Department of Labor Logo United States Department of Labor
Dot gov

The .gov means it's official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

January 1997

State workers’ compensation legislation enacted in 1996

Charles A. Berreth

Laws were amended in 37 States, with New York, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Tennessee enacting comprehensive changes. This article summarizes significant workers' compensation legislation enacted in 1996 by individual States. For example: Georgia repealed a requirement that bodily loss ratings be based on American Medical Association guidelines, while Pennsylvania increased its reliance on these measures; Maryland increased the threshold earnings test for coverage of domestic servants in a private home; and Wisconsin increased maximum weekly benefits for total disability and death to $509 for injuries occurring after January 1, 1997.

Download PDF »