or is suspected of suffering from HIv virus infection
or AIDS, and Wisconsin prohibited the use of an HIV test as a
condition of public sector employment. In New York, em-
ployment discrimination is prohibited on the basis of a
person’s unique genetic disorder, unless the disorder prevents
performance of a particular job.

Drug and alcohol testing.  The issue of testing employees for
drug or alcohol abuse continued to receive considerable legis-
lative attention. The laws enacted reflected concemn regarding
employee right of privacy and workplace safety. Thirteen States
passed some form of legislation on this subject: Califomia, Geor-
gia, and South Carolina passed acts requiring employers who
receive a grant or contract from any State agency to certify they
will provide a drug-free workplace; Florida must implement an
approved program including notice, education, and testing for
drugs or alcohol. Utah authorized testing State employees when
there is reasonable suspicion of unlawful drug or alcchol use
during work hours, and random testing for employees in highly
sensilive positions; Louisiana’s public employers may test employ-
ees following an accident, test applicants as a condition of hiring,
and randomly test employees in safety- or security-sensitive post-
tions; South Dakota is authorized to test State employees in safety-
sensitive positions; Georgia may test State employees in certain
high-risk positions; Arizona may test transportation employees of
school districts; Hawaii and Louisiana enacted laws regulating
employer drug testing procedures; and the Georgia law which
required applicants for State or public school systems jobs to
submit to drug testing was struck down by a U.S. District Court
which held that an individual’s fourth amendment privacy rights
are not outweighed by a government’s general interest in main-
taining a drug-free workplace. Committees (o study drug abuse
issues, including workplace testing programs, were created in
Mississippi and New Hampshire.

Private employment agencies. Agencies whose fees are paid



entirely by employers are now exempt from the Wisconsin
employment agency regulatory law, except for an annual regis-
tration requirement. New Jersey replaced its existing law with
one that specifically applies to career counseling and resume
services, increases the amount of the required surety bond, and
authorizes the issuance of cease and desist orders upon violation.
The Washington law was expanded 1o include employment list-
ing or referral services and resume services, and unlicensed agen-
cies are subject to court action for return of any fees paid to the
agency and the award of treble damages and attorney’s fees, The
Tennessee law now covers employee leasing services, temporary
help services, and contract labor firms; licensing is no longer
required, but agencies must be registered.

Occupational safety and health. New laws dealing with con-
trol of asbestos and the training and accreditation or certification
of persons engaged in asbestos abatement work were enacted in
Arizona, the District of Columbia, and Maryland. California en-
acied a law providing for certification of asbestos consultants and
site: surveillance technicians working on abaternent projects. New
Hampshire’s new Indoor Smoking Act restricts smoking in pri-
vate and govemment workplaces. In Tennessee, State agencies
were authorized 10 establish a policy on smoking in State build-
ings. Kentucky made it unlawful for an employer to fail to hire,
discharge, or otherwise discriminate against a smoker or non-
smoker, or to require an employee or applicant to abstain from
smoking outside of employment. Rhode Island and South Caro-
lina also prohibit employment discrimination because of the use
of tobacco products outside the workplace. Other noteworthy
laws include a California measure requiring a field sanitation
standard applicable to all agricultural places of employment; a

North Carolina amendment increasing the amount of civil
money penalties the labor commissioner may assess for viola-
tions of the State occupational safety and health act; and a
Minnesota law requiring certain specified employers to estab-
lish and implement a written workplace accident and injury
reduction program.

Other legistation. Indiana and Kentucky authorized State
grants for organizations promoting improved labor-manage-
ment relations. Several Staies passed or amended laws requir-
ing background clearance checks of prospective employees in
occupations involving supervision of children, Tennessee
adopted a “whistleblower” law protecting employees from dis-
charge for reporting law violations, and Wisconsin now prohibits
disciplinary action against an employee based on the use of
wiretaps, electronic surveillance, or one-way mimors. Kansas
repealed its law providing for regulation and licensure of
polygraphists. California and Florida established telecommut-
ing programs designed to permit State employees to perform
job functions at home or elsewhere away from their usual
place of work, through use of computers or telecommunica-
tions. Certain Towa employers with more than 10 percent
non-English speaking employees who speak the same lan-
guage will be required to provide an interpreter at the work
site for each shift, and an employee to serve as a referral agent
to community services, Illinois enacted a law permitting em-
ployers with 25 or fewer employees to purchase group health
insurance policies that provide basic coverage, but with fewer
mandated benefits and therefore at a lower cost.

The following is a summary, by jurisdiction, of labor legis-
lation enacted during 1990.

Alaska

Wages. The State minimum wage law sets
the State rate at 50 cents per hour above the Fed-
eral minimum rate. As a resuit, the State rate rose
from $3.85 to $4.30 on April I, 1990, and wil}
increase to $4.75 on April 1, 1991,

The Alaska School Bus Safety Act passed. It
provides a minimum wage for public school bus
drivers of two times the State's basic minimum
rate, and sets the minimum age for obtaining a
school bus driver license at 2! {previously, 19).
School bus safety instruction for drivers and stu-
dents, specific school bus safety equipment, bus
inspections, and recordkeeping are also mandated.

Line haul truck drivers employed for a trip
that exceeds 100 road miles one way now do not
have to be paid time and one-half after & hours
worked per day or after 40 hours per week if their
compensation includes overtime pay for such
hours and also includes a pay rate comparable to
that required by law.

Labor relations.  For 2 years, the Public Em-
ployment Relations Act will classify public
school employees as class (a){3) employees and
as such, they will have the right to strike without
time limits following a majority vote to do so (the
parties must first submit collective bargaining im-
passes o advisory arbitration). Previously, these
employees were class (a)(2) and were entitled 1o

strike, after mediation, for a limited time as deter-
mined by the interests of the heaith, safety, or
welfare of the public.

Resident preference. In December 1989, the
Alaska Supreme Court affirmed a superior court
ruling holding as unconstitutional, in viclation of
the equal protection clause of the State constitution,
a State law marklating a hiring preference of certain
public works jobs (State v. Enserch Alaska Con-
struction, Inc.). The law established underemploy-
ment and economically distressed zones within the
State and required contractors of public construction
projects in those zones to hire a specified percentage
of their work force from residents of the zone,

Other laws. Employees who are members of
the organized militia will receive leave to perform
active State service ordered by the govemor.
Upen retuming from such service or from hospi-
talization resulting from such service, the em-
ployee is entitled to his or her fonmer position, or
a comparable position, at the pay, seniority, and
benefit level the employee would bave accried
had the absence not occurred. An employee un-
abie to perform his or her former duties because
of permanent disability sustained during service is
to be offered a position he or she is qualified for
and capable of performing. Partics to a collective
bargaining agreement may not negotiate terms
contrary to these provisions.

Arizona

Child labor. The provision of the child labor
law exempting those minors employed by a par-
et from restrictions on hours of work and mini-
mum age for various occupations was amended to
also exempt work for a grandparent, brother, sis-
ter, aunt, uncle, first cousin, or stepparent.

Drug. alcohol testing, Transportation em-
ployees of school districts and their transportation
contractors are now subject to drug and alcohol
testing if the supervisor has probable cause to be-
Yieve that their job performance has been impaired
by the use of alcohol or drugs or that an
employee's accident involving a vehicle used to
transport pupils or involving equipment used in
the performance of duties was influenced by the
use of alcohol or drugs. School districts are o
develop procedures for testing such employees, and
positive test results or refusal to submit 1o testing
may result in termination from employment.

Occupational safety and health. The Indus-
trial Commission's Division of Occupational
Safety and Health is to develop and implement
standards for certification and training of employ-
ees and supervisors who work with asbestos.

Arkansas

Equal employment opportunity. In late

Monthly Labor Review January 1991 43



State Labor Laws, 1990

1989, the law prohibiting age discrimination in
State and local government employment was ex-
tended to cover all persons over age 40, instead of
only those between 40 and 70. Mandatory retire-
ment because of age is permitted only for certain
executive and high-policymaking employees and,
until January 1, 1994, for wenured employees at
institutions of higher education.

California

Wages. Employers who willfully fail to
maintain required payroll data or the names and
addresses of all employees and the ages of all
minors, or fail to allow the Division of Labor
Standards Enforcement or the Industrial Welfare
Commission to inspect such records are now sub-
ject to a civil penalty of $500. Payroll records
must now be kept for at least 2 years (previously,
1 year). The civil penalties for viclations of laws
regulating wages, hours, and working conditions
do not restrict the local police from handling these
matters in 4 more stringent manner,

The penalty to employers for failing to furnish
employees with itemized wage statements, in-
cluding deductions; failing to keep such records;
and failing to permit current and former employ-
ees access 1o their records was increased from
$100 to $250 per employee for a first violation
and $1,000 for each subsequent violation. The
labor commissicner can waive the penalty if a
first violation was due to clerical error or inadver-
tent mistake,

Employers may now mail wages due 10 em-
ployees who quit their jobs without notice, or quit
after giving 72 hours notice, and the date of mail-
ing constitutes the date of payment for purposes
of the requirement to pay within 72 hours.

Family issues. An employer {except the
State) of 25 or more employees at the same loca-
tion may not discharge, discipline, or discriminate
against an employee who is a parent or guardian
of a child in grades kindergarten through 12th for
taking off 4 hours per child each school year (afier
giving reasonable notice) to visit the child's
school. The employee is to use existing vacation,
personal leave, or compensatory time, unless
other time is provided by a collective bargaining
agreement. An aggrieved employee is entitled to
reinstatement and reimbursement for lost wages
and work benefits. Employers are subject to a
civil penalty equal 1o three times lost wages and
benefits if they willfully refuse to rehire, promote,
or otherwise restore employees or former employ-
ees determined by a grievance or other procedure
to be eligible for such action.

Agricidture.  Licensed farm labor contractors
must now register with the agricultural commis-
sioner of the county or counties in which the li-
censee has contracted with a grower. A civil fine
may be levied by the commissioner for cach vio-
lation of the requirements to register, to cairy and
display the proof of registration, and to file noifi-
cation of a permanent change of address.

Garment industry. Local public agencies
which issue business licenses or permits must
now require any garment manufacturing business
applying for such license or permit to fumish
proof of having registered with the State Labor
Commissioner.

Drug, alcohol testing. The Drug-Free
Workplace Act of 1990 applies to employers

awarded a contract or grant by any State agency
for the procurement of property or services. The
employers must notify their employees that un-
lawful manufacture, distribution, dispensation,
possession, or use of a controlled substance is
prohibited in the workplace and subject to speci-
fied penalties, and must establish a drug-free
awareness program for employees. Violations
may result in suspension or termination of the
contracts or grants, and debanment.

The Employee Assistance Consortium Dem-
onstration Project was established under the De-
partment of Alcohol and Drug Programs to
provide a public-private partnership where the
State provides financial and technical resources to
nonprofit consortiums of small businesses with a
goal of achieving and maintaining a drug-free
workplace. The project will provide employees
services such as problem assessment and referral,
management consultation and training, case man-
agement services, program promotion, and educa-
tion. An Employee Assistance Advisory Council,
with the assistance of the Department, will review
and approve applications from consortiums for
program funding.

Private employment agencies. The employ-
ment agency regulatory law was amended to ex-
pressly include in the definition of employment
agency persons who for a fee procure or obtain
babysitting or domestic employment for others.
The definition of job listing service was also re-
vised 10 exempt domestic and babysitting services
owned primarily by accredited colleges or univer-
sities or their alumni associations which meet
other specified criteria.

Qccupational safety and health. By Decem-
ber 1, 1991, the Occupational Safety and Health
Standards Board is to adopt a standard for field
sanitation applicable to all agricultural work sites.
The standards must be at least as effective as the
current Federal standard and the existing State
requirements. A special emphasis program for en-
forcement is to be developed and implemented by
the Division of Occupational Safety and Health
for at least 2 years after adoption of the standard.
Employers failing to provide facilities required by
the standard will be assessed a civil penalty of not
less than $750 for each violation. Until the new
State field sanitation standard is adopted and ap-
proved, the Division is authorized to enforce the
Federal standards,

A new “Corporate Criminal Liability Act of
1989” requires corporations or managers of a busi-
ness entity to give a written notice to the Division of
Occupational Safety and Health in the Department
of Industrial Relations and a writlen waming to
affected employees within 15 days of acquiring
knowledge of a serious concealed danger subject to
the regulatory authority of specified State or Federal
agencies, or immediately in cases of great imminent
risk. Knowingly failing to comply may result in
fines of up to $25,000 {up to one million dollars for
corporations), and/or imprisonment.

A new “Refinery and Chemical Plant Worker
Safety Act of 1990 requires the Occupational
Safety and Health Standards Board to adopt, by
July 1, 1992, process safety management stand-
ards for refineries, chemical plants, and other
manufacturing facilities. Employer obligations in-
clude developing and maintaining written safety in-
formation regarding processes involving acutely
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hazardous and flammable material; performing
hazard analysis of the process; developing and im-
plementing written operating procedures; and training
employees, emphasizing specific safety and health
hazards, procedures, and safe practices.

The Division of Occupational Safety and
Heaith is to establish a safety program for tower
cranes, including annual certification and semian-
nual inspection. Civil penalties are established for
serious violations of any tower crane standard,
order, special order, or for serious injury or death
caused by serious or willful repeated violations or
by failure to correct a serious violation within the
time specified.

Asbestos consultants and site surveillance
technicians working on asbestos abatement projects
must be certified by the Division of Occupational
Safety and Health in the labor department, starting
July 1, 1992. Certification criteria include educa-
fion, training, experience, possession of a Federal
certificate, and successful completion of an exami-
nation. Noncertified persons performing such work
are subject to civil and criminal penalties.

Employers and supervisors whose willful vio-
lation of any occupational safety or health stand-
ard, order, special order, or provision dealing with
the spraying of asbestos results in an employee’s
death may now be prosecuted for both man-
slaughter and willful violations of the Laber
Code.

April 28, 1990, was proclaimed Worker’s Me-
morial Day to pay tribute (o victims of workplace
hazards.

Employment and training.  Proposition 139,
on the November general election ballot, was ap-
proved, penmitting private industry employers in
the State to contract with prison inmates for pro-
duction and construction jobs and to receive a
10-percent tax credit for hiring them. Inmates are
to be paid the prevailing wage, with up to 80
percent of their salary deducted for room, board,
restitution, taxes, and their families.

Other laws. A late 1989 enactment directs
the Department of Commerce to assist other pub-
lic agencies, nonprofit corporations, or founda-
tions in the developmenmt and facilitation of
employee-owned businesses through specified ac-
tivities, including techmical assistance on establish-
ing and managing such businesses; sponsorship and
participation in seminars, workshops, and con-
ferences; and research and education.

A State Employee Telecommuting Program
was established under which State agencies were
authorized to incorporate a telecommuting option
as an element of their transportation management
programs, which are designed to reduce the num-
ber of commute trips by State employees. An ex-
perimental telecommuting and teleworking
program had been previously authorized and im-
plemented,

Colorado

Family issues. As part of an effort to encour-
age employer-sponsored child care, the Depart-
ment of Social Services will assist employers
secking licensure for onsite child care centers.
The Department is to prescribe separate licensing
standards for such centers, restricting the stand-
ards to safety and general adequacy of the prem-
ises and procedures for establishing a parental
advisory board. Also, enterprise zone tax credits



are now available for contributions 10 promote
child care in enterprise zones.

Equal employment opportunity. It is now a
discriminatory or unfair employment practice for
a State agency to terminate an employee for en-
gaging in a lawful activity away from the works-
ite during nonworking hours, unless such
restriction relates to a bona fide occupational re-
quirement or is necessary to avoid either the ap-

Occupational safety and health. The De-
partment of Public Safety was designated to carry
out the State’s functions as stated in the Federal
Emergency Planning and Comununity Right-io-
Know Act under the Superfund Amendments and
Reauthorization Act of 1986. An Emergency Plan-
ning Commission was created fo assess available
resources, identify methods to utilize such resources
to react to emergency response situations, to investi-
gate and evaluate local jurisdictions’ capabilities, to
recommend administrative and lepislative changes,
and 10 assist in emergency response training.

Ecanomic development. An Office of Busi-
ness Development was created within the office
of the govemnor to encourage the expansion and
retention of State businesses through such activi-
ties as business recruitment, retention, and expan-
sion assistance and job training. An Economic
Development Advisory Board was also created (o
advise the governor and general assembly on eco-
nomic development policies, goals, and priorities,

Connecticut

Wages. Motor vehicle or farm implement
mechanics employed by nonmanufacturing firms
and exempt from overtime pay under the Federal
Fair Labor Standards Act are also exempt from
overtime pay under State law if their eamings
meet specified tests.

The labor commissioner's authority to insti-
tute action to collect unpaid fringe benefits for
employees upon termination of employment was
made more explicit.

Hours. The law requiring employers to
allow employees a meal period of at least 30 min-
utes within a work period of 7¥2 or more consecu-
tive hours, was amended to specifically permit
employers and employees to enter into written
agreements providing for a different schedule of
meal periods, and to exclude those employers
wha provide 30 or more total minutes of paid rest
or meal periods within each 7V2 hours worked.

Equal employment opportunity. The provis-
ions in the human rights, municipal employees,
and insurance laws prohibiting the reduction of
group hospital, surgical, or medical insurance cov-
erage for persons reaching the age of 65 and quali-
fying for medicare benefits were conformed to the
Federal Age Discrimination in Employment Act.

Labor relations.  Private nonprofit corpora-
tions having valid fire protection contracts with
any town, city, borough, or district will now be
considered municipal employers for purpeses of
coverage under the municipal collective bargain-
ing law.

Occupational safety and health. New safety
precautions are required for railroad employees
working in maintenance of way crews or in the
area of double or multiple train tracks. Precau-
tions include assigning a flag person to warn of
approaching trains, notifying train engineers, in

writing, of the location of work crews, and speed
limit restrictions on trains operating on such
tracks. No work is to be conducted and all work-
ers shall stand clear while a train is approaching
and passing through a work area.

Delaware

Wages.  As the result of a provision automat-
inally trenancinea tha Qiata mimistilen waoe sats (o
iCany INCERCAsITIE e Siaw MMnNun Wage 1ail o
match any Federal increase, the State hourly rate
rose from $3.35 to $3.80 on April 1, 1990, and
will increase again to $4.25 on April 1, 1991,
Employers may pay less than the minimum, but
not less than $3.35 per hour, to learners or appren-
tices age 18 or younger who have been with the
employer for 90 days or less. Although the allow-
able tip credit percentage is to be the same as that
set under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act, a
requirement that the cash wage be not less than
$2.23 per hour resuits in a cash wage for tipped
employees higher than under the Federal law.

Child fabor. Sections of the child labor law
providing for the issuance of provisional employ-
ment certificates for nonhazardous work outside
of school hours now applies to ail children 14 years
or older. Previously, the certificates applied to boys
12 years or older and girls 14 vears or older.

Background clearance. Persons seeking em-
ployment or who volunieer to provide direct child
care service or have regular direct access to chil-
dren and/or adolescents at residential child care
facilities under contract to or operated by the De-
partment of Services for Children, Youth and
Their Families must submit their fingerprints and
other necessary information. The Department is to
set the criteria for unsuitability for employment in
child care services, including a prohibition against
employment of any individuals convicted of a
sexually related offense or offenses against chil-
dren or adolescents.

Labor relations. The law granting public
employees, with certain exceptions, the right to
organize and bargain collectively, now mandates
coverage without election for local jurisdictions
employing 100 or more full-time employees. Pre-
viously, the law applied 1o the State, counties, and
municipalities which, by affirmative legislative
act, elected coverage.

The Public School Employment Relations
Act, will now cover any public school employee,
except administrators and confidential employees.
(Previously, only certified professional employ-
ces of public schools, except administrators, were
covered.) The Public Employment Relations
Board is 1o establish separate bargaining units for
supervisory and nonsupervisory employees.

District of Columbia

Wages. The minimum wage in retait trade
occupations was increased from $3.50 to $4.50
per hour on Apri 1, 1990, by issuance of a revised
wage order. Other changes include increases in
lodging, meal, and uniform allowances.

Family issues. The “District of Columbia
Family and Medical Leave Act of 1990, effec-
tive in April 1991, requires public and private
sector employers of 50 or more (20 or more after
April 1994} to grant employees up to 16 weeks of
unpaid leave during any 24-month period for the
birth of a child; placement of a chiid for adoption,

foster care, or when the employee permanently
assumes and discharges parental responsibility of
a child; or for the care of a family member with a
serious health condition. Family member includes
a relative by blood, legal custody, or marmiage;
any child living with the employee; or a person
with whom the employee shares or has shared
within the last year a mutual residence and with
whom the employee maintairs a coramitted rela-
tionship. Employees are also entitled to a maxi-
mum of 16 weeks of unpaid medical leave in a
24-month period when unable to work because of
their own serious health condition. While on fam-
ily or medical leave, employees will not lose any
employment benefits or accrued seniority, will
have their group health benefits continued, and,
upon return, are entitled to the same or equivalent
employment, including equivalent benefits, pay,
senjority and other terms and conditions of em-
ployment. Under specified circumstances, em-
ployers may deny restoration of employment to
centain higher salaried employees. Employers are
prohibited {rom discharging or discriminating
against an employee for opposing any unlawful
practice, for filing a complaint, or for providing
information or testimony in connection with an
inquiry or proceeding. Administrative en-
forcement procedures are to be developed.

QOccupational safety and healrk. Under a
new “Asbestos Licensing and Control Act of
19907, asbestos abatement businesses and private
and public sector workers must be licensed to per-
form such work in the District, and businesses must
apply for a permit before beginning each project.
Among prerequisites for licensure, & business must
train employees and agents to comply with Federal
standards for asbestos abatement, certify that em-
ployees have completed an approved course of in-
struction on such work, and provide certification of
ability to comply with applicable Federal standards
and applicable District environmental, safety, and
health laws or rules. The mayor is to promulgate
rules for asbestos abatement.

Florida

Agriculture. Beginning July 1, 1991, under a
program of education and examination, applicants
for farm labor contractor certificates of registration
must successfully complete an examination in the
applicant’s language demonstrating knowledge of
the duties and responsibilities of a farm labor con-
tractor. Certificates will be subject to suspension or
revocation if a contractor violates any Federal or
State statute, mle, or regulation for the protection
or benefit of labor, including those providing for
wages, hours, fair labor standards, social secunty,
workers’ compensation, child labor, and transpor-
tation.

Drug, alcohol testing. Drug-free workplace
provisions were enacted under which employers
implemeniing a program that includes notice, ed-
ucation, and testing for drugs and alcohol pursu-
ant to rules developed by the Division of Workers’
Compensation may require employees to submit o
testing, and may terminate ¢employees whose drug
or alcohol content are af a prescribed level. Stand-
ards for tests were established, including required
prior notification of the employer’s policy to all
emplaoyees and job applicants, procedures for col-
lecting and handling specimens, chain-of-costody,
confirmation of positive tests, and confidentiality.
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Employers may not discharge or discipline an em-
ployee who voluntarily seeks treatment for a
drug-related problem if the employee has not pre-
viously tested positive for drug use, entered an
employee assistance program for drug-related
problems, or entered an alcohol and drug rehabili-
tation program. Employees discharged as the re-
sult of positive test results forfeit eligibility for
medical and indemnity benefits under workers’
compensatien.

Background clearance. Owners of nonpub-
lic schools must now be fingerprinted and
checked for criminal background, and those who
have been convicted of a crime involving moral
turpitude may not own or cperate a school, Own-
ers may require school employees to file a set of
fingerprints with the Department of Law En-
forcement for processing and criminal records
checking.

Private employment agencies. The law reg-
ulating talent agents was amended to specifically
exempt manager agents of artists and to prohibit
the charging of any registration fee (previously,
only fees exceeding $35 were prohibited). A tal-
ent agency must now maintain a permanent of-
fice, with regular operating hours.

Nurses registries must now be licensed annu-
ally by the Department of Health and Rehabilita-
tive Services. Requirements are established for
making referrals to perform services in private
homes, and specific recordkeeping requirements
are mandated. The Department is authorized to
deny, revoke, or suspend licenses, to impose ad-
ministrative fines, and to institute injunctive pro-
ceedings in court.

Occupational safety and health. A Trench
Safety Act was enacted; it adopts the Federal Occu-
pational Safety and Health Administration’s exca-
vation safety standards as the State standard, and
provides procedures for adopting updated or revised
versions, All contract bids for trench excavations
exceeding 5 feet in depth must provide informa-
tion on the trench safety standards that will be in
effect, and also must provide written assurance by
the excavation contractor that the standards will
be complied with.

Employment and training. Under a new
Constructive Youth Act, district school boards are
authorized and encouraged to coordinate pro-
grams to enable unemployed youth ages 16 to 24
who are economically disadvantaged or who are
school dropouts to obtain the education, employ-
ment, and leadership skills necessary to be eco-
nomically self-sufficient. Construction or
rehabilitation programs approved for funding are
to include educational services, including basic
skills instruction and remedial education, pro-
grams leading to the attainment of a high school
diploma or its equivalent, and classroom training
in construction terminology and concepts; and
employment services, including job skills train-
ing, placement in unsubsidized employment, and
follow-up counseling. The programs are to be
consistent with applicable Federal, State, and
local labor laws and standards. Youth employed
under the act are to be paid at least the Federal
minimum wage.

Other laws. An emplioyee subpoenaed to
testify in a judicial proceeding may not be dis-
charged from employment because of the natre of
the testimony or because of absences from employ-

ment resulting from compliance with the sub-
poena.

Under a new State Employee Telecommuting
Act, the Department of Administration is to estab-
lish and coordinate a program under which se-
lected State employees are permitted to work at
home or elsewhere away from their usual place of
work through the use of computers or telecommu-
nications, State agencies may design such pro-
grams and, upon approval, conduct pilot programs
beginning August 1,1991, and terminating no
later than August 1, 1993, Agencies must submit
an evaluation of their pilot programs to the Depart-
ment of Administration, which is to make recom-
mendations to the legislature by October 1, 1993.

The Division of Vocational Rehabilitation of
the Department of Labor and Employment Secu-
rity is directed to establish and maintain a “Limit-
ing Disabilities Program,” which is to provide
rehabilitation services to persons with a limiting
disability who are unable to obtain such services
elsewhere. The program will include an education
and information service, a coordinated referral
and follow-up system, the adoption of rules, and
reports to the governor and the legislature.

Georgia

Drug, alcohol testing. Several laws relating
to drug abuse in the workplace were enacted.
Among the provisions: persons with State agency
contracts amounting to $25,000 or more must cer-
tify that a drug-free workplace will be provided
during performance of the contract; any job appli-
cant who refuses to take a drug fest or who tests
positive is disqualified from employment with the
State or a public school system, and the regula-
tions requiring such applicants to submit to a drug
test, were struck down by a U.S. District Court
(The Georgia Association of Educators v. Harris,
October 19, 1990) which held that a generalized
governmental interest in maintaining a drug-free
workplace is not sufficiently competling to out-
weigh an individual’s fourth amendment privacy
rights. State employees in high-risk positions re-
quiring certification or those in similar positions
under a personnel services contract with the State
or a public agency now are subject to random
drug testing—failure to comply or a positive test
will result in termination; an employee of the
State or public school system convicted for the
first time of a criminal offense involving con-
trolled substances or dangerous drugs is (o be sus-
pended for at least 2 months and must complete a
program of drug abuse treatment and education——
a second conviction results in termination; candi-
dates seeking to qualify for nomination or election
to specified State offices must file a certificate
from a certified laboratory stating that the candi-
date has been tested for illegal drugs and the test
results are negative.

Guam

Wages., As the result of prior legislation pro-
viding that the minimum wage rate will automati-
cally match any higher Federal rate, the Guam
raie rose from $3.35 per hour to $3.80 on April 1,
1990, and will increase to $4.25 on April 1, 1991.

By Executive Order promulgated September
26, 1989, the Wage and Hour Commissioner in
the Department of Labor was directed to establish
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and maintain a Wage and Hour Trust Fund. Back
wages collected from employers and litigated
judgments on behalf of employees will be depos-
ited into the Fund, enabling the Department to
expeditiously process disbursements for em-
ployee back wage claims found to be due. Collec-
tions not disbursed after 2 years are 1o be
deposited into the general fund.

Hawaii

Wages. Developers of Housing Finance and
Development Corporation housing projects will
now is be considered governmental contracting
agencies for purposes of the prevailing wage law
and must pay laborers and mechanics employed
on the project in compliance with that law, unless
the entire cost of the project is less than $500,000
and the eligible bidder or developer is a private
nonprofit corporation,

Child labor. A resolution was adopted re-
questing a study of the desirability of amending
the child labor law to reflect a commitment to
quality education. Items to be considered include
restrictions on nightwork preceding school days
for minors older than age 15, and a prohibition on
work during school hours for students suspended
from school.

Equal employment opportunity. To elimi-
nate potential conflict between the Federal Finan-
cial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and
Enforcement Act of 1989 and State employment
practices law barring employment discrimination
on the basis of arrest or court record, the State law
was amended Lo allow federally insured financial
institutions to deny employment to or to discharge
persons convicted of any criminal offense involv-
ing dishonesty or a breach of trust, unless prior
written consent of the Federal agency having ju-
risdiction over such institution is obtained,

Drug, aicohol testing. Substance abuse test-
ing by employers and others must meet specified
requirements including the use of State-licensed
laboratories, sampling procedures that ensure pri-
vacy and prevention of tampering, methods that
ensure reliable testing results, chain of custody
procedures, and confidentiality of test informa-
tion. Prior to testing, individuals must receive a
written statement of the specific substances to be
tested for and a medical disclosure form to permit
the reporting of prescription and nonprescription
drugs taken. The requirements are administered

by the Department of Health.
Idaho
Wages. Three significant changes were

made in the minimum wage law: the minimum
rate was increased from $2.30 to $3.80 per hour
on April 1, 1990, with an increase to $4.25 sched-
uled on April 1, 1991; for the first time, employ-
ers are required to pay overtime pay, at time and
one-half the employee's regular rate after 40
hours a week, applicable to employers not ex-
empted or excepted by the overtime provisions of
the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act; and a tip
credit against the minimum wage is now permit-
ted, up to 25 percent for employees receiving
more than $30 per month in tips.

The provision allowing for recovery of
attorneys' fees in successful employee suits for
collection of unpaid wages under the wage-pay-



ment and collection law was amended to specify
that such fees may also be recovered in actions
brought on behalf of an employee by the director
of the Department of Labor and Industrial Ser-
vices.

Iliinois

Wages. As the result of prior legislation pro-
viding that the State minimum wage rate not be
less than the Federal rate, the State rate rose from
$3.35 per hour to $3.80 on April 1, 1990, and will
increase to $4.25 on April 1, 1991. Wages paid to
employees under age 18 may not be more than 50
cents below the adult minimum wage.

Egual employment opportunity. The Depart-
ment of Human Rights now is to require State
agencies which fail to meet their affirmative ac-
tion and equal employment opportunity goals to
establish necessary training programs for prepara-
tion and promotion of the category of individuals
affected by the failure.

A program is to be developed and im-
plemented among State agencies for the trial em-
ployment of persons with severe physical or
mental disabilities, Successful completion of a 3-
to 12- month trial employment period may result
in permanent employment.

Other laws. The law requiring employers to
grant time off to employees summoned to jury
duty and prohibiting them from discharging such
employees was amended to also prohibil the
threat of discharge, intimidation, or coercion of
the employees, Violators are liable for the
employee’s loss of wages and benefits, are subject
1o injunction from further vielations, and may be
ordered to reinstate the employees.

Certificated school employees are not to suf-
fer a loss in pay as the result of a subpoena to
appear as a trial witness or to have a deposition
taken in any school related matter,

Firefighters of a municipality with less than
one million population, of a fire protection dis-
trict, and of the University of Illinois who are
elected 1o Statewide union office are now 1o be
granted leave without loss of pay or benefits or
being required to make up for lost time in order to
perform the responsibilities of the elected State
office, provided the firefighter arranges for a
qualified replacement from the same jurisdiction,

The Small Employer Group Health Insurance
Law was enacled to address the problems of the
high cost of group health insurance for small em-
ployers and the resultant number of uninsured
workers. Employers with 25 or fewer employees
may now purchase group policies that provide
basic coverage, but with fewer mandated benefits.

Indiana

Wages. Several significant changes were
made in the State minimum wage law including
an increase in the hourly rate from $2 to $3.35 on
July 1, 1990, and enactment of a tip credit provi-
sion permitting employers an allowance of up to
40 percent of the minimum wage for tipped em-
ployees. Coverage under the law was extended to
employers of two workers or more, rather than the
previous four or more, and the minimum age for
coverage was lowered from 17 to 16. The law
now exempts persons employed for no more than
4 weeks in a 3-month period, rather than 10 weeks

as before. Penalties for employers who consis-
tently discharge and replace employees without a
work stoppage will now apply to those who do so
within 4 weeks of employment, rather than 10
weeks, and penalties were added for other types
of violations.

Child labor. Maximum daily and weekly
hours restrictions and employment certificate re-
quirements under the child labor law, previously
applicable to minors under age 17 were extended
to cover 17 year-olds. New restrictions also pro-
hibit these 17 year-olds from working before 6
a.m. or after 11:30 p.m. on nights followed by a
school day (work later than 11:30 p.m. may be
allowed with written parental consent for up to
two nonconsecutive nights per week). The mini-
mum age for employment in specified hazardous
occupations remains at 17. An employment certif-
icate issued to any minor may now be revoked if it
is determined that there has been a significant drop
in the student’s grades after issuance of the permit,

Labor relations. A local iabor-management
grant fund was established to provide matching
grants to local labor-management councils. The
grants may be used to offset general operating
expenses, expenses related to the development of
specialized training programs that directly benefit
labor and management initiatives, or expenses in-
curred in research and development projects relat-
ing to labor-management issues.

Towa

Wages. By prior law, the minimum hourly
wage rate was increased from $3.85 to $4.25 on
January 1, 1991. A further increase to $4.65 is
scheduled for January 1, 1992. The hourly mini-
mum for the first 90 calendar days with an em-
ployer rose from $3.35 to $3.85 effective January
1, 1991, with an increase to $4.25 scheduled for
January 1, 1992,

The wage collection law was amended to au-
thorize the labor commissioner to request ex-
penses and reasonable attorneys’ fees in addition
to wages and liquidated damages in a civil action
to recover unpaid wages for an employee.

Employers of 100 or more having more than
10 percent non-English speaking employees who
speak the same language must provide an inter-
preter at the work site for each shift, and an em-
ployee whose primary responsibility is to serve as
a referral agent to community services. Also, em-
ployers who recruit non-English speaking resi-
demis of other States more than 500 miles from
the work site for hourly paid jobs must furnish the
employees with written job information including
minimum weekly bours, hourly wage, description
of work, and known health risks. If such an em-
ployee resigns within 4 weeks and requests return
transportation to a place of recruitment more than
500 miles from the work site, the employer must
provide it at no cost 1o the employee. The provis-
ions relating to non-English speaking employees
are not applicable to agricultural workers, except
those hired by farm owners to work on another
farmer’s cropland. Employers of 100 or more are
prohibited from deducting from an employee’s
wages costs of $20 or more for an employee’s
relocation to the place of employment. All em-
ployers are now prohibited from deducting from
an employee’s wages the cost of personal protec-
tive equipment needed for protection from job-re-

lated hazards.

Family issues. The Department of Human
Services is to administer a Statewide grant pro-
gram for child day care resource and referral ser-
vices, including grants to agencies which provide
specialized services to employers such as techni-
cal assistance to develop employer-supported
child care programs operated on or near the work
site. The Department is also 10 exarnine the feasi-
bility of establishing a pool with private insurers
to provide reasonably priced umbrella insurance
coverage of child day care facilities.

Background clearance. Persons convicted
of a crime against a person or having a record of
child abuse may now be restrained by injunction
from providing unregistered, registered, or li-
censed child day care.

Worker privacy. Employees were given the
right to access and copy all information in their
personnel files, except employment references. Em-
ployers may have a representative present and may
charge a reasonable fee up to $5 for all copies.

Private employment agencies. The maxi-
mum placement fee that employment agencies
may charge to job applicants was increased from
8 to 15 percent of annual gross eamings of the job
in which the applicant is placed.

Occupational safety and health. For pur-
poses of the occupational safety and health law,
employees also include volunteers involved in re-
sponses to hazardous waste incidents.

The labor commissioner is now authorized to
assess civil penalties of up to $500 for operating a
boiler in violation of a safety order.

The Statc Board of Regents is to establish a
Center for Agricultural Health and Safety at the
University of lowa in a joint venture with the
Jowa State University of Scienwe and Technol-
ogy. The Center is to establish programs designed
to reduce the number of disabilities, suffered by
persons engaged in agriculture, which result from
disease or injury.

Kansas

Worker privacy. The law providing for reg-
ulation and licensure of polygraphists was re-
pealed, thereby terminating the Kansas board of
polygraphists.

Other laws. The provision for inmate work
assignments was amended to specify that assign-
ments, other than work for State agencies, may
not result in the displacement, including partial
displacement (such as a reduction in hours or
wages), of any currently employed worker or po-
sition, or impair existing collective bargaining
agreements or contracts for services. Inmates may
not be used to fill an opening when an individual
is on layoff from the same or a similar job oron a
project, except to the extent that its cost exceeds
the funds available and budgeted.

Kentucky

Wages. The minimum wage was increased
from $3.35 to $3.80 per hour on July 15, 1990,
with a further increase to $4.25 scheduled for July
15, 1991, A training wage of $3.35 per hour is
authorized for employees under age 20 for the
first 90 days of employment, and for a second
90-day training period with another empioyer,
both such periods under conditions similar to
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those under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
The training wage will increase to $3.61 on July
15, 1991, and will expire on April 1, 1993.

The law requiring employers engaged in con-
struction work or the severance, preparation, or
transportation of minerals to post a bond to assure
payment of all wages due, was amended to estab-
lish a fine of from $100 to $500 for each day of
viplation and to make corporate officers person-
afly liable for the penalty.

The Commissioner of the Department of
Waorkplace Standards is now authorized to impose
civil penalties of from $100 to $1,000 for viela-
tion of various labor standards laws including
wage payment, minimum wage, prevailing wage,
rest period requiremnents, child labor, and the pro-
hibition against wage disctimination because of
sex. The civil penalties replace former provisions
for fines of $10 to $500 and/or imprisonment.

Equal employment opportunity. The law
prohibiting discrimination on the basis of physical
handicap was amended to specifically include
persons with AIDS or related conditions. Employ-
ers are now prohibited from discriminating on the
basis of the results of an AIDS (HIv) related test or
from requiring such a test as a condition of hiring,
prometion, or continued employment, unless the
absence of Hv infection is a bona fide occupa-
tional qualification. Employment discrimination
against licensed heaith care professionals on the
basis of their treatment of or caring for persons
infected with the AIDS virus was also probibited.
The law also bans discrimination in housing, pub-
lic accommodations, government services and
State financial assistance because an individual is,
or is regarded as being infected with HEv.

Labor relations. Subject to availability of
fonding from public or private sources, the Office of
Labor-Management Relations is to provide grants-
in-aid to labor-management relations organizations
o be used for improving labor-management rela-
fions or improving communication between the par-
ties on subjects of mutual interest. Grants may not
be made 10 any organization that interferes with
collective bargaining in any plant or industry.

Occupational safety and health.  1tis now an
unlawfu] practice for an employer to fail to hire,
10 discharge, to discriminatory classify or other-
wise discriminate against an individual because
he or she is a smoker or nonsmoker, or to require,
as a condition of employment, that any employee
or job applicant abstain from smoking outside of
employment, as long as the person complies with
any workplace smoking policy.

All mines ysing conveyor belts must have one
or more persons to examine them while in opera-
tion in the mine to determine that coal or mine
refuse is not being transported in a manner posing
a threat to the health and safety of the employees
or to the safety of the mine.

All coal miners will be required to wear safety
glasses as needed, supplied by coal operators at no
cost to the miners.

Other laws. Among amendments Lo provis-
ions regulating time off for voting, employers
may now specify the hours during which an em-
ployee may be absent for voting, and it is prohib-
ited to penalize an employee for taking reasonable
time to vote unless the employee takes the time
off, but fails to vote under circumstances which
did not prohibit exercising the vote.

Louisiana

Wages. The law requiring that employees in
certain industries be paid at least once every 2
weeks was amended 10 specifically exclude bona
fide executive, administrative, or professional
employees.

Family issues. A 12-member Child Care
Challenge Committee was created to develop rec-
ommendations for implementation of a program
to encourage employers to pariicipaie in the pro-
vision of child care and to explore and present to
employers the advantages of volumarily provid-
ing child care options.

Drug, alcohol testing. A new law was en-
acted regulating the testing of individuals, includ-
ing employees, for the use of specific drugs. All
testing covered by the law must be performed in
certified laboratories if mandatory or discretionary
consequences for the ndividual tested may result
irom the test. Provisions for privacy, chain-of-cus-
tody and confirmation of positive test results were
adopted. Except in pre-employment drug screening,
the results of an initial drug screening may not be
used as a basis for a permanent mandatory or discre-
tionary action against an employee.

Public employers are specifically authorized
to require, as a condition of continued employ-
ment, the drug testing of employees following an
accident, the testing of applicants as a condition of
hiring, and the random testing of employees in
safety-sensitive or security-sensitive positions.

Employment and training. An Employment
and Training Council was created and assigned,
among its duties, to plan, coordinate and monitor
the programs and services under the Federal Job
Training Partnership Act.

A Displaced Workers Retraining Program is
to be administered by the State Employment and
Training Council. Individuals will be eligible to
participate in the programn if they are unemployed,
not full-time students or participants in other
specified training programs, and their last em-
ployment was terminated because either the em-
ployer relocated to another State to avoid
compliance with State environmental protection
laws and regulations or instituted technological
changes to comply with such laws.

Other laws. The law regulating ‘“noncompe-
tition” employer-employee agreements was
amended to specifically authorize an employee to
enter into an agreement that, for up to a 2-year
pertod after termination of employment, the em-
ployee will not engage in work rclating to any
computer program that directly competes with a
confidential computer program owned, licensed,

or marketed by the employer.
Maine
Wages. The wage payment and coellection

law was amended to provide that an employer
who has overcompensated an employee through
employer error may not, without the employee's
written permission, withhold more than 10 per-
cent of the net pay of any subsequent pay in order
to recover the overcompensation, Violations by
employers with more than 25 employees, and
knowing violations by those with 25 or fewer,
result in the employer forfeiting any claim to the
excess compensation.

The definition of employer under the law re-
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quiring severance pay if an employer relocates an
establishment 100 or more miles away or terini-
nates operations, was amended 10 specify that &
parent corporation is considered the indirect
owner and operator of any covered esiablishment
that is directly owned and operated by its ¢corpo-
rate subsidiary.

Parental leave. The family medical leave
law, scheduled to terminate July 1, 1990, was
continued, and the law now must be posted acces-
sible to employees.

Drug, alcohol testing. Among changes to
the law regulating substance abuse testing in the
workplace, the required employer written policy
may now designate that for job applicants and for
probable-cause testing of employees, all positions
are subject to testing. Employees returning to
work after a confirmed positive test result,
whether or not they have participated in a rehabil-
itation program, may now be required to submit to
a subsequent test anytime between 90 days and 1
year after their retum. Employers may now take
action against an employee enrolled in a rehabili-
tation program if notified that the employee has
failed to comply with the prescribed program.

Occupational safety and health. Rules for
safe and healthful working conditions adopted by
the Occupational Safety Rules and Regulations
Board now inclede monitoring and recordkeep-
ing, At a minimum, the rules must conform to
Federal standards so that the State program can be
federally approved as an occupational safety and
health program for public employees only.

Any person who performs a public function
either as a volunteer or for minimal compensa-
tion, or any public employee responding to or
acting at a life-threatening situation who makes a
judgment calculated to save a life, was exempted
from the 1989 law holding persons guilty of man-
slaughter for imentional and knowing violation of
an occupational safety or health standard causing
an employee’s death.

Other laws. The law protecting employees
from threatened or actual loss of employment
because of receiving a summons for jury service
or serving on jury duty was amended to also pro-
tect emnployees from threatened or actual loss of
heaith insurance coverage because of such ser-
vice. Also, new provisions were adopted prohibit-
ing providers of health care insurance from
terminating coverage for any person summoned
for or engaging in jury service.

Maryland

Wages. The State minimum wage law
adopts the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act rate
by reference, thereby conforming to Federal
changes on a continuing basis. As a result, the
basic State rate rose from $3.35 1o $3.80 per hour
on April 1, 1990, and will increase again to $4.25
on April 1, 1991.

The tip credit allowance was increased from
40 to 45 percent of the minimum wage, with an
increase to 50 percent scheduled March 31, 1991,
A training wage containing the conditions and
limitations authorized under the Federal Fair
Labor Standards Act amendments of 1989, was
also adopted.

Occupational safety and health, Persons en-
gaged in various occupations involving asbestos-
related work in schools must now be accredited



by the Department of the Environment. Such ac-
creditation requires successful completion of an
approved training program, an examination, and
annual refresher training.

Among changes to the Access to Information
Abowt Hazardous and Toxic Substances Act, vari-
ous provisions were conformed to the U.S. Depart-
ment of Labor, Occupational Safety and Health
Administration's “Hazard Communication Stand-
ard” including requiring employers, chemical
manufacturers, importers, and distributors fo com-
ply with all applicable provisions of the Federal
standard.

After April 1, 1992, each employer of more
than 5 employees who hires workers to operate
specified nonagriculiural power eqguipment must
either develop and implement an employee safety
traiming program related to such equipment or
adopt and imptement the model training program
to be developed by the Commissioner of Labor
and Industry in consultation with a new Advisory
Committee on Safety Training Programs for
Power Equipment Operators, and must satisfy
other recordkeeping and posting requirements.

Massachusetts

Wages. Beginming January 1, 1992, employ-
ers must fumish employees with a statement each
pay period showing hours, rate of pay, and all
deductions. At present, statements must be fur-
nished only upon request, with the first wage pay-
ment, and at other specified times.

Orher laws.  Under a late 1989 law, a program
of employee involvement and ownership was estab-
lished. Among its purposes are the promgotion of
employee involvement in decisions involving their
work, employee ownership, assistance 10 privale
businesses in exploring the feasibility of establish-
ing empioyee involvement programs, and providing
grants to local governments and to schools for em-
ployee involvement startup efforts,

Michigan

Equal employment opportunity. The
Handicappers’ Civil Rights Act was amended to
expand coverage to employers of one or more em-
plovees, instead of four or more. For the purpose of
employment, handicap does not now include a de-
terminable physical or mental characteristic caused
by the current illegal use of a controlled substance
or alcohel which prevents the individual from
performing his or her job. The maximum costs
that an employer may be required to incur to pur-
chase equipment or devices or to hire readers or
interpreters to accommodate employees” disabili-
ties were established on a scale based upon the
total number of employees,

Employment and training. Funds were ap-
propriated to develop a partnership between busi-
ness, labor, and government to link work force
training, retraining, and skill upgrading with eco-
nomic development efforts in order to maximize
job creation and retention. A job opportunity bank
will link existing training resources with State
economic development efforts, develop coordi-
nated training programs in conjunction with con-
firmed plant location decisions, and develop new
innovative training approaches where existing
Siate and Federal resources are inadequate or lack
flexibility to meet economic development needs,

Also, a legislative job training program oversight
commiltee was created.

Minnesota

Wages. Effective January 1, 1991, the mini-
mum wage rate structure was changed and the
rates increased, The minimum wage is now $4.25
per hour for large employers (annual receipts of
$362,500 or more) and $4 for small employers
{less than $362,500). The two-tier schedule with 2
minimum of $3.95 for employers covered by the
Federa! Fair Labor Standards Act and $3.80 for
others, and lower rates for minors under age 18
were eliminated. The law specifically bans the
use of lower rates based on a training wage or
full-time student status permitted under Federal
law, and continues to prohibit tip credits,

The law requiring political subdivisions to es-
tablish equitable compensation relationships
among its employees in order to eliminate sex-
based wage disparities was amended. Each juris-
diction now must submit an implementation
report to the Commissioner of Employee Rela-
tions by January 31, 1992, which includes identi-
fication of each job class in the political
subdivision as male-dominated, female-domi-
nated, or balanced; the comparable work vatue of
each class determined by job evaluation; and
specified salary data, The Commissioner is to de-
termine if a jurisdiction has established equitable
compensation relationships, and if not, must no-~
tify the subdivision of the findings and necessary
actions to achieve compliance and the estimated
cost of compliance. Failure to comply may result
in a 5-percent reduction in aid or a fine of $100
per day, whichever is greater.

Paremtal leave.  The law requiring the grant-
ing of up to 6 weeks unpaid leave for the birth or
adoption of a chiid was amended to permit em-
ployees o use personal sick leave benefits pro-
vided by the employer to care for a sick child, and
to require employers 10 provide up fo 16 hours of
unpaid leave per year for an employee to attend
school conferences or classtoorm activities related
to the employee's child if the conference or activ-
ities cannot be scheduled during nonwork hours.
The school leave provision is applicable to em-
ployers of one or more employces, whereas the
other types of leave provisions continue to apply
to employers of 21 or more at at least one site.

Egual employment opportunity.  An amend-
ment to the Human Rights Act stipulated that if a
complainant shows that an employment practice
is responsible for a statistically significant adverse
impact on a particular protected class, it is the
empioyer who must then prove that the practice is
manifestly related to the job or significantly fur-
thers an important business purpose. The law also
new provides that the first application of an unfair
discriminatory practice, employment policy. or
seniority system to a new person establishes a
basis for the filing of a claim by that person,

Labor relations. Protective agents and secu-
rity guards were prohibited from engaging in cer-
tain activities during a labor dispute, strike, or
lockout. These activitdes include inciting or en-
couraging unlawful acts against another person or
property, photographing or otherwise conducting
surveillance of participants when not on the prem-
ises being protected, and stopping or detaining
any vehicle not an the premises being pratected.
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Where a collective bargaining agreement be-
tween an employer and a labor organization con-
tains a clause regulating the rights and abligations
of a new (successor) employer, as defined, that
clause will be binding and enfotceable against
any new employer until the expiration date of the
agreement (not to excead 3 years from the effective
date). The existence of such & clause is to be dis-
closed to a new employer, although failure to meet
this requirement does not affect the enforceability
of the collective bargaining agreement.

Occupational safety and health. Employers
in certain standard industrial classifications who are
covered by the State occupational safety and health
law tnust now establish and implement a written
workplace accident and injury reduction program
that promotes safe and healthful working conditions
and is based on clearly stated goals and objectives.

Plant closings. The govemnor is to appoint a
commission to study and make legislative recom-
mendations regarding worker displacement
caused by corporate takeovers, buy outs, and
other similar actions. Also, effective January |,
1991, an employer-financed dislocated worker
fund is to be created (o provide for special pro-
grams, including vocational guidance, training,
placement, and job developments.

Orher lows, Employers of 20 or more must
grant up to 40 hours of paid leave to an employee
who seeks 1o undergo a medical procedure fo do-
nate bone marrow, The employer may not retali-
ate against the employee for requesting or
obtajning such leave.

Mississippi

Schoof attendance.  As part of a public educa-
fion law, the compulsory school attendance law,
which had required attendance from age & through
age 16, was amended to reguire attendance at age 5.
However, a 5-year-old will not be required to enroll
if the parent and the superintendent of the child's
school district determine that the child is at risk of
not performing at a kindergarten level.

Drug, alcohol testing. A Select Senate
Committee on Drug Abuse was created to con-
sider legislation relating to drug abuse, including
workplace drug testing programs.

Missouri

Wages. A first-time minimum wage law
was enacted, with the Federal minimum wage rate
adopted by reference. Timne and one-half overtime
payment is required after 40 hours per week, ex-
cept afier 52 hours for employees of seasonal
amusement or recreational establishments, which
are exempted from the Federal Fair Labor Stand-
ards Act. A S0-percent tip credil is permitied;
exemptions include employees subject to the Fed-
eral minimum wage, agricultural workers, and
employees of retail or service businesses whose
annual gross sales volume is less than $500,000.

Montana

Wages. In accord with a 1989 law, a rule
was adopted Increasing the State minimum wage
from $3.35 to $3.80 per hour effective April 1,
1990, with a further increase to $4 scheduled for
April 1, 1991 (employers may pay newly hired
employees a wage of at least $3.35 an hour for the
tirst 120 calendar days). Unlike the Federal law,
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the State law does not allow a tip credit allowance
against the minimum wage,

Nebraska

Equal employment opportunity. Employ-
ment discrimination, as well as discrimination in
housing, school admissions, and public accommo-
dations, on the basis that an individual is suffering
or is suspected of suffering from HIv virus infec-
tton or AiDs is now prohibited. Enforcement is
through private civil action.

Other faws. A labor and material payment
bond for public works constryction contracts will
no longer be required for State contracts of
$15,000 or less or for county, local, or school
district contracts of $5000 or less, unless it is
required in the project specifications.

Nevada

Wages. By law, the labor commissioner is (o
prescribe increases in the State minimum wage in
accordance with increases in the Federal rate, gx-
cept when the commissioner determines that such
increases are contrary to the public interest. Ac-
cordingly, the minimum wage rate for employees
18 years or older was increased from $3.35 o
$3.80 per hour on April 1, 1990, and for employ-
ees under age 18, from $2.85 10 $3.23.

New Hampshire

Wages. The State minimum wage rate rose
to $3.85 per hour on January 1, 1991, and will
increase 1o $4.25 on April 1, 1991, as the result of
the adoption of any higher Federal minimum
wage as the State rate.

Drug, aicohol testing. A commitiee was es-
tablished (0 study all issues relevant to drug and alco-
hol sesting in the workplace and to report on findings,
including recommendations for legislation,

Labor relations. A new law was enacted
giving the Public Employee Labor Relations
Board jurisdiction over collective bargainming by
licensed race track operators and their employees
in the dog and hotse racing industry, Among the
provisions adopted, employers and certified em-
ployee organizations are required to bargain in
good faith over wages, hours, and other condi-
tions of employment not within the scope of man-
agement rights; procedures were enacted for
selection and certification of bargaining units; and
employer unfair labor practices and employee or-
ganization prohibited practices are specified.
Strikes or lockouts during the term of the existing
agreement are prohibited.

Occupational safety and health.  As part of a
new Indoor Smoking Act, smoking is prohibited
in enclosed private or government workplaces
with four or more persons. The prohibition will
not apply 10 segregated smoking-permitted areas.
If smoking cannot be effectively segregated, it
will be totally prohibited. The person in charge of
a facility may declare it nonsmoking in its en-
tirety. It is unlawful 1o retaliate or otherwise dis-
criminate against an employec for exercising any
rights under this act.

New Jersey

Wages. On May 3, 1990, the minimum
wage applicable to both nonfarm and farm em-

ployment increased from $3.35 to $3.80 per howr,
with additional increases to $4.25 and $5.05
scheduled for April 1, 1991, and April 1, 1992,
respectively.

Prevailing wage payment requirements on
public works construction projects will now apply
to work performed on property or premises leased
or to be leased by a public body. To be considered
leased property for this purpose, at the time of
entering into the contract, at least 55 percent of
the property or premises must be either leased by
a public body or be subject to an agreement to be
subsequently leased by the public body, and the
leased area must measure more than 20,000
square feet.

Family issues. A new Family Leave Act was
approved under which public and private sector
employees are now entitled to 12 weeks of unpaid
family leave in any 24-month period for the birth
or adoptien of a child, serious health condition of
a family member, or serious illness of the spouse
or parent of the employee or of the employee’s
spouse. Coverage in the private sector applies ta
employers of 100 or more for the first year, 75 or
more for the following 2 years, and 50 or more
thereafter. Employees taking such leave are entitled
to the same or an equivalent position upon their
retum. Employers must continue health insurance
coverage for employees during their absence and
continue to provide any employee benefits pursuant
10 the employer’s policy with regard to benefits for
employees on temporary leave. An employer is pro-
hibited from discharging or discriminating against a
person who opposes any practice forbidden by the
law, or files a complaint, testifies, or assists in a
proceeding, Family leave may be denied if the em-
ployee is salaried and among the highest paid 5
percent of employees or one of the seven highest
paid employees, whichever is greater; if the denial
is necessary to prevent substantial economic in-
Jury to the employer; and if the employer notifies
the employee of the denial at the time it is deter-
mined that denial is necessary. Family leave
gramed under the Jaw is specifically in addition to
rights under the State's Temporary Disability
Benefits Law.

Private employment agencies, A new em-
ployment agency regulatory law was enacted, re-
placing the existing law. The law now specifically
applies also to career counseling and resume ser-
vices. The amount of the surety bond required of
agencies was increased from $2,000 to $10,000,
The Administrator is now authorized to issue a
cease and desist order upon a finding of violation,
and to bring a summary proceeding in the Supe-
rior Court to enforce such order. Each violation of
these orders may result in a civil penalty of
$1,000-825,000.

Employment and training. A State Employ-
ment and Training Commission was created to
develop and assist in implementing a State em-
ployment and training policy. The goal is to create
an integrated system of employment and training
programs and services which, along with efforts
of the private sector, will provide individuals
equal access to leaming opportunities needed to
attain and maintain high levels of productivity and
earning power.

The Hispanic Women’s Demonstration
Resource Centers Act was approved under which
the Division on Women of the Department of
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Community Affairs is 1o establish from two to
five such resource centers. Among many services,
the centers are to provide vocational training, job
counseling, programs to overcome barriers to em-
ployment, career information, job training, and
placement.

Whisileblower. The law prohibiting em-
ployer retaliation against private and public sector
employees for disclosing to 4 supervisor or public
body any practice of the employer that is believed
to be a violation of law or regulation, was
amended to also protect the disclosure of such
practices of another employer with whom there is
a business relationship. Employees are also now
protected against retaliation for objecting to or
refusing to participate in any practice the em-
ployee believes could endanger the environment.

New Mexico

Wages. Revised rules and regulations under
the “public works minimutn wage act” (the pre-
vailing wage law) were adopted in 1989. Among
the changes, surveys for purposes of wage determi-
nations will now be conducted annually rather than
semiannually. Also, the hours of working foremen
are to be included in the determination of the pre-
vailing wage for most crafts. Some new classifica-
tions including electrician classifications were
established, and laborer, equipment operator and
truck driver classification groups and wage spreads
were amended to include residential construction,

New York

Wages. The State minimura wage rate for
non-agricultural workers was increased from
$3.33 per hour to $3.80 effective April 1, 1990, with
a further increase to $4.25 scheduled for April 1,
1991, The rate for farmworkers was increased from
$3.35 1o $3.80 on January 1, 1991, with an increase
10 $4.25 scheduled for Janvary 1, 1992.

Employers engaged in the sale or service of
food or beverages are 10 post in the establishment,
in a place accessible and visually conspicuous to
the employees, a copy of the law and regulations
under the wage payment law relating to illegal
deductions from wages and tips received by em-
ployees.

School attendance. The minimum age for
compulsory school attendance was reduced from
Tteb.

Equal employment opportunity. Unless it
can be ciearly shown that a person’s unique ge-
netic disorder would prevent performing the par-
ticular job, no person who is otherwise qualified is
to be denied equal opportunities to obtain or
maintain employment or to be promoted solely
because of the condition. Unique genetic disorder
is defined as sickle cell frait, carriers of Tay-sachs
disease, or carriers of Cooley’s anemia.

Worker privacy. The definition of “patient
information,” under provisions of the public
health law restricting access to such information,
was expanded to specifically include a health as-
sessment for insurance and employment purposes.

Qccupational safety and heaith. Among
changes to the public employee occupational
safety and health law, requests for an inspection in
situations alleging imminent danger of injury or
death must now be given the highest priority by the
Department of Labor and the inspection must be



carried ot immediately: the Safety and Health
Hazard Abatement Board now has the authority to
hold public hearings, take testimony, and contract for
expert assistance in the formulation of standards being
recommended to the Commissioner of Labor; the
Commissioner is authorized to promulgate rules and
regulations recormnmended by the Boand.

Among several changes in the transportation
law relating to commercial vehicle safety, specific
limitations ot hours of driving time and consecu-
tive hours of required rest for truck and bus driv-
ers were eliminated and left 1o the Commissioner
of Transportation to regulate. It is now unlawful
for an employer to take retaliatory personnel ac-
tion against a driver or operator of a motor vehicle
of 18,000 pounds or more, who has objected to or
refused to operate a vehicle he or she reasonably
believes fails to comply with safety requirements
after first bringing the violations to the employer’s
atiention and allowing a reasonable opportunity 1o
make corrections. Licensing requirements were re-
vised requiring an applicant for a commercial
driver’s license to be at ieast 21 years of age. Other
classes of licenses were also established with mini-
mum ages ranging from 16 ta 18.

Provisions dealing with the inspection of boil-
ers were amended to define unfired pressure ves-
sels and to require owners and lessees of such
vessels to ensure that they are constructed in ac-
cordance with regulations adopted by the labor
commissioner.

Employment and training. A youth opportu-
nity program act was enacted to provide employ-
ment and training directed at career assessment
and exploration in health and human service
fields for economically disadvantaged youth 16 to
21 years and a limited number of other youth who
tiave barriers to employment or have been identi-
fred as at risk of dropping out of school. Funds far
the program are to be made available to the Office
of Mental Health and the Office of Menta] Retar-
dation, and training is to take place in State cen-
ters, funded through these Offices, which employ
individuals in direct care, clinical, and laboratory
positions. Youth in employment and training may
participate for a maximum of 1,200 hours per year
including both work and nonwork activities, and
must receive at least the State minimum wage for
all time engaged in program activities, not to ex-
ceed 20 hours weekly during the school year and
30 hours weekly during school vacation periods.

The Job Opporturity Demonstration Program
established in 1987 was abolished, and the Job
Opportunities and Basic Skills Training Program
was established. The new program will fumish
education, fraining, and employment opporfuni-
ties, and necessary services to individuals receiv-
ing aid to dependent children, home relief, or
veteran assistance to enable them to obtain unsub~
sidized employment that will assist them in
achieving economic independence.

Orher laws. The labor commissioner is to
annually compile and publish all regulations and
notices required to be posted by employers for the
benefit of their employees pursuant (o the tabor
law, the workers’ compensationt law, and any
other State or Federal law, rule, or regulation.

North Carolina

Occupational safety and heaith. Civil
money penalties assessable by the Labor Com-

missioner undet the State occupational safety and
health act were increased from $10,000 to
$14,000 for each wiliful or repeated violation,
from $1,000 to $2,500 for each serious violation
citation, and from $1,000 to $1,500 for each non-
serious violation,

Ohio

Wages. The State basic minimum wage rate,
applicable to the private and public sectors and to
agriculture, was increased from $2.30 to $3.80 per
hour on September 24, 1990, with a future in-
crease 10 $4.25 scheduled for April 1, 1991; lesser
increases were prescribed for small businesses.
For employers with gross annual sales of
$150,000 to $500,000, the basic rate increased
from $2.30 to $3.35; for employers with less than
$150,000 gross annual sales, it increased from
$1.50 to $2.50 on September 24, 1990, and will
increase to $2.80 beginning April 1, 1991, Em-
ployers with more than $500,000 gross annual
sales may pay tipped employees 55 percent (pre-
viously 50 percent) of the basic rate effective Sep-
tember 24, 1990, and 50 percent beginning April
1, 1991; ather tipped employees are to receive a
minimum cash wage of $2.01 per hour. The defi-
nition of a tipped employee was changed 1o a
person receiving more than $30 (previously, $20)
per month in tips. The provision for a lower 80-
percent leamer rate was replaced with a provision
for a training wage for workers under age 20, set
at $3.35 per hour or 85 percent of the applicable
mimimum wage, whichever is greater, for a period
not to exceed a cumulative total of 90 days by one
employer and 180 days by all employers,

Eligibility criteria for employer use of the
training wage were established. The traiming
wage provision will be repealed April 1, 1993,

For the first time, rules and regulations were
adopted as provided for in the prevailing wage
law. These mles deal with clarification of the
meaning of numerous terms used in the law;
fringe benefity; permissible payroll deductions;
computation of overtime compensation; proce-
dures for determination of wage rate schedules;
duties of contractors; use of apprentices, serving
laborers, assistants, helpers, and trainees; kick-
backs; recordkeeping; hearing procedures; and
subpoenas and stop-work orders,

Child labor. An amendment to the child
labor law added restrictions on nightwork hours
of 16 and 17-year-olds during any week that
school is in session. These minors may not work
after 11 p.m. preceding a schoolday, or after 1
a.m. before non-schooldays. Work is prohibited
before 7 a.m. on Mondays through Fridays and
before 6 a.m. on Saturdays and Sundays., Also
added to the law was a prohibition on employ-
ment of minors under age 16 in any for profit
door-to-door sales activity, unless the employer is
registered annually by the Director of Indusirial
Relations. Registration requirements include cer-
tification of compliance with all applicable Ohio
and Federal laws and regulations relating to the
employment of minors and with cther applicable
Ohio laws, including motor vehicle financial re-
sponsibility, workers’ compensation, and unem-
ployment compensation. Employers must also
certify that they meet supervision, age and school-
ing certificate, apd vehicle safety requirements,
At least one supervisor over age 18, in visnal

contact with each minor, must be provided for
each six minors employed. Minors are to be is-
sued an identification card containing their pic-
ture and name, the employer’s name, address and
registration number, and a statement that the em-
ployer is registered. Minors must work at least in
pairs and may not be employed during school hours
or befare 7 an. or after one-half hour prior to sun-
set. The Director may refuse to renew or may re-
voke a registration in the event of violation.

Equal employment opportunity. The prohi-
bitions against employment discrimination based
upon age were amended to extend coverage lo
persons over age 40, instead of only those be-
tween ages 40 and 70. Provisions with respect to
mandatory retirement of executive and high
policymaking personnel, and tenured employees
at institutions of higher education were changed,
and now coincide with those in the Federal Age
Discrimination in Employment Act.

Labor relations. The Public Empioyces’
Collective Bargaining law was amended to permit
teacher bargaining agreements o include a provi-
sion authorizing a peer review plan, and to provide
that teacher or representative participation will not
be considered an nnfair 1abor practice. Under such a
plan, teachers in a bargaining unit, or their em-
ployee organization representatives, may participate
in assisting, reviewing, or evaluating and making
recommendations or decisions with respect to the
retention, discharge, renewal, ot non-renewal of
other teachers of the same bargaining unit or repre-
sented by the employee organization.

Employment and training. Every State
agency adminisiering a federally funded empioy-
ment and training program, including the Job
Training Panmership Act, 1s to include in the pro-
gram a prictity system to provide maximum em-
ployment and training opportunities 1o velerans
and other eligible persons within targeted groups.

To the extent that resources are available, in
addition to the provision of sheltered employment
and work activities, county boards of mental re-
tardation and developmental disabilities are now
authorized 1o provide or arrange for job training,
vocational evaluation, and community employ-
ment services to mentally retarded and develop-
mentally disabled individuals,

Oklahoma

Wages. The State minimum wage law
adopts the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act rate
by reference, thereby conforming to Federal
changes on a contimiing basis. As a result, the
basic State rate rose from $3.35 to $3.80 per hour
on April 1, 1990, and will increase again to $4.25
on April 1, 1991,

Egual employment opportunity. Persons fil-
ing a charge of employment discrimination on the
basis of disability may now commence court ac-
tion if the complaint is not satisfactorily resolved
within 180 days. Courts may award actual dam-
ages including reinstatement or hiring, with or
without back pay.

Drug, alcohol testing. The Horse Racing
Commission is now authorized to require any oc-
cupation licensee to submit to a substance abuse
test if there is probable cause to believe that the
licensee possesses of uses any controlled danger-
ous shbstance, or any other drug in violation of
Federal or State law.
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Background clearance. Owners or adminis-
trators of a child care facility, other than a foster
family home or a day care center, providing full-
time care or 24-hour supervised care must ar-
range, prior to employment, for a criminal history
investigation of job applicants. Owners or admin-
istrators of day care centers, other than family day
care homes, may arrange for such investigations.
Persons convicted of a crime are not to be barred
from employment, but are to be considered in
relation to specific employment duties and re-
sponsibilities.

A nursing facility, a specialized facility, or a
residential care home must provide for a criminal
arrest check before employing nurses aides or
other persons not specifically excepted. Such per-
sons may not be hired permanently until the resule
of the check is received, and may not be hired if
the check reveals a conviction of such offenses as
rape, incest, murder, assault, robbery, arson, child
abuse, and so forth. A facility or home may re-
quest an arrest check on current employees at any
time. Persons addicted tn certain drugs may not be
employed, unless they produce evidence of success-
fully completing a drug rehabilitation program.

Oregon

Wages. By prior law, the State minimum
wage rate was increased from $4.25 per hour o
$4.75 on January 1, 1991.

Adminjstrative ruleg relating to minimum
wages, overtime pay, and working conditions
were revised. New sections define the terms ad-
ministrative, executive, and professional employ-
ees; tequire th't homeworkers be paid the
minimum wage and overtime and that their em-
ployers comply with recordkeeping requirements;
deal with waiting time, sleep time, travel time,
and other special situations; and authorize em-
ployers to include bonus payments to employees
in the pay periods when they are earned when
computing the minimum wage,

Child labor. Revised rules were promul-
gated by the Wage and Hour Commission pursu-
ant to the State child labor law, effective
September 1, 1990, to bring them into conformance
with Federal Child Labor Regulation Number 3
with respect to restrictions on the daily, weekly, and
nightwork hours of 14- and 15-year-olds.

Pennsylvania

Wages.  As the result of prior legislation pro-
viding that the State minimum wage rate match
any Federal increase, the State rate rose from
$3.35 per hour to $3.80 on April 1, 1990, and will
increase to $4.25 on April 1, 1991.

The secticn of the minimum wage law author-
izing payment of less than the minimum wage to
persons impaired by physical or mental deficiency
or injury under a wage-rate license from the Sec-
retary of Labor and Industry was amended 1o also
permit payment of a lower wage where a Federal
certificate has been issued vnder the Fair Labor
Standards Act. Also, added to those exempt from
the overtime provisions is any employee of a
motor carrier for whom the Federal Secretary of
Transportation may establish qualifications and
maximum hours of sexvice.

Egual employment ppportunity.  Discrimina-
tion in employment, matriculation, and contract-

ing on the basis of disability is now prohibited in
the State System of Higher Education. The
System’s Board of Governers will develop and
promulgate by regulation a plan assuring equal
opportunity in employment, educational access,
and contracting.

Labor relations. The Labor Mediation Act
was amended to specify that information dis-
closed by a party to a mediator in the performance
of mediation functions is not to be divulged, and
that the mediator’s files, reports, or other papers
received or prepared while serving as such are to
be confidential. The mediator may not produce
any confidential records of, or testify in regard to,
any mediation conducted by him or her, on behalf
of any party in a civil proceeding,

Occupationa! safery and health. Employers
are prohibited from discharging or otherwise dis-
ctiminating against an employee for refusing to
operate a commercial motor vehicle which is not
in compliance with State motor vehicle or safety
laws, when such operation constitutes a violation
of Faderal commercial motor vehicle or safety
laws, or because of the employee’s reasonable
apprehension of serious self injury or injury to the
public because of the unsafe condition of the vehi-
cle. Employees are also protected against retalia-
tion for filing a complaint or participating in a
proceeding relating 1o a safety violation. The law
is enforced by the Public Utility Commission
which is authorized to receive complaints, con-
duct investigations, and order relief, including
abatement of the violation and reinstatement of
the complainant with back pay, terms, conditions
and privileges of employment, and all costs and
expenses including attorney fees.

Puerto Rico

Wages. Several mandatory decrees relating
to minirnum wages and related standards were
revised. Minimum wage rates increased in the
manufacturing phase of the tobacco industry ef-
fective July 7, 1990, from a range of $1.20- $2.50
per hour to $6.50 for cigarette manufacturing em-
ployees, $3.80 for filler tobacco processing and
general employees, and $2.50 for all employees of
enterprises not covered by the Federal Fair Labor
Standards Act; for medical articles and accesso-
ries employees in the plastic preducts industry,
from $2.15 10 $4.25 for employees of enterprises
covered by the Act, and $3.80 for employees not
so covered, effective March 24, 1990; in the
wholesaling and warehousing industry, from
$2.20 to $3.80 effective February 3, 1990; in the
textile and textile products industry from a range
of $1.67-81.90 w0 a mnge of $3.35-$3.75, de-
pending on length of time with the employer, ef-
fective December 21, 1989; in the leather, leather
goods, and related products industry from a range
of $1.40-$2.29 to $3.60 effective May 31, 1990,
in the corsets, brassieres, and related products in-
dustry, from $1.90 to a range of $3.40-$3.50, de-
pending on length of time with the employer,
effective October 11, 1989; and in the button,
jewelry, lapidary work, artificial flower, decora-
tion and party favor industry, from a range of
$1.85-$2.30 to $3.35, effective September 4,
1990, Rates of accrual of vacation time increased
for some or all employees in all of these industries
{except wholesaling and warehousing and textile
and textile products), and provision for sick leave
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was included for employees in the button, jew-
elry, lapidary work, anificial flower, decoration
and party favor industry.

A revised regulation was issued, effective July
29, 1990, defining the terms administrator, execu-
tive, and professional for the purpose of determin-
ing their eligibility for exemption from the
minimum wage act. Exempted are administrators
and executives earning $200 a week and profes-
sionals earning $250 a week provided they also
satisfy other specified criteria, relating primarily
to level of responsibility. Those eaming $295 a
week need satisfy fewer of these criteria.

Rhode Island

Wages. The State minimum wage law was
amended to increase the hourly minimum rate
from $4.25 to $4.45 effective April 1, 1991.

Complaints of violation of overtime pay for
voluntary Sunday/holiday retail work, of the pro-
vision which prohibits retaliation for refusal to
work, or other requirements for retail licensure
under this business law may now be filed with the
director of the department of labor by the
employee's collective bargaining representative
in addition to the employee as before.

Contracts for the construction of public works
projects undertaken by the Public Buildings Au-
thority must comply with provisions of any other
applicable State law or ordinance, including pre-
vailing wage, public works arbitration, and con-
tract bonds laws,

The section of the payment of wages law per-
taiming to filing of claims with the director of the
depantment of labor was amended to specify that a
claim may be filed by the person owed wages, the
parent or guardian if a minor, or the person’s col-
lective bargaining representative.

Additional penalties were enacted for employ-
ers who fail to transfer funds deducted from em-
ployee wages to the appropriate person entitled to
the deductions. Previously, if funds were not
wansferred within 2} days following the end of
the month in which the deduction was made, the
employer was liable in a civil suit brought by the
employee for any loss sustained because of the
violation. Now, in addition, an employer who in-
tentionally or after written notice fails to transfer
these funds within 30 days following the end of
the month in which the deduction was made will
also be liable for a $50 penalty payable to the
employee for each day beyond the 30-day period
that the funds are not transferred.

Family issues. The law requiring the grant-
ing of unpaid parental leave upon the birth, adop-
tion, or serious illness of a child was amended to
also include leave for the serious illness of a par-
ent, spouse, in-law, or the employee’s own serious
illness. The definition of serious illness was made
less restrictive to now include conditions that in-
volve inpatient care in a hospita), nursing home,
or hospice, or continuing outpatient care by a
health care provider, instead of only more severe
conditions, The total unpaid parental and family
leave entitlement remains at 13 weeks in any two
calendar years. Employers willfully failing to post
required notices to employees pertaining to the
leave requirements and the filing of complaints
are subject to a civil penalty of $100 for each
separate offense.

Labor relations. An employer may not re-



fuse to hire an applicani, or discharge or other-
wise discriminate against any employee with re-
spect to compensation, terms or conditions of
employment because the individual is a union
member or representative.

The definition of “fire fighter” for purposes of
the Fire Fighters® Arbitration law was expanded
to include fire dispatchers of any city or town.

The section of the Arbitration of School
Teacher Disputes law granting certified public
school teachers the right to otganize and bargain
collectively was amended to extend coverage to
personnel ticensed by the Department of Health
as physical therapists or occupational therapists.

The law regulating arbitration of labor controver-
sies was amended to specify that unless otherwise
agreed 10 in writing, in the arbitration of matters refat-
ing to employee discipline, the arbitrator may modify
the penalty imposed by the employer and/or otherwise
fashion an appropriate remedy.

Occupational safety and health. Employers
are now prohibited from requiring that, as a con-
dition of employment, any current or prospective
employee refrain from smoking or using tobacco
products outside of the workplace, or otherwise
discriminating because of such use with respect to
compensation, lerms, conditions, or privileges of
employment. This prohibition will not apply to
nonprofit organizations that as a primary purpose
or objective discourage the use of tobacco prod-
ucts by the general public. The new provisions are
not to affect those of the Workplace Smoking
Pollution Control Act.

A new holiday, “Workers’ Memorial Day,” is
to be observed annually on the fourth Friday of
April, with appropriate ceremonies. The holiday
is in remembrance of the courage and integrity of
American workers, particularly those killed or in-
jured in the course of their employment. Addi-
tionally, the observance is to call attention to the
importance of healthy and safe workplaces,
thereby preventing workplace illness and injury.

South Carolina

Wages. Among several changes in the pay-
ment of wages law, the commissioner of labor
may no longer decide disputes ansing from
claims of unpaid wages or deductions from
wages; severance payments were deleted from
the scope of the law; criminal penalties for an
employer's willful failure to pay wages were
eliminated and 3-year limits were added for
commencing an employee’s civil action for re-
covery of wages due and for the employer’s
retention of wage records.

Family issues. State employees may now
use up to 6 weeks of accrued sick leave to care for
an adopted child, and may not be penalized for
requesting or obtaining this time off,

Child labor. 1t is not a violation of the law
which prohibits the dissemination of harmful ma-
terial to minors to employ a minor in a theater,
provided the minor’s parent consents and the
minor is not allowed in the viewing area when the
harmful material is shown.

Drug, alcohol testing. A Dmg-Free Work-
place Act was approved which provides that no
person may receive a grant or contract for
$50,000 or more from any State agency unless the
contractor or grantee certifies that it will provide a
drug-free workplace. Such emplayers must notify

employees that the unlawful manufacture, distri-
bution, dispensation, possession, or use of con-
trolled substances is prohibited and that specified
actions will be taken against violators. Employers
must also establish a drug awareness program,
require employees to notify the employer of any
criminal drug statute conviction, and impose
sanctions or require satisfactory completion of
drug abuse assistance or rehabilitation by con-
victed empioyees.

Background clearance. Persons applying
for initial certification to become certified educa-
tion personnel must undergo fingerprint reviews
to determine any criminal history.

Qccupational safety and health. The use of
tobacco products outside the workplace may not
be the basis of personnel action, including em-
ployment, termination, demotion, or promotion.

An individual, pamnersship, corporation, or
other business entity will not be reguired to be
represenited by an attomey when appearing in a
proceeding before the State Qccupational Health
and Safety Review Board.

Sonth Dakota

Wages. The Stale minimum wage was in-
creased on April 1, 1990, from $3.35 per hour to
$3.80, with an increase to $4.25 scheduled on
April 1, 1991. A training wage as defined in the
Federal Fair Labor Standards Act may be paid to
employees age 18 or 19 (those under 18 are ex-
empt from the State law). The tip credit allowance
was increased from 30 percent to 40 percent with
a further increase to 50 percent scheduled for
Aprii 1, 1991. Tipped empioyees are now defined
as persons receiving $30 rather than $25 a month
in tips, a sum that will be increased to $35 on
April 1, 1991,

Drug, alcohol resting.  The Commissioner of
the Bureau of Personnel was directed 1o establish
and implement a drug screening program for ap-
plicants for a safety-sensitive position in State
government defined as a law enforcement officer
authorized to carry firearms and custody staff em-
ployed by agencies responsible for rehabilitation
or treatment of adjudicated adults or juveniles.
The Commissioner alsa was authorized to imple-
ment a program for current employees in such
positions, based upon reasonable suspicion of
iliegal drug use. The Commissioner may adopt
rules o carry out the act, including testing proce-
dures and consequences resulting from a valid
positive test result or from failure to submit to a
test, Individual test results and medical informa-
tion collected are confidential and may be re-
vealed only as authorized by the Commissioner.

Qccupational safety and health, In confor-
mance with the State’s obligations under the Fed-
eral Emergency Planning and Community Right
to Know Act, the State Emergency Response
Commission was directed to, among other things,
assist with local emergency planning committee
plan development, to review local plans, and to
prepare recommendations conceming emergency
response capabilities.

Tennessee

Wages. The composition of the five-mem-
ber prevailing wage commission was changed by
replacing the State transportation engineer with

the commissioner of transportation, or a designee.
The commissioner of labor serves as chairperson
of the commission, which determines prevailing
wage rates for State construction.

Child labor. The child labor law was
amended to add nightwork hours restrictions for
16- and 17-year-olds who are enrolled in school.
Such minors may not be employed before 6 am.
or after 10 p.m. Sunday through Thursday eve-
nings preceding school days. Work until midnight
on these evenings may be permitied with written
and notarized parental consent, but not on more
than three occasions a week, Parents can rescind
this consent at any time.

Equal employment opportunity. The law
prohibiting employment discrimination on the
basis of handicap by public or private sector em-
ployers was amended to eliminate the exception
for infectious, contagious, or transmittable dis-
cases or conditions.

Private employment agencies. The Person-
nel Services Act, formerly the Personnel Recruit-
ing Services Act regulating private employment
agencies, was expanded to specifically include
employee leasing services, temporary help ser-
vices, and contract labor firms. Licensing is no
longer required; however, all agencies covered by
the law must register with the Department of
Commerce and Insurance. lavestigations will now
be conducted by the Department upon receipt of a
written complaint. The Department may assess a
civil penalty of up to $500 and may institute legal
action to restrain or enjoin violations, Personne!
services, temporary help services, contract labor
fitms, and employee leasing organizations are re-
quired to notify each employee in writing of ail
employment benefits provided by such firm or a
third party employer.

Occupational safety and health. The ad-
ministrative heads of each State department,
agency, board, commission, and other enfities of
the State, including public institutions of higher
education, were authorized (o establish a policy
on smoking in the building. The policy must pro-
tect the rights of smokers and nonsmokers, and
must provide at least one indoor smoking area in
the building. If a policy pemnits smoking in the
workplace, a nonsmoking area must be provided.

Whistleblower. The Public Protection Act of
199G provides that no employee is to be termi-
nated solely for refusing to panicipate in, or for
refusing to remain silent about any violation of a
State or Federal law or regulation intended to pro-
tect the public health, safety, or welfare.

Orther laws. It 1s now unlawful fo terminate
an employee solely for the use of an agricultural
product not regulated by the aicoholic beverage
commission that is not otherwise proscribed by law,
if such use is during nonwork times or is in compli~
ance with employer policies during working hours.

Utah

Wages. A new minimum wage act of gen-
eral application to the private and public sectors
was enacted, replacing a law applicable only o
women and minors. The mintmum rate for adults
was initially established at $3.35 per hour and
increased to $3.80 on April 1, 1990. Subsequent
to July 1, 1990, the Industrial Commission of
Utah may establish the minimum rate but the rate
must not be higher than that of the Federal Fair
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Labor Standards Act. Exemptions from the law
include employees covered by the Federal Act,
agricultural workers, casual and domestic em-
ployees, and registered apprentices or students
employed by the educational institution in which
they are enrolled. The Commission, on April 1,
1990, established a $3.55 rate for leamers not to
exceed the first 160 hours of employment and a
rate of $3.23 for minors. A 45-percent tip credit
was authorized. Administrative and criminal pen-
alties are provided for violation, In addition, mi-
nors were authorized to bring civil action to
enforce their minimum wage rights.

Family issues. An Office of Child Care was
created within the Department of Community and
Economic Development. Among its duties, the
Office is to provide a central location for the col-
lection and dissemination of information to em-
ployers for the development of options for child
day care in the work place. A Child Care Advi-
sory Committee, including corporate and small
business representation, will assist the Office in
fulfilling its statutory obligations.

Child labor. Among several amendiments to
the child labor law, the Industrial Commission
was authorized to commence administrative pro-
ceedings and impose a penalty of up to $500 per
violation. The Corunission may also prosecute a
misdemeanor criminal action in the name of the
State for violations including knowingly employ-
ing a minor in a repeated violation of the child
labor law, failing to provide the Commission with
requested information, failing to keep required re-
cords, refusing the Commission access to the
place of business, or retaliating against an em-
ployee for testifying, With parental consent, age
limitations or restrictions will not apply to work
for which a specific, written authorization has
been made by the Commission.

Drug, alcohol testing. Siale employees are
prohibited from manufacturing, possessing, using,
distributing, or being under the influence of con-
trolled substances or alcohol during work hours or
on State property. The Department of Human
Resource Management is to make rules regulating
disciplinary actions for employees who violate the
act, testing of employees, confidentiality of test-
ing and test results, and minimum blood levels of
aleohol or drug content for work effectiveness of
employees. Testing is authorized when there is a
reasonable suspicion of unlawful drug or alcohol
use during work hours, and random testing may
be used for highly sensitive positions,

Background clearance. A public or private
agency or individual licensed to provide child
care or placement services must submil to the
Department of Social Services the name and other
identifying information, including fingerprints of
prospective employees, providers of care, or vol-
uniteers, in order to obtain or renew a license. The
Bureau of Criminal Identification is to determine
whether these individuals have been convicted of
any crime. Convicted felons may not be employed
or provide care in a licensed facility; persons con-
victed of a misdemeanor may be employed at the
discretion of the executive director. The pre-
viously required Statewide Central Register for
child abuse reports was eliminated.

Emplovment and training, A Utah Conser-
vation Corps was created with responsibility for
conserving and developing the State’s natural re-

sources and for providing educational work op-
portunities and enhancing educational opportuni-
ties and employability of youth, The Corps is to
cooperate with the local service delivery area,
designated under the Federal Job Training Part-
nership Act to obtain employment and training
services including job search assistance, skills
training, and transitional employment.

Vermont

Wages. The Stale minimum wage law was
amended to make a scheduled rate increase from
$3.75 10 $3.85 per hour effective after April 1, 1990,
rather than after July 1, 1990. The State will adopt
the Federal increase (o $4.25 on April 1, 1991,

Family issues. Coverage of the Matemity
Leave Act, previously applicable to the private
sector, was explicitly extended to the public sec-
tor by adding an organization or governmental
body to the definition of employer.

Labor relations. Provisional, temporary,
seasonal, on-call, and part-time employees are no
longer exempted from the Municipal Labor Rela-
tions Act, but probationary employees are still
exempted,

Occupational safery and health. An 11-
member State Emergency Response Commission
was created to camry out the requirements of Title
III of the Federal Superfund Amendments and
Reauthorization Act of 1986 and various other
duties, including emergencies involving hazard-
ous materials.

An employee, aggrieved by a violation of a
section of the Occupational Safety and Health Act
which protects employees from employer retalia-
tion fer filing a complaint or otherwise exercising
rights under the Act, may bring an action in Supe-
rior Court for relief, including reinstatement, tri-
ple wages, damapes, costs, and reasonable
attomey’s fees. Such action may be brought in
addition to or in lieu of the existing provision for
filing a complaint with the Commissioner of
Labor and Industry and having the Commissioner
initiate court acticn to restrain violations and ob-
tain appropriate relief.

Virginia

Family issues. The Governor's Personnel
Advisory Board was requested 1o study the feasi-
bility and desirability of implementing a parental
leave policy in public sector employment.

Agricuiture.  The law regulating the operation
of migrant labor camps was amended to exempt
small businesses which are exempt under the Fed-
eral Fair Labor Standards Act and the Migrant and
Seascnal Worker Protection Act. This provision is
scheduled to expire December 31, 1991.

Equal employment opportunity. Each shel-
tered workshop established by the Department for
the Visually Handicapped must now have a nine-
member advisory board, including at least two
blind persons or parents of blind persons, to ad-
vise workshop managers on budgetary matters,
preduct development, and other business matters,

Background clearance. Counties that have
adopted the urban county executive form of goven-
ment and cities surrounded by such counties may by
ordinance provide for the regulation and licensing
of facilities and persons providing child-care ser-
vices for compensation. The local ordinances may
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require certification that persons providing care
have not been the subject of a founded complaint
of abuse or neglect or convicted of cenain sexual
abuse offenses involving children.

Worker privacy. Prospective employees of
State, county, city, and town law enforcement
agencies may not, as a condition of employment,
be required 1o answer questions in a polygraph
test concerning sexual activities unless such activ-
ity has resulted in a State criminal conviction.
These public sector agencies were previously ex-
empt from this prohibition applicable to private
sector employers.

Virgin Islands

Wages. By prior law, the minimum wage
rate rose from $4.25 an hour to $4.65 on January
1, 1990. Beginning January 1, 1991, and each
Janwary 1 thereafter, an indexed rate took effect
equal to 50 percent of the average private, non-
supervisory, nonagricultural hourly wage, as de-
termined by the Virgin Islands Wage Board for
the previous November, rounded to the nearest
multiple of 5 cents, The rate for minors under age
18, full-time high school students, and employees
of businesses with gross annual receipts of less
than $150,000 increased from $3.90 per hour to
$4.30 on January 1, 1990, and to 35 cents an hour
below the basic minimum rate on January 1, 1991.
Tipped employees in the tourist service and res-
taurant industries are subject fo a separate law,

Washington

Wages. College students who are employed
by the institution in which they are enrolled will
no longer be exempt from State minimum wage
reguirements.

Child labor. Comprehensive rules, devel-
oped in conjunction with the Advisory Committee
on Agricultural Labor, cover hours of work, pro-
hibited occupations and other employment stand-
ards for miners under age 18 employed in
agriculture, except for immediate family mem-
bers. A l4-year minimum age is established for
employment, except that 12- and 13-year olds
may be employed in the hand harvest of berries,
bulbs, and cucumbers and in the hand cultivation
of spinach during weeks when school is not in
session. Restrictions were adopted for daily,
weekly, and nightwork hours and number of days
of work permitted per week for minors under age
16 and for 16- and 17-year-olds both when school
is in session and when it is not. Minors under 18
may not be employed in specified dangerous work
including handling or using dangerous pesticides;
transporting, transferring, or applying anhydrous
ammenia; handling or using blasting agents; or
harvesting crops after pesticide application and
prior to the time permitted by the Environmental
Protection Agency. Other hazardous occupations
similar to those prohibited under Federal law are
prohibited for minors under age 16. Employers
must apply for a permit to employ minors and
must have written school and parental autheriza-
tion. The allowed number of hours per day and
week will be based on an evaluation of the impact
of work on the student’s academic performance.
A paid 10-minute rest break must be provided for
every 4 hours worked. Employees working more
than 5 hours must receive a meal period of at least




30 minutes. Other regulations deal with posting,
litting weights, recerdkeeping, revocation of per-
mits, and procedutes for granting variances. The
rules became effective on November i, 1990, ex-
cept for the meal and rest break requirements that
became effective August 1, [990.

Agriculture. The Department of Health was
desipnated as the primary inspector of [abor
camps and farmworker housing, but the Depart-
ment of Labor and Industries was delegated au-
thority for inspecting all farmworker housing not
covered by the authority of the State Board of
Health. The Departrnents of Health, Labor and
Industries, Community Development, and Em-
ployment Security and the State Board of Health
were directed to develop an interagency agree-
ment defining the rules and responsibilities for
farmworker housing inspection. The State Board
of Health is to develop mles for labor camps in-
cluding,. as a minimum, the standards developed
for sanitation and temporary Jabor camps under
the State Industrial Safety and Health Act. A
Farmworker Housing Inspection Fund was estab-
lished to administer the program and to receive
funds received from labor camp license fees.

Equal employment opportunity. Joint ap-
prenticeship programs receiving any State assisi-
ance must now include entrance of women in the
program, when available, as well as ractal minori-
ties as before, in a ratioc of not less than their
percentage of the labor force i the program
sponsor’s labor market area.

Labor refations. The Open Public Meetings
Act, applicable o public agencies, was amended
to make an exception for the privacy of collective
bargaining sessions with employee organizations,
including contract negotiations, grievance meet-
ings, and discussiohs relating to the interpretation
or application of a labor agreement.

Private employment agencies. Coverage of
the law regulating employment agencies was ex-
panded to specifically include employment listing
or employment referral services and resume ser-
vices that provide resumes to individuals and pro-
vide a list of names to whom the resnme may be
sent or provide preaddressed envelopes to be
mailed. Agencies operating without a license are
subject to court action for the retum of any fees
paid to the agency and the award of treble dam-
ages plus attorney's fees and costs.

West Virginia

School attendance. The beginning age for
compulsory school attendance was changed from
age 7 to the school year during which a child
reaches age 6 prior to September L, or upon enroll-
ing in a publicly supported kindergarten program.

Warker privacy.  An officer of a financial insti-
tution may provide employment information about an
employee or former employee to another financial
institution, provided the information is limited to that
individual’s active participation in a violation of a
State or Federal law or regulation related to financial
institutions and such violation has been teported 1o
the proper prosecusorial authorities.

Wisconsin

Wages. The State basic minimum wage rate
was increased by administrative rule from $3.65

to $3.80 per hour effective Aprl 1, 1990. The rate
for minors under age 18 was increased from $3.30
to $3.45. Rates of $3.50 for adults and $3.25 for
minors wiil be applicable te probationary em-
ployee who have been in employment status for a
cumulative total of 60 days or less within a 3-year
period {probationary rates previously applied to
employees who had worked for an employer not
more than 120 days within a 3-year period). Rates
for agricultural workers incteased from $3.45 to
$3.60 for adults and from $3,10 1o $3.25 for minors
and probationary rales were eliminated. Rates for
tipped employees were not changed, but a provision
was added that the rate for these workers be the
higher of 55 percent of the basic rate or the rate
established in the administrative code.

A late 1989 amendment to the wage payment
law authorized the Secretary of the Department of
Industry, Labor and Human Relations to enter
into reciprocal agreements with agencies in other
States for the collection of wage claims and wage
deficiencies.

Public sector employees will now be covered
by State minimum wage and overtime provisions
and by the prohibition on the use of an HIv test as
a condition of employment.

Child labor. A law approved in December
1989, requires those who employ minors to en-
gage in house-to-house sales to be certified annu-
ally by the Department of Indusiry, Labor and
Human Relations. Information to be provided in
applications for certification includes the name of
the applicant and the business address and tefe-
phone number; the names and home addresses of
principal officers of the applicant; employer iden-
tification numbers; and names, home addresses
and birth dates of any employee who supervise
minors. House-to-house employers’ duties in-
clude having a copy of the street trade permit
issued for the minor stamped or endorsed by the
clerk of any municipality where the minor is to
work; keeping a copy of the permit for at least 3
years after the employee becomes 18 or leaves the
employment of the employer, whichever occurs
first; informing minors in writing of the terms and
conditions of employment; notifying the local po-
lice department or office of the sheriff that minors
will be conducting house-to-house sales; provid-
ing the Department, upon request, with a list of
the municipalities where the employer intends te
employ minors within 6 months after the date of
the request; and demonstrating financial responsi-
bility by maintaining a $5,000 bond, certificate of
deposit, escrow account, or letter of credit. The
Department may suspend or revoke a certificate in
the event of employer violation.

The prohibition on work by minors under 14
years of age was amended to permit 12- and
13-year-olds ta be employed as sideline officials
for high school football games, and to permit { 1~
to 13-year-olds to be employed as ball monitors
at these games and at practices. Prior exceptions
also exist for a limited number of other types of
employment.

Agriculture.  Coverage of the migrant labor
law was expanded to include almost all employers
of migrant workers. Previcusly, the law covered
only fruit and vegetable farmers and processors,
nurseries, sod farmers, and Christmas tree grow-
ers, and their migrant workers. The law’s require-

ments include contractor registration, vehicle in-
surance, written work/wage agreements 1o the
employee, and certification and pre-occupancy in-
spection of migrant labor camps.

Equal employment opportunity. At the re-
quest of an appointing authority and an employee,
the probationary period of a disabled State em-
ployee may be extended up to one additional year
to allow the employee to complete any necessary
rehabilitation program, obtain or adapi to special
modifications made to the waorkplace to
accommodate the employee’s disability, or to
achieve the knowledge, skills, and abilities to
competently perform the required tasks for the
appointed position.

Worker privacy. Appointing authorities are
prohibited from taking disciplinary action against
an employee based on wiretapping, electronic sur-
veillance, or one-way mirrors unless such surveil-
lance is authorized, or produces evidence that the
erployee has committed a crime. Such devices
may be used for security or public safety purposes
at a State institution.

Private employment agencies. Agencies
whose fees are paid enfirely by employers are
now exempt from the employment agency regula-
tory law except for a requirement that they regis-
ter annually with the Department of Indusiry,
Labor and Human Relations. The Department is
authorized to order other covered agencies operat-
ing without a license or after their license has
been suspended or revoked to refund all fees and
charges collected while unlicensed.

Other laws. The prohibition on the sale of
prison made goods in the open market was modi-
fied to permit prison industries to provide a manu-
facturer or distributor with products, compornents.
ot services if they have been supplied to the man-
ufacturer or distributor for the previous 1Z months
by a facility outside the United States.

Wyoming

Wages. The commissioner of labor stand-
ards and fair employment was granted specific
anthority to promulgate rules and regulations.
Also, under the wage payment law, the commis-
sioner may now lake assignment of wage claims
without the former restriction thal assignment
authority be limited to the claims of persons
unable to obtain the services of a private attor-
ney. The commissioner is to process, investi-
gate, and determine the validity of claims, order
payment, and with the assistance of the county
attorney, prosecute if necessary. Failure to com-
ply with a Commissioner’s order is punishable
by a civil fine of up to $200 for each day of
noncompiiance. The required time for payment
of wages to an employee who quits or is dis-
charged was changed to within 5 working days
of the date of termination of employment from
72 hours after voluntarily quitting or 24 hours
after involuntary discharge. Sections of the min-
imum wage law empowering the commissioner
to take assignments of unpaid minimum wages
for persons financially unable to prosecute such
¢laims and providing that wages collected by
the commissioner and unclaimed for more than
2 years be forfeited and made part of the general
fund of the State were repealed.
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Footnotes

' Legislatures did not meet in Arkansas, Ne-
vada, and North Dakota and met in special session
only in Montana, Oregon, and Texas to consider
subjects outside the scope of this article. Alabama
did not enact significant legislation in the fields
covered by this article. Information on the Virgin
Islands was not received in time to include in the
arficle. Separate articles on unemployment insur-
ance and workers’ compensation, which are not
within the scope of this article, are published in this

issue of the Monthly Labor Review.

* Alaska, Connecticut, the District of Colum-
bia, Oregon, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, and the
Virgin Islands.

' Arkansas, Alaska, California, Hawaii,
Idaho, Illincis, lowa, Kansas, Maryland, Mon-
tana, Nevada, New York, North Carolina, North
Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washing-
ton, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

* Prevailing wage laws are in effect in 32
States: Alaska, Arkansas, California, Connecti-
cut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Ken-
tucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts,
Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Ne-
braska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New
York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania,
Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Washington,
West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Guam
and the Virgin Islands also have such laws,

Managing Editor

The Monthily Labor Review is recruiting to fill the position of MLR Manag-
ing Editor. The position involves supervision of the magazine staff and re-
quires a background in economics, writing and editing, and computer-assisted
publishing. Applications (experience résumé and Federal SF-171) should be
sent to BLS Personnel, room 2827, GAO Building, Washington, DC 20212,
Additional information may be secured by contacting BLS Personnel at (202)

523-1591.
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