Metropolitan Statistical Area Definitions

CES publishes employment data for most MSAs and most metropolitan divisions, and has retained the NECTA definitions for metropolitan areas in the New England states (Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont). In addition, CES publishes employment series for eleven non-standard areas, including the previous Baltimore, Philadelphia, and New York Cities. Employment estimates are not made for micropolitan and combined statistical areas because the CES sample cannot support estimates at those levels.

Within the Bureau of Labor Statistics, information on the publication plans of employment and unemployment programs that produce data for statistical areas is shown below.

More information

Links to other BLS data on Metropolitan Areas

BLS Publications of Metropolitan Area data:

Links to Census Bureau information about Metropolitan Areas

New definitions:

Comparison of geographic coverage between the 2010 and 2000 definitions:


Last Modified Date: March 12, 2018