A to Z Index  |  FAQs  |  About BLS  |  Contact Us    


April 2018

Lawrence R. Klein Award recipients announced for 2017

Each year since 1969, the Lawrence R. Klein Award has honored the best articles appearing in the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Monthly Labor Review. The award was established in honor of Lawrence R. Klein, who retired in 1968 after 22 years as editor-in-chief of the Review and established a fund to encourage articles that exhibit originality of ideas or methods on analysis, adhere to the principles of scientific inquiry, and are well written.

Among articles by BLS authors in 2017, the trustees chose "Estimating the U.S. labor share" by Michael D. Giandrea and Shawn A. Sprague.

Among articles by non-BLS authors, the trustees selected "Trends among native- and foreign-origin workers in U.S. computer industries" by Adrian Otoiu and Emilia Titan.

Members of the Lawrence R. Klein Award board of trustees are Deborah Klein (president), Ronald Kutscher (secretary-treasurer), William Barron, Robert Bednarzik, and Thomas Nardone.

View past award winners here.