Changes in unemployment
insurance legislation in 1991

With the Nation in recession, emergency legislation

was enacted at the Federal level
to provide additional weeks of benefits

to qualified persons; four States enacted emergency

or additional benefit programs, and eight

States added or made permanent special taxes

Diana Runner

pensation Act of 1991 (Public Law 102-164), as

amended by Public Law 102-182, created the Emer-
gency Unemployment Compensation Program. This pro-
gram will provide 13 or 20 weeks of federally funded unem-
ployment benefits to claimants who have exhausted their
regular, extended, or additional benefits under any State law.
Also as a result of the Emergency Unemployment Compen-
sation Act, the Federal Unemployment Tax Act was amended
to permit States to pay benefits between school years and
terms to certain noninstructional, nonresearch, or non-
administrative school employees. Finally, the 13-week dura-
tion of benefits and the 4-week waiting period stipulations
that pertained to ex-service members were deleted. There-
fore, the weeks of benefits that an ex-service member may
receive and the waiting period that he or she will be required
to serve will be determined by the State in which he or she is
collecting benefits.

Four States took action in 1991 to improve or temporarily
extend additional unemployment benefits to individu-
als who have exhausted their regular benefits and who
are ineligible for Federal-State Extended Benefits. New
Jersey enacted an emergency unemployment benefits pro-
gram that will pay 25 percent of the regular weeks of benefits
until March 28, 1992. Maine and Oregon legislated tem-
porary extended benefit programs that provide supple-
mental benefits until 1994 to dislocated workers who
participate in retraining programs. The State of Washington

Near year’s end, the Emergency Unemployment Com-
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enacted a temporary additional benefits program, effective
until 1993, that will provide additional benefits to workers in
the timber industry. In addition, Washington established a
temporary “natural resources” worker project to provide
employment and training opportunities for dislocated forest
product workers.

Arizona, Delaware, Indiana, Mississippi, New Hamp-
shire, and South Dakota increased their maximum weekly
benefit amounts. Indiana increased and New Hampshire
decreased their minimum weekly benefit amounts. Four
States—Arkansas, Hawaii, Indiana, and North Dakota—
reduced the amount of wages that a worker needs to earn in
order to qualify for benefits, and Montana increased the
amount. Five States—Georgia, Hawaii, Mississippi, Ver-
mont, and Wyoming—changed the amount of weekly eam-
ings to be disregarded when the weekly benefit amount for
partial benefits is computed.

Colorado, Hawaii, and Indiana changed the fund balance
levels that trigger the implementation of alternative sched-
ules of employer contributicn rates. Indiana increased and
Oregon decreased the minimum contribution rate that could
be charged to an employer. To deal with ongoing difficulty in
securing adequate program funding, seven States—Arkan-
sas, Colorado, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, and Or-
egon—and Puerto Rico added or made permanent special
taxes on employers that are imposed in addition to regular
contributions. The special taxes will be used to secure the
solvency of the State unemployment fund, to pay interest
reguired on Federal advances to the State fund, for training of
unemployed workers, and for costs of program administration.

Following is a summary of some significant changes in
State unemployment insurance laws during 1991.



Arizona

Benefits. The maximum weekly benefit
amount increased from $165 to $175, and will
rise to $185 on July 1, 1992,

Penalties. Benefits previously received by an
individual not entitled to them may be deducted
by the Arizona Department of Econemic Secu-
rity from the individual's current benefit pay-
ment, in an amount not 1o exceed 25 percent of
his or her weekly benefit amount.

Arkansas

Financing. 1If the assets of the Arkansas un-
employment fund on June 30 are less than 0.50
percent of total payrolls for covered employ-
ment during the preceding calendar year, the
stabilization tax imposed on employers to main-
tain adequate fund levels will be 0.7 percent for
the next rate year. However, if the assets of the
fund at the end of any calendar guarter are less
than 0.25 percent of total payrolls for employ-
ment during the preceding calendar year, the
stabilization tax will be 1.1 percent beginning
with the second quarter following that quarter
in which the shortfall occurs, and will remain at
that level until the next rate year.

Benefits. The formula for computing benefits
in amounts below the maximum weekly benefit
amount changed from 1/52 of the two highest-
earnings quarters in the individual's base pe-
riod to 1/26 of high-quarter wages paid in the
base period. The amount of wages that an indi-
vidual is required to earn in two quarters of the
base period to qualify for benefits decreased
from 30 to 27 times the State weekly benefit
amount. The provisions triggering payment of
extended benefits were amended to include an
option for waiving the 120-percent requirement
when the insured nnemployment rate equals at
least & percent. (In the absence of such an op-
tion, payment of extended benefits is triggered
when the insured unemployment rate is at least
120 percent of the average rate for the corre-
sponding period in each of the preceding 2
calendar years.)

Disqualification. The pension offset provi-
sion, under which unemployment benefits are
reduced by the amount of an individual’s pen-
sion benefits, was amended to apply only to
payments made under a pension plan main-
tained or contributed to by a base-period em-
ployer. Income that is disqualified for purposes
of calculating jobless benefits will include va-
cation pay, but an individual will be paid an
amount equal to the weekly benefit amount less
that part of vacation pay receivable for the week
that is in excess of 40 percent of the weekly
benefit amount.

Administration. The agency that administers
the Arkansas Employment Security Law will
now be known as the Arkansas Employment
Security Department, headed by a director.

California

Benefits. An individual will be eligible for an
additional 26 weeks of benefits if the claim was
filed on or before July 31, 1992, and if the

individual was laid off from work, unable to
commence work, or otherwise unemployed dur-
ing the period December 19, 1990, to January
3, 1991, because of freezing weather condi-
tions. The individual also must have exhausted
regular benefits and be ineligible for Federal-

State Extended Benefits.

Disqualification. An individual who is con-
victed of misrepresentation undertaken to avoid
disclosing a material fact so that he or she
might obtain, increase, reduce, or prevent any
benefit or payment will be ineligible for regular
benefits or extended benefits for the week in
which the criminal complaint was filed and for
14 additional weeks.

Colorado

Coverage. In deciding whether to designate
an individual performing services for others as
an independent contracior, the Colorado Divi-
sion of Employment and Training will not con-
sider the degree of control exercised by the
person for whom the service is undertaken over
the performance of the service or over the indi-
vidual performing the service, if the control is
exercised due fo requirements of any State or
Federal statute or regulation.

Financing. For the provisions of the the most
favorable (lowest) schedule for employer con-
tributions to take effect under the State’s re-
serve ratio system, the unemployment fund as-
sets must equal at least $450 million. (The
reserve ratio system is a method used by a
majority of the States to guarantee the solvency
of the unemployment insurance fund while en-
suring that the employer’s contribution rate
adequately reflects his or her experience with
unemployment, Under this system, benefits paid
to an employer’s workers over a specified pe-
riod are subtracted from the employer’s contri-
bution to the fund over the same period. The
result is then divided by the employer’s
current payrolls to determine his or her po-
tential liability for future unemployment, and
thus the appropriaie fund contribution rate
for that employer.)

The Colorado Department of Labor and Em-
ployment may request the issuance of bonds
and notes when the balance in the unemploy-
ment compensation fund is equal to or less than
0.9 percent of the total wages reported by rat-
able employers for the calendar year. To pay
for the bonds, employers will be assessed an
amount sufficient to pay all costs associated
with the issuance of bonds or notes.

If an employer is called for active military
duty which necessitates the closing of his or
her business, benefits paid to any employee of
the business will not be charged to the em-
ployer. The contribution rate for new construc-
tion employers will be the greater of the State
standard rate, the actual experience rate for the
construction industry, or a rate equal to the
average tax rate for all covered industries in the
State.

Disqualification. Anemployee will be eligible
for benefits if the employer closes his or her
business when called to active military duty.
An individvual will not be denied benefits for
quitting a job outside his or her regular ap-

prenticeable trade to return to work in the regu-
lar apprenticeable trade.

Connecticut

Benefits. New legislation authorizes a pilot
program of voluntary shared work, agreed to
by both the employer and the union subject to
final approval by the Connecticut Employment
Security Division, under which individuals may
collect unemployment benefits when their work
schedules are shortened to avert layoffs. The
division must submit a report on the shared
work pilot program to the State general assem-
bly by January, 1, 1993,

Delaware

Benefits. If the balance in the unempioyment
trust fund is $150 million or greater, the maxi-
mum weekly benefit amount will be $245; if
the balance is less than $150 million but equal
to or greater than $90 million, the maximum
weekly benefit amount will be $223; and, if the
trust fund balance is less than $9G miilion, the
maximum weekly benefit amount will be $205.

Florida

Penalries.  An individual who receives confi-
dential information by violating the “disclosure
of information” provisions of the State’s unem-
ployment insurance law will be guilty of a mis-
demeanor of the second degree.

Georgia

Coverage. The exclusion from coverage of
aliens performing agricultural labor was ex-
tended to January 1, 1993,

Financing. The new employer contribution
rate of 2.64 percent and the additional assess-
ment of 0.06 percent on all taxable wages to
cover administrative costs were extended
through June 30, 1996. Beginning Janvary 1,
1992, benefits will be charged to the most re-
cent employer. (Previously, benefits were
charged proportionately to all base-period em-
ployers.)

Benefits. When an individoal’s weekly ben-
efit amount for partial benefits is computed, the
amount of weekly earnings 10 be disregarded
will be $30. The definition of partial unem-
ployment was amended to a week of less than
full-time work, if earnings are less than the
worker’s weekly benefit amount.

To qualify for benefits in a second benefit
year, an individual must earn 10 times the State
weekly benefit amount. An alternative qualify-
ing requirement of earning wages in two quar-
ters of the worker’s base peried and having
total base-petiod wages of 40 times the weekly
benefit amount was added to the Jaw. The alter-
native qualifying requirement will apply when
an ndividua) fails to earn ar least 150 percent
of high-quarter wages in his or her base period.

The provision that limited the maximum
weekly benefit amount to $115 when the unem-
ployment trust fund balance was less than $175
million was repealed.
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Disqualification. The pension offset provision
was amended to exclude from offset a pension
or retirement payment if the individual contrib-
uted 50 percent or more to the pension plan.
The wages needed to purge a disqualification
for voluntary leaving, discharge or suspension
for misconduct, or refusal to apply for or accept
suitable work increased from § times to 10
times the State weekly benefit amount, If ter-
minal leave pay, severance pay, separation pay,
or dismissal payments or wages exceeds the
weekly benefit amount, it will be considered
deductible income and will reduce the
individual’s weekly entitlement to benefits. An
individual will not be denied benefits for sepa-
ration from work because of the provisions of a
labor-management contract or agreement or an
extablished employer plan, policy, or layoff or
recall procedure that permits the individual,
because of lack of work, to accept a separation
from employment. If an individual receives 10
weeks (was 8 weeks) of benefits, work will not
be considered unsuitable if it pays wages of at
least 66 percent of half of the individual’s high-
est quarter earnings (was 125 percent of half of
the individual’s high-quarter average weekly
wage) in the base period, and pay is at least
equal to the Federal or State minimum wage.
Also, Georgia deleted the suitable work provi-
sion specifying that, after an individual had
received 13 weeks of benefits, no work would
be considered unsuitable if it paid wages equal
to 110 percent of half of the individual’s high-
quarter average weekly wage.

Administration. The first stage appeals body
was changed from an appeals tribunal to an
administrative hearing officer, The period for
appealing an adminstrative hearing was in-
creased from 10 to 15 days. A decision of the
board of review will be final 15 days after
notification of the concerned parties by mail. If
an individual disagrees with the board’s deci-
sion, he or she may, within 15 days, appeal to
the superior court of the county in which he or
she was last employed.

Penalties. If a claimant frandulently receives
over $4,000 of benefits, he or she will be guilty
of a felony and may be imprisoned for 1 to 5
years, or fined not less than $1,000, or both.

Hawaii

Financing. For the most favorable schedule
of employer contributicn rates to be triggered,
the unemployment fund level will be at least
1.69 times the adequate reserve fund level, with
rates ranging from 0.0 to 5.4 percent, The fund
level triggering the least favorable schedule
will be less than 0.20 times the adequate re-
serve fund, with rates ranging from 2.4 to 5.4
percent. The contribution rate for new employ-
ers will be the rate assigned to an employer
with a 0.0 reserve ratio, depending on the sched-
ule of rates in effect for the year (rates range
from 1.7 to 5.2 percent). For the period January
1, 1992, through December 31, 1996, every
emplover (excluding employers who reimburse
the fund for benefits paid their workers, and
employers paying 0.0 percent or 5.4 percent)
will pay an employment and training fund as-
sessment at the rate of (.05 percent of taxable

wages. The fund solvency contribution rate
(—0.05 percent to 2.4 percent) was repealed.

Benefits. The wages needed for a worker to
qualify for benefits decreased from 30 to 26
times the State weekly berefit amount in two
quarters of the worker’s base period. An
individual’s minimum weekly benefit amount
will be computed as 1/21 of high-quarter wages
in his or her base period, and the maximum
weekly benefit amount at 70 percent of the
State average weekly wage. The earnings that
are disregarded in computing benefits for par-
tial unemployment increased from $2 to $50.

1daho

Financing. A reserve tax will be imposed on
all employers to finance the Employment Secu-
rity Reserve Fund. The monies in the fund will
be used to finance loans to the State employ-
ment security fund, as security for loans to the
State fund from the Federal Unemployment
Trust Fund, and for the repayment of any inter-
est-bearing advances from the Federal fund. If
a reserve tax is in effect for a year, that part of
an employer’s contribution that is to be debited
or credited to his or her account is reduced to
80 percent of the State taxable wage rate. The
remaining 20 percent will be deposited in the
reserve fund.

Indiana

Financing. The fund requirements for the most
favorable contribution rate schedule to be in-
voked must be at least 3.0 percent of covered
payrolls, and rates will range from 0.2 percent
to 5.4 percent. The fund requirements for the
least favorable schedule to be imposed must be
less than 1.5 percent, with rates ranging from
1.2 percent to 5.7 percent,

Benefits.  To qualify for benefits, an individual
needs wages of 1-1/4 times the high-quarter
earnings in his or her base period, $1,500 in the
last two quarters, and $2,500 in total base-pe-
riod wages. The number of weeks for which an
individual can claim benefits is the lesser of 26
weeks or the equivalent in terms of weeks of 28
petcent of his or her base-period wages.

An individual's weekly benefit amount will
be computed as 5 percent of the first $1,000 in
high-quarter wages and 4 percent of the re-
maining high-quarter wages. The minimum
weekly benefit amount is increased from $40 to
$50. The maximum weekly benefit amount will
range from $116 1o $171, depending on the
number of the claimant’s dependents, up to
three. The maximum weekly benefit amount
effective July 5, 1992, will range from $140 to
$181, depending on the number of dependents,
up to two; and, effective July 4, 1993, the maxi-
mum weekly benefit amount will be $170
with no dependents or $192 with one or
more dependents.

Lowa

Benefirs. A temporary shared work program,
providing unemployment benefits for employ-
ees on shortened work schedules, was estab-
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lished, to last until February 28, 1995. The
program must be agreed to by the employer and
the union, subject to final approval by the lowa
Department of Employment Services.

Disqualification. The “able and available for
work” and “actively seeking work” require-
ments for payment of benefits may be waived if
the individual is partially unemployed while
employed at a regular job.

Administration. The State law was amended
to prohibit information obtained in the admin-
istration of the unemployment insurance pro-
gram from being used as evidence in any pro-
ceeding between a person and an employer that
is brought before an arbitrator, court, or judge
of the State or of the United States.

Kansas

Benefits. The temporary shared work program
established in 1989 was made permanent.

Disqualification. An individual will not be
eligible for benefits if disqualified for use of,
possession of, or impairment caused by a
nonprescribed controlled substance, if evidence
shows such abuse.

Penalties. Qutstanding benefits received be-
cause of an error will accrue interest at the rate
of 1.5 percent per month until repaid. If fraud is
involved, the interest will accrue from the date
of detetmination of fraud until repayment plus
interest is received. If receipt of the overpay-
ment was not fraudulent, interest will accrue
upon any balance which remains unpaid 2 years
after the overpayment determination was made,
and continues until payment plus accrued inter-
est is received by the appropriate administrator
of the State fund.

Maine

Coverage. Services performed by a student
attending a postsecondary school while partici-
pating in a cooperative program of educational
and occupational training or participating in
on-the-job training as part of the school cur-
riculum will be excluded from coverage.

Benefits. When a determination of the amount
of benefits for partial unemployment is made,
wages received by a person for participation in
volunteer emergency medical services will not
be considered. The expiration date of the tem-
porary extended benefit program for dislocated
workers who participate in retraining programs
was extended to February 1, 1994,

Disqualification.  An individual will not be
disqualified for volumarily leaving a job if his
or her reasons for leaving involved domestic
abuse and the individual made all reasonable
cfforts to preserve the employment, or to ac-
cept new full-time employment which did not
materialize for reasons attributable to the new
employing unit.

Maryland

Financing. [If the balance of the State vnem-
ployment fund on September 30, 1991, is less
than $325 million, each employer’s basic con-
tribution rate will be increased by 2.2 percent



through calendar year 1992, subject 1o the mini-
mum rate of 0.1 percent and the maximum of
7.6 percent.

Disqualification. The variable disqualifica-
tions for voluntary leaving, discharge for mis-
conduct, disciplinary suspension, and refusal
of suitable work were changed from 4 to 9
weeks to 5 to 10 weeks.

Massachusetis

Benefits. The provision that allowed a claim-
ant to serve the I-week waiting period before
benefits are paid in the last week of the previ-
ous benefit year was deleted,

Michigan

Penalries. The Michigan Employment Secu-
rity Commission has 3 years 1o collect improp-
erly paid benefits and 6 years to collect fraudu-
lently received benefits. Interest at the rate of 1
percent per month will be charged on fraudu-
lently obtained benefits, until payment plus in-
terest is recovered from the claimant. For cases
of fraudulent misrepresentation, the provision
requiring a claimant to pay restitution of ben-~
efits plus a penalty of 100 percent of restitu-
tion, not to exceed $1,000 in a benefit year
established within 2 years after cancellation of
eligibility, before receiving benefits has been
deleted. The penalty for fraudulent misrepre-
sentation to obtain or increase benefits or to
prevent the payment of or reduce benefits was
changed from a misdemeanor to repayment of
the amount fraudulently received, if less than
$1,000, and damages equal to 2 times that
amount. If the amount fraudulently received
totals $1,000 or more, the claimant is required
to repay that amount plus damages equal to 3
times that amount. In addition, the prosecuting
attorney may seek penalties of imprisonment (1
to 2 years), or community service (1 to 2 years),
or both, depending on the size of the fraudulent
amount.

Mississippi

Financing. An employer’s experience rating
account (excluding those of State governmen-
tal entities) will not be charged with benefits
paid to an individual whe was hired to replace
a U.8. serviceperson called into active military
duty and who was laid off upon that service-
person’s return. The State’s 10 contribution rate
tables were amended to provide for reductions
in employer experience rates of 0.1 to 1.0 per-
cent, depending on the size of the fund index
factor, the gauge of the solvency of the State
unemployment fund. The tables all range from
.1 to 5.4 percent.

Benefits. The maximum weekly benefit
amount was increased from $145 to $165. The
wages to be disregarded when computing ben-
efits for partial employment were increased from
$5 to $40.

Missouri

Disgualification. The pension offset provision
was amended to provide that, if a claimant has

made contributions under provisions of the So-
cial Security Act or the Railroad Retirement
Act, no part of the paymens received by the
claimant under the terms of those acts will be
deductible from unemployment benefits.

Montana

Coverage. The law was amended to exclude
from coverage services of sole proprietors or
working members of a partnership.

Financing. An employer’s experience rating
account will not be charged for benefits paid to
any individnal who is in approved training.

Benefits.  Toqualify for benefits, an individual
must have earned 1) total base-period wages
equal to 1-1/2 times those earned in his or her
high quarter and have total base-period wages
equal to or greater than 7 percent of the Sate
average annual wage, or 2) base-period wages
equal to or greater than 50 percent of the State
average annual wage. The weekly benefit
amount now may be computed as 1 percent of
the base-period wages or 1.9 percent of the
wages eaffied in the two highest quarters of the
base period. Qualifying wages earned in a suc-
ceeding benefit year must be in work covered
under the unemployment insurance system,

Disqualificarion.  An unemployed individual
will not be denied benefits for participating in
training approved under the Federal Job Train-
ing Partnership Act, nor will an individual who
left unsuitable work to participate in training.

Penalties. The interest assessed on fraudu-
lently received benefits may not exceed 100
percent of the fraudulently obtained amount.

Nevada

Financing. If an individual elects an alterna-
tive base period following a period of tempo-
rary total disability, benefits paid will be charged
to the base-period employer’s experience rat-
ing account. The temporary tax of 0.05 percent
assessed in 1990 on alf contributing employers
(except those paying 5.4 percent) to fund the
employment training program was made per-
manent. Also, Nevada made permanent the com-
pensating (i.5-percent reduction of an
employer’s regular contribution rate. An
employer”s account will not be charged for ben-
efits paid to an individual who left work to
accompany his or her military spouse who was
transferred to another location,

Benefits. To qualify for benfits, an individual
needs to have earned base-period wages of
1-1/2 times his or her high-quarter earnings or
wages in three of the four quarters of the base
period. An individual who received temporary
total disability compensation under a workers’
compensation law may ¢lect an alternative base
period of the the first four of the last five com-
pleted calendar quarters preceding the disabil-
ity, if the individual files a claim for unemploy-
ment insurance within 4 calendar weeks of the
end of the disability period and within 3 years
of the beginning of the disability period.

Disqualification.  An individoal who, during
the last or next-to-last work, performed ser-

vices for a private employer while incarcerated
in a custodial or penal institution, and who left
the employment because of wansfer or release
from the institution, will be ineligible for ben-
efits for the week of leaving and until he or she
earns remuneration equal to his or her weekly
benefit amount in each of 10 weeks.

New Hampshire

Benefits. The minimum weekly benefit
amount decreased from $35 to $34, and will
decrease to $32 on March 29, 1992. The maxi-
murm weekly benefit amount was increased from
$168 to $179, and will increase to $188 on
March 29, 1992.

New Jersey

Benefits. New Jersey enacted an emergency
unemployment benefits program which will pay
25 percent of the amount of a regular week’s
benefits until March 28, 1992, Te collect the
emergency benefits, workers must have ex-
hausted their regular unemployment benefits
and must not be eligible for Federal-State ex-
iended benefits.

New Mexico

Financing. An employer who employed a
claimant part-time in the worker’s base period
and continues to give substantially equivalent
part-time employment will not be charged for
benefits. Benefits paid to an individual 1aking
approved training will not be charged to a base-
period employer’s account.

Disqualification,  An individual who is other-
wise eligible for benefits will not be deemed
unavailable for work sclely because he or she
is serving on a jury.

New York

Disqualification. Anemployer’s account will
not be charged for benefits paid to an indi-
vidual after that individual has satisfied the
requalifying requirements for a misconduct dis-
qualification,

Benefits. Claimants in approved training may
receive additional benefits for up to 104 effec-
tive days.

North Carolina

Financing. The experience rating account of
a business that closed because the owner en-
tered the Armed Forces will not be terminated,
and, if the business is resumed within 2 years
of the individual’s returs from active duty, the
account will be deemed to have been continu-
ously chargeable with benefits. The business’s
experience record thus remains intact.

Bengfits.  An individual’s base period may be
extended if he or she has insufficient wages to
establish a claim because of a job-related injury
for which he or she received workers' compen-
sation. This provision will expire on June 30,
1993. Also, benefits paid on the basis of the
extended base period will be noncharged 1o any
base-period employer.
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Disqualification. An individual will not be
disqualified for leaving work to accompany his
or her spouse to a new place of residence, if the
new residence is too far removed for the indi-
vidual to commute to the former job.

North Dakota

Coverage. The law was amended to exempt a
corporate officer from coverage, at the cor-
poration's request, when one-fourth or more of
the ownership interest is owned or controlled
by the individual's spouse, child, or parent, or
by any combination of these persons.

Financing. The contribution rate for a new
employer was reduced from 3.25 percent to 2.8
percent, or the maximum rate of 5.4 percent if
benefits charged to the employer’s account equal
or exceed the contributions paid. The period needed
for an employer to qualify for experience rating
was increased from 2 years to 3 years.

Benefits.  To qualify for benefits, an individual
needs to have earned wages of 1-3/10 times the
high-quarter earnings in his or her base period.
The ratio of base-period wages to high-quarter
wages used for determining the duration of ben-
efits is 1.3 {(formerly 1.5} to 3.2 or more.

Administration. A new enactment prohibits
findings of fact or law, conclusions, or final
orders made by an unemployment hearing in-
surance officer or board of review to be used as
evidence in any proceeding brought before any
court, arbitrator, or judge of the State of North
Dakota or the United States.

Oklahoma

Financing. Benefits paid to an individual who
is hired to replace a serviceperson called to
active duty and who is laid off upon that
serviceperson’s return shall not be charged to
the employer’s account.

Oregon

Financing. For the first quarter of 1992, a
special tax schedule based on the ratio of fund
adequacy, the legislated measure of the health
of the fund, will apply. A fund adequacy ratio
of under 100 percent calls into effect basic
employer contribution rates ranging from 1.62
percent to 5.4 percent, and a fund adequacy
ratio of 200 percent and over will invoke rates
ranging from 0.32 percent to 5.4 percent. Also
for this quarter, each employer will pay an
additional tax of 0.58 percent, which will be
deposited in the Supplemental Employment
Division Administration Fund. For the period
April 1, 1992, to March 31, 1995, the range of
employer contribution rates for the most favor-
able schedule wiil be 0.0 percent to 5.4 percent;
that for the least favorable schedule will be
1.64 percent to 5.4 percent. Also for the same
period, employers will pay a special tax of .58
percent to the State Unemployment Compensa-
tion Benefit Reserve Fund.

Benefits. If a dislocated worker is attending
approved technical training aned exhausts the
regular benefits but is not eligible for Federal-
State extended benefits, he or she may receive

supplemental benefits of up to 50 percent of the
maximum benefit amount. If an individual is
attending an approved training program, his or
her benefit year may be extended by up to 52
weeks in order for the individual to complete
the program.

Disqualification. A dislocated worker will not
be denied benefits for attending approved pro-
fessional technical training, or for leaving work
that was part-time, temporary, or paying less
than 80 percent of the individual’s average
weekly wage during the base year to enter such
training.

Puerto Rico

Financing. A reserve ratio experience-rating
system was established, under which an
employer’s tax rate reflects his or her cumula-
tive experience with unemployment. Generally,
all unemployment benefits ever charged against
the employer are subtracted from all contribu-
tions (taxes) the employer paid into the unem-
ployment fund. The resulting balance, either
positive or negative, is then divided by the
employer's average payroll for the past 3 years.
The minimum and maximum contribution rates
that an employer may be charged will be 0.5
percent and 5.4 percent of the employer’s re-
serves in the unemployment fund. The rate for
new employers, whose experience rating can-
not be determined, will range from 2.7 to 3.4
percent, depending on the rate schedule in ef-
fect as dictated by the program fund levels.
Employers will be assessed a special tax of 1.0
percent, which will be used to generate new
employment opportunities for individuals who
have exhausted their benefits and to pay the
costs of administering the new tax.

Rhode Island

Benefits, An individual needs to have earned
wages equal to 80 times the State minimum
hourly wage to qualify for benefits in a succeed-
ing benefit year. A worksharing program was
established, under which individuals working
shortened schedules to avert layoffs may col-
lect up to 26 weeks of unemployment benefits.

Disqualification. Recovery of erroneously
paid benefits may be waived if the claimant
was without fault and the recovery would de-
feat the purposes of the employment security
account,

South Dakota

Financing. The contribution rate for new em-
ployers is 1.4 percent (6.5 percent for employ-
ers in construction services) for the first year
and 1.0 percent (3.5 percent for employers in
construction) if the employer maintains a posi-
tive account balance until experience rated.

Benefirs. The maximum weekly benefit
amount increased from $140 to $154.

Disqualification. The between-terms denial
provision, which prohibits the payment of ben-
efits to employees of schools for the periods
during which schools customarily are not in
session, was amended to delete the exclusion of
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educational employees of federally operated
schools.

Texas

Benefits. An alternative base period of the
first four of the last five completed calendar
quarters preceding a disability may apply if an
individual files an initial claim for jobless ben-
efits within 24 months of the date that an ill-
ness began or an injury occurred.

Disqualification. An individual will not be
disqualified from benefits for voluntarily leav-
ing part-time work to accept empioyment that
would increase his or her weekly wage, or if the
individual left work because of a medically
verified illness of the claimant or the claimant’s
minor child; injury; disability; or pregnancy
while siill available for work. Alse, in these
instances, benefits paid will not be charged to
the employer’s account

Administration. The law was amended to
specitfy that findings of fact, judgments, con-
clusions, or final orders made under the Texas
Unemployment Compensation Act will not be
binding in any other venue, and may not be
used as evidence in any other action or pro-
ceeding, regardless of whether the prior action
was between the same parties or involved the
same facts.

Penalties. The penalties for fraudulent mis-
representation to obtain or increase benefits
and to prevent payment of or reduce benefits
was changed to a Class A misdemeanor.

Utah

Benefits. To qualify for benefits, an individual
needs to have earned wages equal to 1-1/2
times the high-quarter earnings of his or her
base period, or to have 20 weeks of insured
work, earning 5 percent of the monetary base-
period wage requirement in each week. The
monetary base-period wage requirement is 8
petcent of the average fiscal year wages earned
in insured work during the base period, rounded
to the higher $100. When a claimant files for
jobless benefits after receiving workers’ com-
pensation, his or her unemployment benefit eli-
gibility will be considered to have remained
intact for any continuous period of up to 36
months during which the claimant received
workers’ compensation, provided the claimant
files the claim within 90 days after the termina-
tion of illness or injury.

Vermont

Benefits. When an individual’s weekly ben-
efit amount for partial benefits is computed, the
carnings disregarded will be the greater of 30
percent of the weekly benefit amount or $40.
Also, Yermont deleted the requirement that the
income disregarded not exceed 50 percent of
the claimant’s weekly benefit amount.

Virginia
Financing. An employer’s account will not
be charged for benefits paid to an individual



who left work with good cause for a personal
bona fide medical reason related to a nonjob-
related injury or medical condition,

Washington

Financing. An employer’s account will not
be charged for benefits paid 1o an individual if
the employer continues to employ the claimant
and requests relief from charges within 30 days
of being notified of the claim for benefits. If an
individual receives additional benefits, they will
not be charged to the employer’s experience
rating account.

Benefits. A temporary additional benefits pro-
gram was established for timber workers resid-
ing in certain counties in the State of Washing-
ton, to take effect when certain criteria are met,
No new claims for additional benefits will be
accepted for weeks beginning after July 3, 1993,
An individual’s additional benefits will be 52
times the weekly benefit amount, reduced by
the total amount of regular and Federal-State
extended benefits paid, or deemed paid, in the

benefit year. The law was amended to establish
programs that offer dislocated forest preducts
workers in areas affected economically by de-
velopments in the timber industry opportumni-
ties for forest-related employment that uses their
vnique skills. Also established was a temporary
“natural resources worker” project to provide
employment and training opportunities for dis-
located forest preducts workers in occupations
related to fisheries, wildlife management, rec-
reation, and other naturai resource projects.

Disqualification.  If an individual is receiving
benefits at the time of a backpay award, the
employer must withhold from the backpay the
amount of unemployment benefits paid to the
worker and remit that amount to the Washing-
ton Employment Security Department.

West Virginia

Administration. The name of the State agency
that administers the unemployment insurance
program is changed to the Bureaun of Employ-
ment Programs.

Wyoming

Coverage. Services performed for remunera-
tion shall be deemed covered employment, un-
less it is shown that the worker has been and
continues to be free from control, has discre-
tion in the performance of the work, and is
customarily engaged in an independent trade or
business.

Financing. An employer’s experience rating
an individual who is enrolled in an approved
training program,

Benefits. For computing partial benefits, the
amount of wages to be disregarded was changed
to the amount of wages in excess of 50 percent
of the weekly benefit amount.

Disqualification. An individual will be eli-
gible for benefits if attending an approved train-
ing program, lasting a maximum of 24 con-
secutive months, which is licensed by the
appropriate agency and which prepares the in-
dividual for job skills in occupations with good
employment opportunities. [

A nete on communications

The Monthly Labor Review welcomes communications that supplement,
challenge, or expand on research published in its pages. To be considered
for publication, communications should be factual and analytical, not
polemical in tone. Communications should be addressed to the Editor-in-
Chief, Monthly Labor Review, Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department
of Labor, Washington, Dc 20212.
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